To karakush
I wrote it in hurry........It just reminded me that phrase....I think its a hadith which my husband heard from Hamza Yusuf or read in Kamran Ra'd's book.
You've made me realise that may be uncle was jokin.....
I'll try to be careful and kind towards others in future inshaAllah
In addition, why would Allah create a “match in heaven” between a Muslim and a non-muslim, and how would one explain divorce or a person who chooses not to marry? The choice is definitely made by man, however Allah knows what choices one is going to make.
This whole “Match made in Heaven” is such an old Aunti’s tale.
The expression is “Couples are made in heaven”. Not “The life of that couple would be heavenly too.”
I say this cz although I am very close to making the decision (the marriage decision) but deep inside I am so frightened. Something is telling me this is not right. And I shouldnt do this. My brother said, “The decision is all yours. In a moment like this, everyone has complete authority of taking the decision. So one has to decide. It may be right or it may be wrong. But God gives everyone a chance to choose, to decide. If wrong, you’re fkd. So one has to very carefully decide and not decide in a rush or impulse.”
He is so right. Taking the decision is all up to me. I must be wise enough to know if what I do is gonna be good or bad for me. My impulse tells me “GO FOR IT.” But somewhere in my heart, there is a warning.
Then again if I am destined to make a wrong decision and suffer it, nobody would be able to stop me from making a wrong decison no matter what.
Somebody told me, in situations like these, one must get some guidence from parents. My father is very much against this (due to age factor) and my mom is okay with whatever I decide. My brother/sister also think I should take some time making this decision. I really do not wanna go against so many people advising me I should not do this. But the problem is I do not trust anybody else’s opinion. I think I should cut myself off from the world completely and die soon. Marriage supposed to be a pleasure, not unwanted stress, which, in my quiet time, I fear it is going to be.
Wow, what an insightful post. If you don’t mind me asking, this age thing, is it because you happen to be older than your potential spouse? I have some thoughts/experiences on this matter in case you want another voice…
Yes, the potential spouse is 18 years older than me. I am very unconventional by nature so I do not have a problem with that. But my father is very uncomfortable with that.
r couples made in heaven??
well lets ask our dear old friend, mr commonsense....
hello mr CS, i have a question
Mr.CS: blurt it quick, havent got much time
Me: are couples made in heaven?
Mr.CS: who the hell(err...i mean heaven) told ya that, kid
Me: just some friendly folks...so wats ur answer
Mr.CS: listen, the only person who can know for sure if couples are made in heaven is someone who's been to heaven. In other words, someone who's dead. BTW, how the effing heck does it matter to you if they're made in heaven. heaven ke liye tera time aayenga tab fikar kar, na!...abhi saala zindagi ke maze loot khotte, heaven ki parwaah karne ke liye abhi time hai.
khush reh, mashakkat kar, kudiyon pe line maar...jo pati so pati, nahi pati to better luck next time. have i made myself clear?
Me: ji commonsense paaji.
Mr.CS: ok take care, bye.