Pak v/s SA ---- 2nd ODI (Merged)

*Originally posted by saby: *

I m not saying that bring Afridi back as an opener though Afridi should play as a later oder player.

Saby,

Afridi plays better as a opener. At least, we will get a flying start. I'm sure Faisal Iqbal, with sensible batting style, will convey Afridi. Bringing Afridi at 5th or 6th wickets down, will hurt him.

I got nothing against Taufeeq and Elahi but yaar to be honest, I don't wanna see our batting line collasped again from the beginning and run rate at 2.34 per over.

well i agree here! Afridi bhi beshuk jaldi out hoga lekin jitni dair rahega , scoreboard tu chulta rahga naa unlike Taufeqq (7 runs from 24 balls) and Elahi (31 from 77 balls)
Afridi itni dair khail jaaye tu kamaal hee hota hai usually! :hehe:

thats why i think Inzi should open! I know its a funny idea but Inzi is the best pace bowling player in the past decade! H sometiems struggles for signles in middle of innings but when he opens he can hit boundaries initially! In past 2 seasons when he has been in bad form, Wasim amnd waqar has opened with him to get his confidence going and it wont be a bad option here too, But i doubt that will happen though i personally think its a good otion, this way we can acomodate Afridi at 3 or 4 and it should suit him.

The fact that 5 of the top 7 are disticntly average or below, does not bode well for us.

There is only one man who can change the shape of game for pakistan today and that is SHOAIB.If he is in rythem and is able to compliment Wasim then Pakistan can win else it will be tough.

Also Thanks to Ehsan bhai for showing match.
Allah Ehsan bhai ko Jannat Naseeb kare and make UMAIR his companion. ;)

There is no doubt that Afridi and Faisal need to be brought in for Saleem and Taufeeq. First of all, Both of them have performed terribly since they have arrived to South Africa, and the second more important thing, by bringing Afridi in, we will get a much needed 6th bowler! Afridi should open along with Faisal, because there is no one else who can open the innings. Although Afridi is not a big scorer, but he is a great fielder, a good bowler (now) and is experienced, plus he is only option we have right now. If Waqar still sticks with Saleem and Taufeeq for the second ODI, he will really mess things up…because I don’t think anyone want to see Pakistan go down in the series 2-0. If Pakistan lose this match…its pretty much over…so its too risky to go with Taufeeq and Saleem.

well yeah well said!
its all about summing thing up and making the logical decision but i wonder whats going in Waqars head:hehe: its almost a same scenario when Wasim Akram conintuosly tried to settle Zahoor Elahi (incidently Saleem Elahi’s elder brother) in C&U series in 1997

Waqar to lead Pakistan today as knee problem subsides](http://www.jang-group.com/thenews/dec2002-daily/11-12-2002/sports/s4.htm)

Pakistan captain Waqar Younis will be leading the team in the second One-day International against South Africa on Wednesday having recovered from a knee injury problem.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) sources said that Waqar and the team management had conveyed to the board that he was now fit and had got over his knee problem.

The response came after the Board was concerned about Waqar’s fitness in the first One-day International in which Pakistan was outclassed by the South Africans.

Sources said that the seasoned fast bowler had been struggling in recent weeks and played with his knee bandaged heavily and this restricted his movements and didn’t allow him to go flat out.

“However, it has now been conveyed that he has taken proper medication and treatment and is fine,” a source stated.

Pakistan is planning to make just one change in their eleven for the second match in Port Elizabeth, bringing in Faisal Iqbal in place of Taufeeq Umar while Shoaib Akhtar’s return has been delayed further as he is not fully fit. The speedster missed the first match due to a ban served on him by match-referee Clive lloyd in Zimbabwe.

However, surprisingly there is still no plan to play all-rounder Shahid Afridi although it was obvious in the first match that Pakistan badly missed a sixth bowler and also a opener at the top willing to play with heart against the South African bowlers.

Critics have pointed out that the tour selectors would make a big mistake in persisting with Saleem Elahi whose technique and shaky temperament were exposed in the first match on a bouncy track and against a quality attack despite his hard struggle to make 31 runs.

“The team management would be better advised to try Afridi who on his day can take any attack apart and is also a very good bowler capable of getting wickets,” a critic said.

“Instead of allowing Waqar and the tour selectors to play with the prestige of the nation by giving preference to personal likes and dislikes over team interests, the PCB should pull them up before it is too late,” a former Test player insisted.

Pak squad for today’s match: Waqar Younis (captain), Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice captain), Yousuf Youhana, Saleem Elahi, Younis Khan, Wasim Akram, Abdur Razzaq, Rashid Latif, Faisal Iqbal, Saqlain Mushtaq, Muhammad Sami and Shahid Afridi (12th man).

Pybus confident team will bounce back today](http://www.jang-group.com/thenews/dec2002-daily/11-12-2002/sports/s5.htm)

Pakistan cricket coach Richard Pybus is confident his team can take a big step up to match the South Africans when the second Standard Bank limited-overs international is played at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth today.

“We’re disappointed with the way we played in Durban,” Pybus an Englishman by birth but settled in South Africa told ‘The Herald’ in Port Elizabeth.

“We didn’t do our ourselves justice at Durban. We’re a far better team than that and we need to do justice to the talent we have,” he said.

Pybus said the team had arrived in Port Elizabeth in a spirited mood despite the comprehensive 140-run defeat in Durban on Sunday in the first of five limited overs matches against Shaun Pollock’s men. "Our bowling discipline was poor – we didn’t bat particularly well, and we’ve just got to do the basics well.

"We didn’t do that on Sunday – there was no momentum in the batting and no partnerships, so we couldn’t get the run-rate up. “But full credit to the South Africans. I don’t want to take anything away from them because they played really well.”

The tour is shaping up as ideal preparation for next year’s World Cup in South Africa and Pybus, a former Border coach, said that while that was the case, their objective was to win this series against South Africa.

Thanks to the vast experience in the squad, Pybus said there wouldn’t be any problem with their confidence. "Many of the players have played international cricket for many years – there’s a tremendous amount of experience in the squad and know we can play better.

“It’s just a matter of implementing that.” While the core of the squad will be back for the World Cup, there are some places in the Pakistan squad up for grabs and

besides the desire to beat South Africa, the incentive of playing in next year’s extravaganza should have the tourists fired up to reverse the Durban debacle. "Our objective is to win this series but we also want to identify those last few places in the squad.

“It’s a settled squad, but there are couple of spots open for the World Cup,” Pybus said. One plus point for Pakistan is that electrifying paceman Shoaib Akhtar will be available for selection after serving a one-match suspension for an incident in the Zimbabwe series.

Pakistan Hope For Shoaib Spark

[thumb=A]_38573623_shoaib300.JPG[/thumb]

The Rawalpindi Xpress

Shoaib Akhtar will be hoping to inspire Pakistan to better things when he returns to action at St George’s Park on Wednesday.

Shoaib missed the first encounter between the two teams in Durban, which ended in a comprehensive win for the hosts despite Pakistan fielding a strong-looking side.

The fiery paceman has now served a one-match ban following an incident with the crowd on the tour of Zimbabwe, with Mohammad Sami likely to drop out.

Sami conceded 77 runs from his 10 overs on Sunday with skipper Waqar Younis and all-rounder Abdur Razzaq also taking some heavy punishment from the South Africans.

Veteran Wasim Akram stood a class apart from his colleagues, giving away only 19 runs from his 10 overs but with no part-timers to share the bowling, Waqar was restricted in his options.

Pakistan recently got their team back on track in Zimbabwe after a humbling time at the hands of Australia and with key players back to fitness would have been hoping for better.

However, their batsmen struggled against the powerful South African bowling attack, with only Saleem Elahi passing 30.

Coach Richard Pybus will be hoping that the performance was a blip by his mercurial side with the matches against South Africa vital to their World Cup preparations.

For their part South Africa have enjoyed a dominant summer at home against both Bangladesh and Sri Lanka and are looking to maintain that form with the World Cup only two months away.

Their team is likely to remain unchanged meaning Boeta Dippenaar and pace prospect Monde Zondeki are set to miss out again.

Bring back Afridi with some aggressive opener as Imran Nazir as these two(Taufeeq n Elahi) just waste balls and don't do $hit.
Is anyone broadcasting this one??

Yaar aik to yeh Waqar bhi naa…They did 50% of their job right by bringing in Faisal Iqbal for Taufeeq Umer, but Saleem Elahi is still there :smack: :frusty: Everyone knows Pakistan badly need a 6th bowler, especially when Shoaib Akhtar is missing, Abdul Razzaq is not in form, and in the first ODI, the only good bowler was Wasim Akram…and they are still going with 5 bowlers.

how do u know elahi is still there??? what time (EST) is the match gonna start?

Let's hope Pakistan wins... the pitch favors pakistan bowlers... so lets hope for the best :)

Is anybody showing the game? Ehsan bahi? Anees bahi?

*Originally posted by Spitfire: *

I think its 7:30 AM

*Originally posted by Spitfire: *

Go to the first page and read Saby's post....it includes the link to the article

sabby yes i m one of the biggest fan of cricket.. bas i was lil busy.. didnt take interest when paki plays with ZM cuz i think they are kids..

i like it when they play with england ausiis india or sA\

so anyone is gonna broadcast the match??

there is some problem between Waqar and Afridi ,you people remember it start in the IIIrd test between pak and Aus ..

and one more thing these type of statement about captain change will increase the tension between the players i-e Waqar group and Wasim group..

What time does that match start.

I just looked at cricinfo and it says the match starts at 12:30 GMT, meaning 6:30 central USA time, and I thought the match started at 2:00 AM Central USA time, I am 4 hours up early.

:k: :rotfl:
hota hai hota hai, actually its a day/night match!

I am still up cuz of match.. :grumpy:

so where are you guys gonna watch?