Overseas Pakistani

Should the biometric system be in place at the embassies and consulates to allow them to vote in the 2013 elections?
There are some interesting comments in the comment section of this article.

ECP opposes online voting system for overseas Pakistanis

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) opposed an online voting system for overseas Pakistanis, in its report submitted to the Supreme Court on Monday, *Express News *reported.

The commission stated that allowing overseas Pakistanis to vote via a non-certified computerised system could be disastrous for the electoral process.

The report added that a law needs to be devised to give voting rights to overseas Pakistanis.

A three-judge bench headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and comprising Justice Gulzar Ahmed and Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed was hearing two identical petitions seeking right to suffrage for overseas Pakistanis.

Of the 4.5 million overseas Pakistanis registered to vote, around 1.7 million live in Saudi Arabia, 1.3 million live in the UAE, 277,131 live in Oman, 131,589 live in Kuwait and 80,166 live in Bahrain – most of these countries do not allow such political activities.

Of the remaining number, 367,988 registered Pakistani voters live the in UK, 131,589 in the US, 90,148 in Canada, 56,495 in Greece, 55,851 in Malaysia, 39,618 in Spain, 23,585 in France and 15,728 live in Australia.

Their votes could have significant impact on their native constituencies. Possible misuse, as such, creates an equally grave threat for the electoral process.

Re: Overseas Pakistani

I don't think it would be possible in these elections, besides the ECP and other parties know that overseas Pakistanis will overwhelmingly vote for PTI that's why no one would take pains for the purpose. It's better that overseas Pakistanis book their travel to Pakistan and cast their votes.

Now who is willing to travel that far only to caste a vote.

Many people will travel.

Not that easy. They are even not issuing new passports. If you apply for an urgent passport, you get a waiting time of 3 months. It's terrible in consulates these days.

the consulates will not be cooperative right now.....heck they're not helpful in the best of times.......forget trying.

i think it will not possible due to lack of necessary infrastructure.

beside it will not create any significant change in the elections result rather this process could be abused as there are no necessary arranagement in this regard so far.

@aliya

yeh bhi qadri sahib kay supporter ki tarah puchtaay ga .

Imran is making "mamoo" to overseas and here is playing a role of PP B team under a tacit understanding.

i recetly visited Lahore twice in a month after a gap of 6 years .......... surely lahore has become a much better city than karachi over a period of time.

still imran has problem with punjab govt but dont bothered to speak about the sindh govt and worst situation of law n order in karachi ................ that is his complete failure as a statesman.

Imran khan as B team (of PPP), maybe you are right but the facts depict otherwise. People's party has been plundering the country for five long years and PMLN didn't even squeak although they were the supposed opposition. As far as Punjab is concerned its not about Lahore (only), a lot of work was carried out by Pervaiz illahi, what you see in the city is due to consistent development during the past 15 years. As far as MQM is concerned, please direct me towards some statement of sharif brothers regarding them? Do they have any policy for solving karachis issues, other than running a metro bus there?

it is better to have tried and failed than never to have tried at all.

and we are all happy being "mamoo" to Imran than being mamoo to all the rest of the haramkhors.

Doesn't make a difference to me as I like many other people from AJK are ineligible. Unfair!

^ Azad Kashmir have their own system if governance. However the Kashmir friends that I has in Islamabad could vote both in Pakistan as well as AJK.

i think u r over generalising here. being a student of econmics and account i will reiterate that the punjab govt has great job in a trying circumstances like.

even PTI got mum when Transparancy Int ask them to provide prrof for corruption.

to spend public money is a very difficult decision to make. coz u have got options to choose from.

living in karachi i can really what is real bad governance. unfortunately Mr. Imran is unable appreciate this difference that made me sometime wonder is he a politician like " Mussurat Shaheen"......lols

^^How about governance in Punjab under khadam e aala?
what happend to people responsible for fake drug death @PIC?
Badami bagh after gojra happend only beause khaam e aala never took any real steps to prevent such incidents.
7 infants burnt alive how many people named in FIR(if there is any)

TI never issued any certifcate to punjab govt.

one last question...u can ask Miansaab and tell me...
lahore kahan khatam hota hai aur punjab kahan saay shuru hota hai?

Notanki league kai paltu punjab police aur paltu dakaiton ki baat karnay saay tabyat khrab hoo jati hai*bummer*

No e voting - wait till tomorrow to hear it from judiciary :)

Yeah but Pakistan still has effective control so elections here are worthless and just a stunt.

these chotha chotha masla bothering u.

take vacation from baghlolpur come to karachi or any district from interior sindh .

Allah na karay....
Aap ka koi rishtaydaar sahatyabi kay liay hospital admit hoo aur wahan us ki jaan nikal le jaay jaali dawai kha karr
Allahna karay
Aap kay khandan ka koi bacha hospital zinda jal`lay
Allah karay
aap ko insani jaan ki qemat ka andaza jald hoo

aap kay liay tau yeh choti choti batain hoon gi
brother u belong in Notanki League
Khush rahooo
laikin apnay kharchay paar

During the past few years small amounts of bhattakhori and target killing has increased in Lahore too, all under the government of Khadim e Aala.