well guys about 20 hours befoer the match starts ![]()
I hope Waqar do some sane thigns and bring in Afridi and Faisal plus Shoaib wll be back too :k:
Insha’allah they wil be able to square the series :k:
well guys about 20 hours befoer the match starts ![]()
I hope Waqar do some sane thigns and bring in Afridi and Faisal plus Shoaib wll be back too :k:
Insha’allah they wil be able to square the series :k:
**Pakistan should find conditions favorable **](http://www-pak.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/DEC/104975_CI_10DEC2002.html)
South Africa and Pakistan will meet twice, on Wednesday 11 December in Port Elizabeth and Friday 13 December in East London, in the Eastern Cape in games two and three of the five match Standard Bank one-day series.
Traditionally, the St George’s Park and Buffalo Park pitches have a slower and lower bounce, which will suit the visitors. Playing in conditions that are the closest to the pitches back home that they will find in South Africa, together with their experience in Zimbabwe will make them a more formidable adversary.
Add to this the probable return of Shoaib Akthar, and Pakistan have a pace attack that can blast out many a team. In Durban Wasim Akram was awesome, while Waqar Younis, Mohammad Sami and Abdur Razzaq did not bowl to their full potential. Saqlain Mushtaq also did not prove much of a threat and he cannot expect much from either pitch. A lot will depend on the form of the front-line bowlers.
The Pakistan opening batsmen, Taufeeq Umar and Saleem Elahi, will have to get their act together by keeping the scoreboard ticking over and reducing the pressure on the rest of the batsmen. Players like Yousuf Youhana and Inzamam-ul-Haq are at their best when they are allowed to attack from a platform.
South Africa will be aiming for a more solid performance in the top order. Herschelle Gibbs and Jacques Kallis failed in Durban, while Boeta Dippenaar is expected to come in for Neil McKenzie as South Africa continue to seek a solution to their number three problem. A good start from Graeme Smith and Gibbs, with the home team batting to number nine, could spell trouble for Pakistan.
The South African bowling has been firing on all six cylinders. Pollock, Ntini, Kallis and Donald have been brilliant to date, well assisted by the likes of Klusener and Hall, with Boje used mainly in a containing role.
The lights at both grounds are satisfactory but not brilliant. Neither team would like to bat second against the respective attacks, but dew at the grounds has also caused problems for the fielding side. Depending on the conditions on the day, either captain could decide to bat on winning the toss.
Pakistan will not want go two down in the five-match series, and are expected to come out hard, but will be hard pressed by a South African team growing in confidence and performance
main soch rahi haon chilla shilla kaat hi loan.. ![]()
WE have to win this match…and we will win Insahllah ![]()
Jum jeetaingayyyyyyyy
har maidan main har mushquil main hum hi jeetaingay baazi jo bhi ho ![]()
Pakistani Tiger’s Squad for 2nd ODI ![]()
Faisal Iqbal: Opener
Shahid Afridi: All-rounder.
Yousuf Youhana: Back up
Inzamam-ul-haq: Back up.
Younis Khan: Back up.
Abdur Razzaq: All - rounder.
Rashid Latif: Wicket-keeper.
Wasim Akram: Fast Bowler.
Saqlain Mushtaq: Spinner.
Waqar Younis: Fast Bowler.
Shoaib Akhtar: Fast Bowler.
PT bhai i woud rather include Afridi in place of Saqlain, i know its a toughie, but we can givea ntoher chance to Elahi though he might not be able to grab it
but this way we will have another batting option :k:
shudn’t be difficult for SA to knock-down PAK flat this time again :k:
however, if pakistan is seriously looking for a win then they must do a lot of homework … but with the news of wasim akram’s consideration as captain won’t help waqar younus. losing this series [ODI & TESTS] can turn the tide against waqar and in wasim’s favor.
anywayz …
Good luck to Pakistan :k:
God bless u all
DerVaisH
waisay pp007 , i ddnt know you are an enthusiastic cricket fan, iss forum pe dekha hee nahi naa kabhi…
and about the chilla thing, Insha’allah we will bounce back :k:
Saby,
I know Afridi’s habit, smashing every ball without thinking but he makes runs, at least. Last time, it was Afridi who stood against South Africa in the Morroco Cup.
Why would anyone chose some player over Saqlain? He’s the only spinner Pakistan got. Dropping him would be a terrible mistake.
Yaar, I don’t think this guy going to make. In the first match, Elahi looked like he’s batting for the first time. Pakistan needs change and I think Faisal and Afridi will make the difference.
I got your point PT but its a risk going with four specialist batsmen Faisal, yoyo, inzi and younis and 3 all rounders, Razi , Latif and Afridi plus Wasim.. thori see shallow lagti hai battlng line up, khair worth a gamble. Afridi isa gamble , when it pays off, pakistan wins 99 percent of matches. plus he has proved immensely as a bowler !
good to see you darvaish
waisay its a healthy change from your prev posts,
And YES God bless Pakistani team :k:
Saby,
Pakistan has to gamble for the rest of the series as PCB blew off Saeed Anwar and Azhar Mehmood.
Btw, Latif → All rounder ![]()
*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Saby,
Pakistan has to gamble for the rest of the series as PCB blew off Saeed Anwar and Azhar Mehmood.
yeah yaar Azhar is a very good player of pace bowling and could have been useful and ofcourse Anwar is surely missing:(
*Originally posted by saby: *
yeah yaar Azhar is a very good player of pace bowling and could have been useful
Ditto!
Last time when Pakistan was on the tour of South Africa, Azhar was the Man of the Series.
and ofcourse Anwar is surely missing:(
Yes, he is.
Both Taufeeq and Elahi should be given a fair run against the SA bowlers. Afridi has had plenty of chances before and he's normally out in the first couple of overs.
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Both Taufeeq and Elahi should be given a fair run against the SA bowlers. Afridi has had plenty of chances before and he's normally out in the first couple of overs.
instead of Taufiq, Faisal is a better option coz of his ability to take singles and hit boundaries with improvised shots
I agree, Faisal will be a good option but I think it's only fair that taufeeq gets a proper chance first. He was out to a really good delivery in the last match. Plus he's left handed so the new ball isn't as dangerous to them usually.
well lets drop Elahi then ![]()
It doesnt mean Faisal wont fail and its a must but his chances are more brighter thne taufiq and even Elahi. Plus Taufiq can be tried later when the series is in a comfortable zone ! insha’allah!
I think Shahid Afridi and Taufeeq Umar… or Shahid Afridi And Faisal Iqbal shud b our openers…and i think that razzaq is not in his full form… so replace him…
Let’s c what is the result for tomorrows match
Inshallah we will win!
Both elahi and Taufeeq did well against Zimbabwe. Ok, the opposition was not as tough, but now we can see what they are really made of. They should get at least one or maybe two more games. We know all there is to know about Afridi, so he can come in later if we're desperate.
Faisal can play in the rest of the series once we know for sure that Elahi and Taufeeq aren't up to it. Younis Khan's place also looks shaky. He needs to produce as well.
Taufiq is a must in test matches and so far in this series including two trial matches he has scored 0, 0, 7 . (must be james bond now
)
anyways, the point is pakistan cannot afford to lose tomorrows match. I m not saying that bring Afridi back as an opener though Afridi should play as a later oder player. Taufeeq or Elashi should make way for Faisal coz in both trial matches he looked to be decent enough and scored some 90 runs in both nmatches combined!