Overseas Pakistanis

I have come across this attitude very often, for anyone who was born in Pakistan and then lived in a foreign country or someone who went on and settled outside Pakistan sometime later in their life. Countries like in EU or AmE or even Middle-east etc. But first, let me make it clear i am not attacking someone or any particular community here.

They have this attitude towards people living in Pakistan. It feels like a superiority-complex, cuz they sound like they think they are better than any of the people living in Pakistan, or even any other third-worlder in general.

They sit outside the country criticizing it and saying how it’s such a hell and how are the people not doing much or enough to improve it etc. Yet they don’t do anything themselves to help. Instead they criticize the people who are at least *trying *to do something for their country.

They also have this barbaric or even a savage imagery of the people living here - like these poor, hungry, illiterate, jahil, close-minded, smelly idiots.

Sometimes people who once lived in the very same conditions themselves, would look down upon others now leading a similar life. They would act like they don’t even remember living an average Pakistani’s life.

I want to know what causes to build such an attitude? What are your views and/or experiences regarding this?

Not all overseas pakistanis are like this. May be it’s even a minority. But such attitude is prevalent.
(I hope I’ve worded this right so no one gets offended since that’s not my intention at all :bummer:)

Re: Overseas Pakistanis

Right, like that’s not an attack on overseas pakistanis at all…right :rolleyes:

:smack: I clearly said not all of them are like that… didn’t I… well I meant it like that. Then consider this coming from an overseas pakistani if that makes it less offensive :slight_smile:
So you haven’t met anyone like that?

Someone get me some damn popcorn!! This is a juicy thread!!

I fall in that category "born in pakistan and kinda settled in uk"

but NO way i am like "showing off my English when going to Pakistan, degrading pak and its system, trying to show attitude with people in Pakistan just cause i have uk's education and job" and I will NEVER act like that either. allhumdolillah.

i know someone who is kinda like that.

also i know ppl from uk (born and raised in uk) and they have this superiority complex and think of Pakistan in a backward way.

all in all i hate such people who do that.

I don't know of anyone who criticises another person for trying to do something for Pakistan.

I see people like that often, some in my own family, regrettably. I just write them off as people with no empathy.

Presently someone would have to unbelievably stupid to "show off their foreign colours" in Pakistan, firstly because they'd come across as an absolute **** and secondly they'd probably get 'kidnapped' for a ransom!

err…but i am better than them :konfused:

i remember CM’s coconut thread :smiley:

It exists Pakwoman…but you will never see anyone acknowledge that :smiley:

Now lets see more replies :khumar:

I have noticed this trend too. To me it seems, that they are desperately trying to prove to themselves that their leaving the country and settling in the West ( or their parents or grandparents for that matter) was an achievement that should be the envy of most Pakistanis 'rotting' in Pakistan. Its out of their need to justify this, that this superiority complex comes from. The sad fact however is, that these are the people that could never make something of themselves back home.

I was told by a few british pakistanis, that although they dont like to admit it , but the fact is, that a lot of british pakistanis at my university did envy people who come from back home whose families are well settled in Pakistan.

well i remember someone criticizing CJ Iftikhar Choudhrey because due to the "stupid long march" he instigated the flights were delayed to Pakistan for a day or two.

It is not a complex. Most of us living outside of Pakistan are living far more comfortably compared to majority of the 169million+ people in Pakistan. We have it much better here in the west for example than we would in Pakistan. In terms of quality of life, most of us are superior to third world citizens, though we are very grateful and humble about it.

I think that Pakistanis abroad have every right to criticize their homeland. We are the ones who know what the international image of Pakistan actually is and are mostly impacted by it. We are the ones outside looking in. People in Pakistan have become accustomed to the "hellish" way of life imposed on them due to corrupt leadership and crippling cultural beliefs. They don't see how much potential they have for improvement. People in Pakistan can have better living standards, but it requires for THEM to do something about it. Having said that, I understand that many in Pakistan do not come from privileged households some of us on here come from. It is a struggle for many to just provide food for their families, let alone do something else. But people should do little things like follow the law and abandon stupid beliefs, which they can't seem to do.

This is true for Pakistanis abroad and at home. Pakistanis are all words no action.

And you have this barbaric imagery of Pakistan without poverty, hunger and illiteracy. The sooner we recognize that we have the these issues, the sooner we can resolve them. Also, as evident by the violence in the country, Pakistan does have many savages.
As for close-mindedness, from my experience Pakistanis from abroad tend to be more open-minded than people residing in Pakistan. We have had the opportunity to experience other cultures. We have the freedom to express thoughts that would otherwise get one persecuted for just thinking about in Pakistan. I think this allows us to be more open-minded and critical of things.

OK I didnt realise u were talking about government people, I thought u were talking about "overseas Pakistanis" criticizing Pakistani citizens trying to do something better for Pakistan

Pakwoman… you are one lucky thread starter :D..you got tailor made example :cb:

hahaha! True that!

Pakwoman, each and every word you write is correct. These traits are common among most Pakistanis settled abroad.

The most annoying are those in the US, who have not been out of Pakistan for more than 3-4 years, and ask about Pakistani culture, traditions, and other things like they haven’t been to the country in 25 years.

I am going to an exhibition with me family - but i will come back and post a reply on this thread for sure ... Just keep it sane till my return :D

But for starter - I really feel sorry for the people who have landed in west via bhatinda ... They have never lived or seen the Real Pakistan ...

And once again, this is the god talking to us from the heavens, and asking us to do away with our follies!

One very easy way identify such people is their confusion with ‘they’ and ‘we’…:omg:

is thread pe mujhe umer sharif ka bakra qiston pe 2 yaad agaya jis main ek scene main larka usa se ata hai aur english bolta hai saara time tou umer sharif uske saath tooti phooti taiz angrezi bolna shuru kar deta hai. larkay ko kuch samajh nahi ati akhir thak haar ker kehta hai "mere baap ki tauba jo kabhi english boli" aur jawab main umer kehta hai "mubarak ho begum america ka tayyara luckhnow uttar gaya hai"