Pairs/couples are made in heaven?

Assalamo alaykum,

Someone recently asked me whether pairs/couples are made in heaven. The following is the response that I received. I thought I’d share as many could be under a similar impression.

Re: Pairs/couples are made in heaven?

This has been brought up so many times. Matches are not made in heaven. Do a search on the numerous threads on this topic for refernces.

So what about that thing we have kept hearing that Allah :swt: has already made couples?

Is that part of predestination? And if it is, doesn’t it still fall under matches being already made?

oh i thought that this decision is already made by Allah..and we marry whom we r set up for by Allah's will..i dont really know though!

theres even a song by Ahmed Jahanzeb.."JOraY"..!

Dear questioner:

Al-Salâm `Alaykum wa Rahmah Allah wa Barakâtuh.

As far as what is written for a person, Allah knows everything that is going to happen in a person’s life, including who he is going to marry and what he will going to eat tomorrow morning for breakfast. In either case, the person still has his free will to choose and he should still pray to Allah for his needs.

• Everything in our lives is by the will of Allah. This is part of our belief in Divine Decree and it is not something specific to marriage. It covers everything.*

And Allah knows best.

Fatwâ Department Research Committee of IslamToday chaired by Sheikh `Abd al-Wahhâb al-Turayrî

yes so it is destined.

dont we believe that evrything has already been written?[this is not abt free will]

on the whole an incomplete confusing answer i wud say .

Then please explain why the Quran would give us guidelines on how to choose a proper mate? This whole marriage made in heaven thing is such nonsense.

^The Quran speaks of both.

Fact is, it is also mentioned that it is already written if a man is one of the people of Hell or Heaven. The Quran however still gives us guidelines on how to live the good life so that we may enter heaven.

The concept of predestination in Islam to the best of my understanding is such that Allah with his infinite knowledge already knows what choices a man is going to make, and thus those are written in the Loh-almahfooz. The choice however is ultimately the man's own to make.

So while our mates are probably written already, they are still of our own choosing and therefore Allah and his Prophet tell us how to go about choosing a good mate.

Allah knows best.

Well said… i head an example which really explained this concept all out for me atleast…

The person said that using a formula u can accurately predict where the Mars or Moon will be after 3 yrs and the scientist send their space shuttle to land on these surface using these calculation… So if thru our limited knowledge we can predict where one thing will be after so many yrs so why its not possible for Allah to know wot the person will do thru out his life… just need to calculate more dynamic variables and thats all..

^ Does not need to be mathematical at all :) Allah's knowledge includes, exceedes and supercededes all that exists in this universe and elsewhere, past, present and future.

for u it may be.just as the age we will live up to is destined but we have to eat n protect ourselves against diseases .

He has written watever is going to happen.He knows the path we WILL choose .

the same way prophets were not born to people randomly.thru generations the races were pure.loh e mehfooz par sab kuch likh diya gya tha.

criteria has been given to choose mates no?we have to follow it,watever the outcome as actions r judged by intentions.we may not expect but we may still get something as is pre destined.

even in the quran He says for the good ones they will have good mates n vice versa.if u say it isnt pre-destined then wat does the quran hint at?

anyways this is my belief and all we have to do is try our level best to use the arms,facilities,abilities,brain etc he has given us in the best possible way.

hazrat abdul qadir jillani [ra] says jo muqaddar main hay woh milay ga.
ahya ul uloom also tells the same.

there is a islamic concept of taqdeer,look into it.

wats willed doesnt nullify the process of our neeyat and the physical work required to bring the action abt.do u mean to suggest that Allah is just an observer? who interferes just wen he wants some change?the time of qayamat ,the return of hazrat Essa etc r these not predetermined? so how can the mates be not determined beforehand?

Even then naoozobillah u wont b able to grasp the mind of god keh kis cheez main he has willed it to be so.u belive either completely or not all not just in certain events.

for me, people supposedly thinking that they made the right choice,they made the correct decision is utter nonsense .Khuda nay taufeeq na di hoti tu woh bhi na hota.

anyways this is wat i think,and wat i believe.

one of the most reasonable and logical comment I have ever heard :k:

"Dajjal will be the King of the MusicLovers."

we should do the Istikhaara - to find out if this is what Allah (swt) has planned for us or not. And Inshallah he will give you the best answer.

So yes i do believe that 'matches' are pre-determind by Allah...:)

hmmm? care to explain?

i made this comment in response to uncle stalker...........he said the comment about ahmed jahanzaib's song was the most reasonable........
i thought he said that coz he loves ahmed's music........
i used to love music a lot.............i think i should start a thread on this topic.wat do you think
i think the comment about ahmed jahanzaib was just stupid.....

this is a mostly stupid world.
uncle was i think in a bad mood wen he made his sarcastic remark.
i see u have already started a thread on this.
i dont want to take sides but lets not be unkind to people.

I understand the answer is somewhat unclear. Since someone asked me to try and get an answer, I thought I'd share.

Quite frankly, I never understood what many mean by 'joray to aasmanon par bantay hain.'

Of course it's true that Allah SWT knows who will be married before they actually get married, it's written before you are even born.

HOWEVER, desis use the fact that "marriages are made in heaven" as a means of control to pressure a couple to stay together.

They completelky ignore the fact that it can and often has been pre-ordained that a couple will get married, and then the wife will be subjected to horrific treatment and made to suffer until she gets the marriage nullified or a judge grants a divorce, at which point she returns to her family and her suffering in greatly dminished or disappears.

Marriages are without doubt made in heaven. However, they can be made in heaven for better or for worse.

You are wrong to single out desis. All cultures have some variation of this theme, first of all. Second, I have never once seen or heard of a desi couple that is forced to stay together because “they were meant to be together.” Other reasons are given, such as family reputation, children or their views about the inferiority of women. Please expand or give examples.

^ Precisely.

The choice is made by man and Allah (swt) has foreknowlegde of it and has recorded it in Loh-almahfooz.

If the expression “Pairs/couples are made in heaven” means everything will be heavenly then it is completely wrong as I have seen quite a few mismatched couples and their life is a big mess and experience a pure hell on earth!

Recall Charlie and Di?