When I was in colleage, A history teacher told me something that which I don’t believe is true. However, hope some1 of you may shed true lights.
Teacher told that in Maha-Bharaat, five brothers (Paanch Pandos) participated and they all had one wife named ‘Daru-pati’ or ‘Darupaddi’. Is it true that all five brothers married to one lady?
I did heard/watched this story, but don't remember what was the reason for this. probably their mother's words were the reason behind this. Anyone, who know Hindu religion may explain spiritual aspects behind this.
I kinda remember there was a competition for archery (teer andazi) and target was eye of a revolving fish. the kaur or Southie uncle will confirm when they visit this thread.
In the Hindu epic Mahābhārata, the Pandava (Sanskrit: pāṇḍavaḥ) are the five acknowledged sons of Pandu (Sanskrit: Pandu), by his two wives Kunti and Madri. Their names are Yudhisthira, Bhima, Arjuna, Nakula and Sahadeva. Although, Karna is told by Lord Krishna that according to the laws and ethics he is the first son of Kunti making him the eldest Pandava. Hence, he is also a Pandava and one could say that there were six Pandavas instead of five. All five brothers were married to the same woman, Draupadi. Traditionally, the authorship of the Mahabharata is attributed to Rishi Vyasa . There have been many attempts to unravel its historical growth and compositional layers. The oldest preserved parts of the text are not thought to be appreciably older than around 400 BCE, though the origins of the story probably fall between the 8th and 9th centuries BCE.
I kinda remember there was a competition for archery (teer andazi) and target was eye of a revolving fish. the kaur or Southie uncle will confirm when they visit this thread.
Yes Arjun hit bull'e eye with his bow.....:D
We have very famous epic drama series named Mahabharat on DD....
In those days tv were not common in rural parts... so i remember a huge crowd in my home to watch mahabharat.....and before that we had same crowd for Ramayan.....
Is not that very secular indeed...Hindus watching mythological drama on tv owned by a muslim........:)
^^^ see this pandas can read and write since then, book even talks about VyuhRachna(military formations), DronaCharya stationed his army in sarpakar, snakelike, marching in columns, Arjun counter monoeuver was Chandrakar, Crescent shape, Outflanking manoeuver:), they wrote this in BC, when my ancestors were jumping from one tree to another in Kandhar:D
you should have asked before having any idea sweet lady:D
Muqawwee123 ji, being a non-Indian muslim you have enough idea about Hinduism, I bet hardly any Indian non-muslim has an iota of idea of that level about Islam:)
Draupadi in her previous life prayed (Tapsya) for years and when Bhagwan Shiv appeared, she asked for husband in her next life, who is righteous and truthspeaker, physically powerful, best archer, best swordsman, and very handsome. Bhagwan shiv blessed her and said that all these power cannot unify in one human body. In her next life she was born through a result of ,yagya, praying through fire altars, along with Dhrishtdhuymna, born to kill Dronacharya, and Shkhandi, born to be the cause of death of Bheeshm Pitamah:) Pandavs were living in disguise of Brahmin at that time, the reason of it has different story, Arjun as a brahmin participated in Draupadi Swayamwar, when all the kshtriyas failed to hit the eye of moving fish while seeing her image in water. Arjun disguised as Brahmin performed and got draupadi, they came back and before entering house shouted in happiness “look mother what we have brought”, Draupadi said “whatever you have brought divide among yourself”, seeing a princess at the door she was struck but Shri Krishna explained the story of her previous life and boon that she got from Bhagwan Shiv, Five pandavs had five qualities that she asked for and she was married. Story signifies that in ancient India polyandry was acceptable but not the child marriage. later in Indian history we don’t see polyandry but child marriage
They lost her in a gambling game to their cousins......so their cousins"kauravas" decided to humiliate pandvas by striping draupadi in royal
court........
so Draupadi called upon Krishna to save her honor as he was her Muh bola bhai.....
and krishna supplied extra meters of saree to save her honor.....
:hat: sab tilak wali aunty Ekta Kapoor ki kirpa hai
BTW, was this is the only incident for polyandry mentioned in vedic literature or it was common in those days. I’ve read and @ninja_hattori have mentioned in some threads that there are still areas (especially in Punjab) where this tradition exist.
you forgot to add about the chai-shai your ammi would have served, the hospitality and hosting a guest by Sayyid household is unmatchable :), and beautiful sayyidas are excellent in cooking as well:k:. the same crowd would have come for “sword of tipu sultan” as well and would have cheered every time a gora is killed:D
Infact, I have never read or saw about it in modern times before ninja hattori mentioned it, and polyandry has no theological acceptance in Sikhi, so it is for financial purpose not for some divine cause:D Mahabharat comes in post vedic literature, and Draupadi is the only character that I know of,