Re: Pak V Aus - 2nd Test
someone quickly tell me why pak didnt ask aussies to follow on?
Correct decision. Two days left. Need to tire the opposition out. Grind them to the ground. I thought today was day 4. No brainer to not issue follow on. Openers should have stayed longer.
Siddle bowled well.
Tomorrow…Pakistan should declare **before Tea **and let the Australians give a chance to bat their 2nd innings for some 4+ sessions…
Well Rameez Raja thinks they should have opted for follow on
Hota hai.
If Wasim was here, he would have disagreed.
mana](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=mana) nay container walay mana](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=mana) ki yaad taza kar di with that in-cutter @Princejall @waleedhbk
I think Lyons was getting dome turn. So best to bowl last. Plus bowlers get some breather. And come back fresh. While batsmen have to come back after a long grind.
I think he should have enforced f/o. Bowlers were relatively fresh.Not that ita gonna change the outcome of the game though.
Pakistan only bowled 67 overs. An aggressive captain would have backed his bowlers and enforced a follow on to finish the game early. Misbah is most likely afraid of Day 5 pitch (kahi har na jaaiN)... I know this guy too well.
With 3 spinner including the Professor, wickets could crumble the last day.
Good job by bowling unit. I was sleeping in front of TV. Jub bhi aankh khulti thei, eik doo extra wickets giri hoir hotee theen. I finally called it quit when Aussies were 8 down ![]()
I guess Pakistan did right by not enforcing follow on. They do not want to bat last on this pitch and also give some rest to bowlers. If everything goes well, Inshallah they can stretch the lead well pass 500 and declare sometime b/w lunch and tea. We have to make sure we don’t blow it up now so I’d say post 550 on the board. Remember Pakistan chased down 350+ in 2 session on final day. If we give Aus too much time to play, you never know.
I’d stay conservative and post 500+ target if we can.
While I was very surprised like many why Misbah didnt enforce follow-on, the coach Grant Flower mentioned it was due to avoid bowlers getting tired:
Pakistan take the conservative route, againUmar Farooq in Abu Dhabi
November 1, 2014
[RIGHT]\
http://www.espncricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/196800/196853.jpg
[/RIGHT]
Pakistan batting coach Grant Flower: ‘I think they just wanted our bowlers to come back and get a breather’ © Getty Images
Pakistan, since being 7 for 2 in the first Test in Dubai, have exuded complete control over Australia in this series. This is arguably the strongest domination shown by Pakistan in the last 26 years. They even got themselves comfortably into a position to enforce the follow-on, with a lead of 309, but chose not to.
With two days left to play, the move is unlikely to offer Australia a chance to regain control or even save the game, but enforcing the follow-on could have allowed Pakistan to crush them in a more authoritative manner.
This was the first time under Misbah-ul-Haq that Pakistan had the option of enforcing the follow-on, but the captain is likely to have taken the fitness levels of his bowlers into consideration when deciding against it. Despite only bowling 62 overs on the day, they were seen to be exhausted. Imran Khan bowled 11 overs on the day, Rahat Ali 9, Yasir Shah 14, and Zulfiqar Babar 24.4 overs in approximately in two sessions, as Australia were bowled out for 261. That, along with Pakistan’s insecurity over batting second and chasing a target, probably prompted Misbah’s conservativeness.
None of the Pakistan players showed up for the post-day press conference either, as the media was informed that players were, yes, ‘tired’. It was batting coach Grant Flower who showed up, and he said Pakistan preferred to hand Australia an unattainable target and to give their bowlers a rest.
“I wasn’t part of the actual decision, but I think they just wanted our bowlers to come back and get a breather,” Flower said, while also hinted that he will be surprised if Pakistan kept batting after lunch on day four.
When asked if the decision reflected a conservative mindset, he said: “I don’t think so, as a lot of cricket still is to be played. We are actually trying to get it to the stage where there is only on winner, especially when you are already one up in the series. So this is the only thinking, we have to get them out of the game and set them something they can’t chase.”
Flower is a happy man with Pakistan’s often brittle batting line-up standing up and performing consistently in this series. It had not been the case against Sri Lanka, in their previous series, as two solid first-innings scores were followed up with unsubstantial second-innings totals.
“In Sri Lanka, we weren’t reading [Rangana] Herath and didn’t know which ones were spinning and which were not, probably a bit like Zulfiqar [Babar] with Australians,” Flower said. “If you aren’t sure which way the ball is going, it makes it really tough. But the guys have learnt form that and become better for it.”
Umar Farooq is ESPNcricinfo’s Pakistan correspondent. @kalson](http://www.twitter.com/kalson)
http://i.imgci.com/espncricinfo/storyRSS.gif Feeds: Umar Farooq© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
The lead is 370 and I’d say just make it 500 by lunch or immediately after that. It’ll provide a lot of room for both teams to be aggressive and that makes the match interesting. By tea it’d be too late I think.
Rahat Ali showed good bowling skills to complement his singing.
Imran Khan is being compared to Umar Gul. I have never seen Gul bending the ball as much as Khan did today when he bamboozled Clarke's defences and knocked the middle. Very promising prospect.
The one to get rid of Clarke was a ripper. Great inswinger.
Imran Khan is being compared to Umar Gul. I have never seen Gul bending the ball as much as Khan did today when he bamboozled Clarke's defences and knocked the middle. Very promising prospect.
I think its too early to come any conclusion about Imran. Its still a long way to go and we should wait. I hope selectors give him chance against NZ to let him prove himself.
From cricinfo
Talal Dar: "I wonder why do Pakistani fans want their team to declare around 450 and give Australia almost two days to bat, in order to win 2-0. Why do they think it will be a draw if Younis scores a century and Pakistan get a lead of 550-600 runs and give Australia 4 sessions to bat? Australia were bowled in 103 overs, 91 overs and 68 overs in three innings in this series. Why wouldn't they be bowled out within 120 overs in the fourth innings now? And anyway, securing the series win, which is coming after 20 years, is more important."
So far Pakistanis are batting at a good pace. I hope it gets better from here.
97/2 (31 overs)