PAF Women Paratroopers

The same bunch of girls who pioneered as the PAF’s first CAE (engineering) & CFT (flight) cadets from the 116 & 117 intakes, some of who recently passed out as pilots, have made history yet again.

Two female CAE cadets at the academy, Bismah Nasim and Fatima Khalil took on the Paratrooping adventure course at the academy and got their blue wings upon completion of the course alongside 46 male mates some of which were officers, cadets and airmen.

The country’s only para school had been at Peshawar and all three forces conducted their para training there but recently the PAF academy had established a branch to conduct training for PAF cadets at the academy. The Navy as well has, or is planning to establish one in Karachi for Naval cadets I think.

It must be known that all ranks serving in the armed forces are eligible to apply for any such courses and are selected upon fitness/entrance tests. These course are mostly voluntary and although women had been serving the Pakistan armed forces for decades in various branches, no women officer or OR ever took up such a course, as far as my info at the moment goes.

At the academies cadets are entitled to take up an adventure course in the final or before final term and they have options among various courses. I’m not sure if it’s the same at PAF academy but at the PMA the options include diving, sailing, mountaineering, gliding, power gliding, paratrooping, marksmanship, archery etc.

The paratrooping course is one of the most prestigous and sought after and the coveted blue wings are the object of desire of many a soul. it’s worn on the right side of the uniform above the name badge and is awarded after 3 weeks of training and 5 jumps.

Also, an important point to be noted is that cadet Bisma Naseem is the one girl who deserves most credit for what these girls have achieved in the PAF. It was initially her zeal and enthusiasm for flying that made the PAF consider inducting girls. It was she who had initially raised the question to the govt, ministry of defense air and army chiefs through her various articles in young people’s magazines, papers and also through direct letters to ACM Pervez Mehdi Qureshi, ACM Mushaf Ali Mir and General Pervez Musharraf. She is quite a celebrity. Especially among military enthusiast circles, particularly those her age group. She wasnt able to continue as a flight cadet due to some flying aptitude issue and joined the Aeronautical Engineering stream.

http://dawn.com/2006/04/14/top11.htm

Re: PAF Women Paratroopers

RISALPUR - April 17, 2006: Aviation Cadets Bisma Naseem and Fatima Khalil and others shout ‘Allah-o-Akbar’ during the graduation ceremony of the Fifth Basic Airborne Course at PAF Academy here on Monday.—Online
DawnPhoto.

Meanwhile, The PAF has re-opened female recruitment into the GDP and Aeronautical Engineering branches for the upcoming courses. Half page ads appeared in leading papers on Sunday.

hello!!
im Bisma...thanks alot for ur appreciation....Alhamdullilah, it was a wonderful experience n infact most memorable time of my life so far..the training was tooo tough but even then we enjoyed every bit of it...the instructors worked really hard on all of us n all credit goes to them...they really made us prepared that we being the soldiers of Pakistan are always ready to jump into any danger for the sake of Pakistan...being called as an 'Air Borne' infuses in you more courage to go ahead for more tough challenges...I really wana do something really BIG for my nation n Im just waiting eagerly for some opportunity from Him...
need ur prayers
once again, thanks alot!
PAKISTAN ZAINDABAD!
ALLAH-O-AKBAR!
Bisma Nasim

^ Thanks PAF girl. Really glad to see you and all the very best to you and your group.

Wow, GREAT to have you on our forum Bisma! :slight_smile:
We’re definitely too proud of you and your fellows :salute:
Many congratulations on gaining the coveted blue wings and being a part of our glorious PAF.

Do keep visiting the forum :k:

ys InshaAllah i'll keep on visiting and i still do visit my old defense web forums whenever i get access to net...but this gupshup corner, i explored it recently...

n u know PAF has once again started the induction of girls in both the regular branches...so, finally we'll b having more girls in academy soon inshaAllah but most prob, i wont b there n passed out inshaAllah by the time they will report...

holy wow!

hi bisma! :salute:

im extremely impressed by your acheivements, and admire your enthusiasm for the air force. :slight_smile: mashallah, you’re writing a new chapter in pakistan’s history. :chupki:

Congratulations to you Bisma. What is the role of paratroopers in PAF?

Role? They jump from the airplane, open the parachute and then land safely on the designated spot. Hope this helps.

p.s. Congrats to Bisma.

I believe what Khehkeshan meant was what operational role paratroopers have in the PAF.
I think in PAF for engineering cadets/officers there isnt any operational role for paratroopers as such, it's more of a recreational (optional) course for them.

Bisma may shed some more light.

good job Bisma.....glad to see you on board. We certainly need more girls like you.

O bhai aap kyuon tawa pe jal rahe ho??
this is just a begining...why not encourage them to do better in the future.

:salute:

:k: Congratulations Bismah! I love the air force, my father was a pilot in the Pakistan Air Force as well. Hope you have good time. :slight_smile:

I see a bit of comprehension problem here. That comment was meant for Khekhashan's simpleton question. Paratrooper course is coold to have. However PAF doesn't deploy paratroopers in combat role. SSG or other army units do.

Congrats to Bisma! Again.

Congratulations Bisma! Please do continue to visit Gupshup and let us know how it's going.

Congratulations! We need more women soldiers.

AOA!!
u kno wat? this time so many girls hav applied for gdp n cae branches and the competition wud be very tuff no doubt...
so GOOD LUCK to all of u who hav applied...may Allah help u in ur endeavours..
take care
AH

:k: Thats great.

Hi Bisma!
Great to know that :k:
They sure have good role models in you and your mates and will find good examples in you girls, the pioneers. :lajawab:

Any info about the GDp intake?