Pak V England - First test Match

Re: Pak V England - First test Match

Farhat hits his 4th four.

Farhat gone off Hoggard, for 18.

i knew this wud happen before lunch.

I really hope Faisal can deliver in this innings. With Younis coming in for the next game. it will be interesting to see who they are going to drop, butt or farhat? However if faisal fails there is a chance that they would drop faisal:(

At lunch Pakistan are 43-2 in 16 overs
** 64 more overs to go**

I wonder who the hell they are going to play as openers in the next match considering the fact Malik is injured. I am sure there will be change in the opening partnershipn in the next match - possibly Iqbal to open if he does well in the second innings and Younis at no 3?

Faisal Iqbal should never come anywhere close to between positions #1 and #3. He is best suited for middle-order revival, and there is absolutely no point in unnecessarily performing the tests on this youngster knowing the fact that there are already at least two more established batters in the side who are fully capable to face the new ball on their own. In situations like these where we lost Butt out early, sending in Faisal was an extremely risky decision. I hope to God he never opens in the second test.

Dho Bhai - I totally agree with you regarding Faisal. Given the fact the numerous batting order changes especially in the ODI's I was just wondering whether the management may consider sending Faisal as opener which I also feel would do not do him any good or the team especially if he fails.

As there are no specialist opers available at the moment, will they rush Tafeeq Umar straight into the team? What possible options are there? Akmal maybe but this can affect his keeping.

I personally would rather persist with Salman for this entire series. Given enough confidence, I am sure he will come around in time. One needs to stay behind him and support him in this period of time. It is not easy, these seaming English wickets.

Farhat, on the other hand; yes, replace him. Either bring in Taufeeq or Asim Kamal. At least any one of those options are able to hold the catches on their own merit. Imran Farhat is outright terrible in the slip cordon. Speaking of which, I wonder why Salman is hardly ever positioned in that place. He is always located somewhere out near the boundary, particularly in deep square leg and the covers region. Wouldn't it be beneficial for him to also get a feel for the pitch by observing it from behind, similar to Imran?

WHAT A SHOT from Yousuf. Salaam bhaio aur behno!

Walikum Assalam Bhai Jee. :hug:

Even if Faisal gets dismissed now, I still think he has done enough to keep his place in the side. He is fighting it out. First innings, he got a good ball, no problem, look forward to the next innings. But with Farhat and Butt, they have been getting dismissed time and again in the same manner for the past year, showing no improvement whatsoever.

Too bad we only have Taufeeq as a replacement opener, even Malik can be relied upon more than the current pair. At least he can catch and bowl. I say one of Farhat/Butt should be dropped (doesn't really matter who), replaced with Taufeeq. It will be quite a dilemma for think tank to fit in Younis, especially if Faisal performs this innings.

Our top order has been in a sorry state for quite a while. Lately, rather than try to solve this problem, Woolmer and co. have ACCEPTED it. It is assumed that the Younis, Moyo and Inzi gang will come to the rescue. One of the commentators mentioned that it looked like a pattern for the rest of the series. Sorry but that's not good enough. There are plenty of people who are paid good money to solve problems exactly like this.

:hugz:jeetay rahain bhai ji

:salam: Gupshup.

Salman and Imran :smilestar: :barbie:

Bring back Yasir Hameed.

Walikum Assalam Bhaijaan. :slight_smile:

Absolutely superb over from Harmison, full of venom and fire, pace and bounce

26.6 Harmison to Mohammad Yousuf, no run, *another vicious ball dug into his ribs, possibly hits his gloves – if not his chest – and it flies short of gully

26.5 Harmison to Mohammad Yousuf, *no run, oh this is really fine bowling, high-class fast bowling from Harmison as Yousuf edges this just short of third slip *

26.4 Harmison to Mohammad Yousuf, FOUR,** ooh, poor stroke from Yousuf who flays his hands at this wider ball without moving his feet, and it races down wide of third man. He’s been shaken up here and hangs his head in shame**

26.3 Harmison to Mohammad Yousuf, no run, shorter outside the off stump, no movement off the pitch this time and it’s defended off the back foot

26.2 Harmison to Mohammad Yousuf, no run, *Harmison’s first crackerjack of the afternoon as this one angles into the right-hander before it jags away to miss the outside edge. Fabulous ball *

26.1 Harmison to Mohammad Yousuf, no run, too wide and left alone with ease. Must make the batsman play here

Harmison is trying hard. MoYo needs our prayers :D

Wassalam janab. I again agree with your thoughts! He surely deserves it

It will be a tough decision for the hierachy of the Pakistan team. I wonder what criteria they wil use to drop either of the openers. Based on the runs scored in this match - I can't see Farhat being replaced however if its fielding than maybe he will be replaced. If Farhat holds to his position than he may get a one or two decent scores but I can't also see him performing consistently.

:mad: Now only if Shoaib was available… :mad:

we can try Faisal as opener in the next test, failing that Taufeeq Umar, even though will he be any better than the two openers we currently got. How about Hafeez?
* Runs out of the thread having mentioned Hafeez*