Pak V England - First test Match

Re: Pak V England - First test Match

^ Fikr not we will win this match. :)

Provided, Provided? :p

For all those tension packets, who have passed the verdict that Pakistan will lose the match, kindly relax. We had a bad day and thats it. It's not like we have lost the match or the series, so what is the big deal?

i am finding watching cricket a bit depressing after seeing so much of football.

Ask ghareeb ghurba like us, who are living on Cricinfo :bummer:

We can still win this match; I am just surprised that Pakistan would be so lackluster in the field. So much emphasis done on fielding in last 6 months and it seems that we have not done our homework. We can blame Inzamam’s captaincy for keeping Farhat in the slips but it is his responsibility to make those grabs. Also, to pass a verdict on Jonty Rhodes seems premature, this is first day of the Test match, may be our players were nervous in the field, it happens, hopefully they’ll improve as the series goes deeper.

Buckno ris the worst umpire in the panel these days. He simply sucks.

Couldn't agree more. I'm not saying it based on where we stand today in this match but looking at Bucknor's inexplicable decisions of late. I hope he leaves the stage soon so that the respect that he gained over the last decade is not affected.

^ Agreed. He is past his prime long ago.

I thought our bowlers apart from Sami did well. Gul, after a horrid first three overs bowled really well and could ahve had more wickets to his name. He had three catches dropped off him. Razzaq bowled really well and surprisingly jsut wehen he was lookign dangerous alongwith Afridi, he was replaced in teh attack with none other than Sami. Kaneria can only blame himself for not picking up a wicket.

Sami, bechara doesnt deserve a place in the team and playing not because of his own performances but injuries to other players.

Disasterous day. 5 chances, sitters too for the most part. One is at a loss to explian this. This is a very weak bowling line up, and Eng look certain to post c. 500+. That will take a Pakistani victory out of the equation, meaning a battle to survive over 3 days.

Very tough.

The best we can hope for is that Eng are kept to 450 of lower, and that the batsmen make a score within 100 of that. Thus atleast meaning Eng have to play well twice to set up a win.

I am an eteranl optimist, but even I have to bow my head at this current situation. We need Akhtar desperately, we see now how much of an overlord he truly is.

Saby jee, look at Sami's figures, compare it with others and also take into account that two catches that were dropped off his bowling and tell me how was he worse than other bowlers.

Lets hope that our fielders will be more alert tomorrow and bowlers will put up a better show. Pakistan first target will be to dismiss them around 450 or before that. And then the real test will be batting. The real threat will be follow on. Hopefully our batsmen will avoid that. The opening partnership will hold the key.

Only one catch was dropped off his bowling, not two. Two catches were dropped off Gul and two off Kaneria. So he is still worse than other bowlers. And by the way Umar Gul at least beat the bat on quite a few occassions while I didnt see any such heroics by Sami (and I watched two of his most devestating spells). And he is supposed to be pace-spearhead in this match.

I still hope he causes or brings an English collapse tomorrow.

I don't think our bowling was bad today. It is just the catching that has put us in this precarious situation. Had we accounted for 3 wickets at the score of 60, with Cook being out for a duck, things would most certainly have turned out way better than what they actually are, with same batsman scoring an unbeaten century, albeit some further chances.

Two were dropped off his bowling. Point is he didnt bowl any worse than any other bowler.

^ He didnt trouble anyone either apart from that one ball. We saw a brilliant spell by Gul in which he troubled both batsmen. My point is, he was supposed to spearhead the attack and was the least impressive of them all. Lets hope for an improvment tomorrow.

Thats it, I'm rooting for England now, Pakistan does nothing but disapoints.

jhootay kaheen kay, kal England 4-catches drop kare ga to firrrr kahan jao gai mian :-|

No bhai saab, England koi catches drop nahi karay gai 600 markay, aur Pakistan ko follow on kara dai gai.

In not so long ago series, even the best of England i.e. Flintoff dropped catch(es) :)