ahh..in zalim logon ki waja se hi apke ser-e-mubarak se saray baal shaheed ho gaye…na-samjh loag..samjhtay hi nahin…baar baar samjha samjha ke hi to yeh haal ho gaya apka…lao saraian noon tooni…
muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…
I am just compiling a list. There is a difference between a remake like the song Faith as someone mentioned where the original artist gets royalty, and in other cases if samples are taken the credit for those have to be given to the original artist too.
anyways, no one knows where the initial melody of " na tu aaye gi" was lifted from.
Err and no doubt that Indians do it much more than pakistanis, although tehy have more songs out in general so more charba, but if I started a thread on that we would be up to hundreds of replies by now.
great post .. i never consider Vital Signs or other pop groups as being anything closer to Pakistani music leave aside eastern music .. there is a distinct difference between eatern and western music and trying to mingle em is just like leaving a very vital thing from our culture .. peiple who think its modernization are befooled since modernization should be in fields of sciences or technology.. leaving ones cultural roots is not modernization but shamefulness.. I listen to old Indian songs..at least they are eastern in surs and taals ..
That was such a stupid point Degas and actually didnt even have to do anything with the topic. I dont know if you read the topic or not but what is being discussed here is how Pakistan POP artists steal other tunes not that We are forgetting our cultural heritage by getting inspired by Western Music.
Please stop living in the past. There is nothing wrong with mixing Eastern and western music. It is Human nature to want change. And as for your post if you believe that we should stick to Eastern Values, first we need to cut down on Speaking English, stop wearing pants and also living in the USA and go back to Pakistan!
Originally posted by AliBeta:
**That was such a stupid point Degas and actually didnt even have to do anything with the topic. I dont know if you read the topic or not but what is being discussed here is how Pakistan POP artists steal other tunes not that We are forgetting our cultural heritage by getting inspired by Western Music.
Please stop living in the past. There is nothing wrong with mixing Eastern and western music. It is Human nature to want change. And as for your post if you believe that we should stick to Eastern Values, first we need to cut down on Speaking English, stop wearing pants and also living in the USA and go back to Pakistan!
Firstly, my point has a direct relevence to discussion.. when we copy tunes from western muscions we are actually rendering our own music as inferior.. one always strive for better things so if these so called dese-gore groups try ti imitate like goras and fall somewhere in between.. if one meets them u will know that tyhey are even ashamed to speak urdu or their local language even in Pakistan.. I think if a western person even do Phd in Urdu he would never be able to grasp inner feelings of our poetry or songs.. like wise we try how much goranized being ashamed of how we look or what our background is - we wont be able to understand western music.. thts my point and is debateable.
Secondly, as u have personally said bout me I feel its perfectly all right to speak english while ur in western countries and wear pants and shirts.. and being living in US . am on student visa and there no harm in getting higher education.. but am discounting this time am passing here from my life.. but we can learn great things from western people like time management, education, law and order, social justice and humaitarian efforts.
I am not againt western music.. it may be better than ours but simply not ours..
sab chorro first admit thaty the other tunes were complete lifts e.g. feels like heaven from fiction factory, for which by the way the band has never given credit to the original band.
Now as far as dil dil pakistan goes… what if I am able to show you where the music was lifted from in airwolf? what then..would it still make a difference or not
Originally posted by Akif: I dont hear any AirWolf in Dil Dil Pakistan either..
Akif, want me to show you?
Originally posted by AliBeta
**Choro yaar Akif..
Kuch logo ko sirf critisize karnaa aata hay. They just cant appreciate anything! **
1- facts are facts. this is not a crticism. I can appreciate music while at the same time saying that the song had lifted parts or tune from another tune.
#2- Question is, can you admit that the music was lifted..
muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…
Dont worry Fraudia, I will Insha Allah post a reply real soon. I just have been busy trying to get into classes! And trust me I have a perfectly good jawaab for you!
anyways, aside from this…who has more desi artists and songs which have blatantly copied from other famous songs.
I recall a song titled “Bina” with lyrics “bina bina bina mein gata rahoon, tera naam subh o shaam” i think it was tehseen javed who sang it, but not sure. That is a copy of Karma Chameleon by Culture Club.
[This message has been edited by Fraudz (edited January 07, 2002).]
There was another band who copied all of U2’s Joshua Tree … same riffs and everything .. just in lame urdu lyrics ..
guy even tried to sing like Bono ..
Song was called Saraab .. I’m racking my brain trying to remember the name …
as far as mixing music is concerned … music transcends regions … the cherished indian ‘ragas’ and instruments all have been inspired by arabian ‘maqams’ and arabian instruments.
the concept of tuned percussion as used in Tablas comes from arabic Dumbeck, and other middleeastern percussion instruments.
Most Western music, is based on middle eastern music. apart from the influences from the Mayans or Aztecs or Incas …
so this whole thing of eastern or western music … is a waste of time … music has no boundary …
dil dil pakistan does sound like airwolf theme … anyone who cant pick it has been listening to too many bollywood songs with jhankar in em …
we in pakistan have no concept of intellectual copyright … so the groups which rip off others music and dont acknowledge em or pay royalties to em … get the same done to em when their albums are copied and sold by these cornershop music stores …
and THEN they cry FOUL! …
forget stolen tunes and copied music
i saw a junoon look alike pakistani band the other day i dont know thier name but there was this guy who had hair like ali azmat and a salman look alike guitarist
how shameless some people can get