Pak team accorded warm welcome on home coming

Re: Pak team accorded warm welcome on home coming

kuch acha bolo yaar… :smack:

^ Wow !

I guess both India & Pakistan are paying a huge price for privatization of the media.

With the proliferation of TV channels in both countries and the resultant race for TRP ratings - every journalist/reporter is just out to get a masala sound byte.

I am convinced that the media is transforming the sense of reality among people in both countries.

For example - if you were to watch the Indian channels or read the newspapers in India - it would seem as though the biggest question that India needs to resolve today is who should replace Nehra in the final or will Poonam Pandey stand by her promise to bare all. And this is a country with more people stricken by poverty than all of Africa.

Afridi fights back against Aamir Sohail

An interesting aside -

I just read that the Pak team flew from Mohali/Chandigarh to Mumbai and then to Dubai onwards to Karachi.

Why did they not just take a couple of hours cab drive from Mohali to Lahore ? I mean Mohali is so close to the Wagah.

btw, are there no direct flights between India and Pakistan these days ?

No, haven't been for quite a while.

Awwwww.....I love the videos of Afridi talking to the media...so adorable..he is such a cool guy!

Just saw the video. Extremely impressed with the maturity shown by Afridi :k:

70% of it is what you said above...rest of the 30% is a general feeling among public that the team did well than expectations...plus which heroic welcome are you talking about some1? there was no heroic welcome so to speak…..dont listen to the freakin media...there was no special crowd of million people who was there...but in general people at airport were positive, which is a positive sign…

salman butt was another issue....that is a "living in a denial" case...but again there was no warm welcome for him either...passengers did make a V sign to him when they saw him at the aiport...

wow. what a straight talk. “Amir sohail ghatiya aadmi hai tou ghatiya baat hi karega”

i am impressed with the simplicity of this player. Doesnt look like a house of a star player of a nation. he seems so down to earth off the field.

Indeed he is

Unfortunately, while Afridi has been admirably conciliatory on India, the same cant be said for everyone. Heres the jackass Gautam Gambhir for example:

http://www.hindustantimes.com/specials/cricket/world-cup-2011/Victory-over-Pak-win-today-for-26-11-victims-Gambhir/interviewscricket/SP-Article10-680352.aspx

The article’s headline says win over Pakistan & final dedicated to 26/11 victims. Now he doesnt seem to have a direct quote mentioning Pakistan wrt 26/11 so I dont know that has been sexed up, or if thats in the full interview (i didnt click). Either way its unfortunate to associate the cricket match with that (the final is justifiable, since its in Mumbai).

^ what's wrong with Gambhir saying 'never lose to Pakistan' and dedicating a match to victims of 26/11?

Thats there is nothing problematic for Indians in Gambhir's statements just illustrates what Afridi was talking about.

Very well put :)

his father is a very religious guy and you can google for that video, they asked his father why Afridi gets out...he plainly said, "us ko kaha tha kay hawa main shot naheen lagaya karo"....or something similiar...

They married him to a woman from a very traditional family as well. He is a simple guy for sure!

your hypocrisy doesn't amaze me. On one side you want bilateral series reinstated, and on the other side such hateful comments seem fine to you. Relating the sports to a war sentiment is lousy beyond comparison for a player.

And if you think its right then I guess that is what Pakistan captain was lacking, he should have hated his opponents along with his team so they would die rather than loose to India....the latter thought would be wrong as well.

Afridi said ke india k Drame aur films dekhte hain to kya masla hai india se… ..

Normal service resumes http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150231450863438&oid=126797247366177

Afridi and Gambhir back to petty crap.

What a lousy and unprovoked statement to make by the captain of the Pakistani cricket team.

Gautam Gambhir statement after the win:

http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/Print/680346.aspx

Gambhir knows that his Country and army want to see wins against Pakistan.