pak pop stars and stolen tunes

i don’t know about the others, but i was watching ptv the other day and i could not believe my ears. It disgusted me more than anything. Some unknown pop singer had copied ‘staying alive’.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

As I said earlier, sometimes similarities in songs can be found just because of the fact that the musician has probably listened to some piece of music and that somehow is retained in his/her memory. Such things are unintentional.

I mean the blatant copying is self obvious as in the case of Sajjad ali's songs.

I dont remember the Air Wolf theme but given the facts that at that time VS were very young and very inexperienced and it was there firstever song, I dont think it matter that it sounds somewhat like Air Wolf theme. I mean everyone has had to listen to it very closely to figure out what Fraudia has pointed out.

scratch airwolf was on Tv when these jokers were composing "their" music. And that was just an example. other examples of Feels like heaven by fiction factory and red red wine by UB40 are even more obvious.

Being inspired is something entirely different, i see Oasis as being inspired by the beatles or Cause and effect and Red Flag inspired by Depeche Mode, but charba is a whole diff topic. especiallyw hen you dont give credit to where you got the music from.

I listened to both songs but I couldnt find any similarity

Originally posted by Fraudz:
scratch airwolf was on Tv when these jokers were composing "their" music. And that was just an example.

Haha Vital Signs...Jokers. Well I dont mind that.
But dont be so harsh now Fraudia. They have made some good music. Their last album had "Mein chup raha" which is my personal favorite (that is if that is not also copied from some Pink Floyd tune, just kidding : )

Haan ji fraudia ji!
I am back.. First of all the second link you provided isn't working. As I was a airwolf fan so I have an idea where you see the similarity. Come on now Fraudia! Be reasonable here. Both of the tunes are totally different and are played different ( if you have ever played the piano or any other insruments). Same is the case with that "naraaz Tum" song, listen to it!

The only similarity the song has with is begining and thats it! I am not saying that Rohail made this tune before the other group nor that Rohail when composing that song might have not referred to the other song. All I am saying is listen to the songs carefully they are completely different.

I think Fraudia it has become a matter of integrity for you now. As plenty of people have come here saying that you are wrong! There was another thread talking about the release of JJ's new album, you go in there and you change the topic by saying hmmm! I wonder what songs Junaid has stolen this time!

Jitnay bhi American aap ho jaye! I see the Pakistani in you! Complain complain Complain! Never appreciate one's efforts to the fact that Vital Signs was the band to revive Pop in Pakistan! They were the pioneers in the new concept of Music videos in Pakistan! Please kindly ab fazool kay arguments choro and stop bitching!

If you dont like there music! Fine dont listen to it! No reason to present stupid arguments and facts which aren't true!

[This message has been edited by AliBeta (edited January 09, 2002).]

Originally posted by AliBeta:
**Haan ji fraudia ji!
I am back.. First of all the second link you provided isn’t working. As I was a airwolf fan so I have an idea where you see the similarity. Come on now Fraudia! Be reasonable here. Both of the tunes are totally different and are played different ( if you have ever played the piano or any other insruments). Same is the case with that “naraaz Tum” song, listen to it! **

o bhai its the same tune in the beginning. playing with a diff instrument or in a diff key dunn mean its not the same melody. I have listened to the songs many times and the copy is there

**The only similarity the song has with is begining and thats it! I am not saying that Rohail made this tune before the other group nor that Rohail when composing that song might have not referred to the other song. All I am saying is listen to the songs carefully they are completely different. **

yes, they are different, but they still stole some music. so the song is not 100% stolen like sajjad ali’s but part of the music is charba and that is a fact.

**I think Fraudia it has become a matter of integrity for you now. As plenty of people have come here saying that you are wrong! There was another thread talking about the release of JJ’s new album, you go in there and you change the topic by saying hmmm! I wonder what songs Junaid has stolen this time! **

babay you can be defender of Junade and be hos fan#1. this thread was just made to list all songs which have copies. add songs by tehseen javaid, sajjad ali, whoever, I noted VS for an example.

There are plenty of ppl here who have said I was right, is it a matter of integrity for them too?

**Jitnay bhi American aap ho jaye! I see the Pakistani in you! Complain complain Complain! Never appreciate one’s efforts to the fact that Vital Signs was the band to revive Pop in Pakistan! **

I appreciate their music, but saying that they, or others have copied music or stolen music is stating a fact period. yes they revived pop in Pak and followed in foptsteps of Nazia and Zohaib etc etc. Baita as far as being Pakistani or American or whatever, lets not make this a personal thing here now..can we? or is that part of being Pakistani

**They were the pioneers in the new concept of Music videos in Pakistan! Please kindly ab fazool kay arguments choro and stop bitching! **

sure they were pioneers, there are tons of great things about the guys. good guys, nice music, except at some times they have taken it from other sources. as far as the rest of your argument again I would request to not get personal here, tvadi mujh naheen churrai mein nay..so lets keep the discussion a little civil, shall we?

**If you dont like there music! Fine dont listen to it! No reason to present stupid arguments and facts which aren’t true! **

i do like their music, but I am not going to state something obvious just cuz I like their music.

oh btw, I thought facts were always true, otherwise they would not be facts. relax, chill out read this with an open mind and then think about it.

P.S. did you get all your classes ya abhi tak registration office or professor kay office ka tawaaf kar rahayho?

** Originally posted by Fraudz:

Hey Fraudz, what about your nick? Isnt it stolen from a Pakistani song by Awaz?

oh sure al farooq, isnt your name stolen from a khalifah

My nickname is definitely based on the song by awaz.

I have no issues with sampling, go ahead do the samples, half the kaloos would not be around if they did not start sampling africa bambata and kraftwerk, but give them the credit for it.

Oh yaar! sorry if you felt my post a little uncivil. Waisay I get touchy when it comes to VS, lekin I dont think I used any bad language or anything. Khare I apologize if I offended you in anyway!

As for your reply! Baat sunno! I agree with you that the post was intended for all Pakistani artists and you gave an example by mentioning VS's name! But you did also mentioned Junaid's name in the other post too with presenting the same argument saying you wonder what Tunes has junaid's stolen this time! So that tells you have somethign against Junaid or you are just trying to tease me!

Found an interesting article … thought I should share! :slight_smile:

Plagiarism or bridging the divide?