Overseas Pakistani Syndrome

Re: Overseas Pakistani Syndrome

You’re a very lucky man if you don’t know anyone who’s missed a parental funeral back home because of their obligations here.

I struggle to remember anyone who’s missed parents’ funerals due to ‘obligations’. I really do. And if people do indeed do that do you not think some of us would also find it disgusting?

I forgot. We’re pathetic ABCD’s with no morals, which was what his waffle was all about, mostly. No company here would not allow you to go back if your parents had passed away. Its as true as pigs that flew by my window.

Who is ‘some of us’? Whose spokesperson are you right now? What’s this ABCD talk you keep bringing up?

ABCD, NRP, bla bla to the writer we’re all the same. You seem to think some of his nonsense ‘made sense’, hence I was providing my two cents.

As for me, I am noone’s spokesman, just trying to show that the article is probably the worst thing I’ve read in a long time. Hope this answer satisfies you. :salute:

Except his whole article is aimed at expats. He specifically calls out those who live abroad, ignoring the Pakistanis who live at home, are not rich or poor, just average, who also yap away without contributing anything. Why does an expat have to be one of the few who contributes in order to have an opinion without being called out, while those living in Pakistan get to do so without doing squat?

edit: I agree with his general point, but disagree with how he selectively applies it only to those living abroad.

I think this article forgets to mention the lectures we have to hear on how “goron ke mulk mein jakay un ke rang mein rang gaye”. *The severe stereotypes we’re subjected being born and raised in the West…that all girls raised in the US, Canada, AUS, UK, etc are awara. *No one spares us over here when it comes to tanay baziyan.

To jab dosron pe ungli uthatay ho…which this article blatantly does…he claims he does not judge but in the entire essay…he’s doing NOTHING but judging…phir kya masla hai jab koi aur tum pe uthaye? *

He assumes openly about the emotions, realities, financial situations, etc about the people here…as if yahan atay hi koi airport pe million dollar ka check leke ajata hai. *Hello…we work our asses off too…AND get criticized for raising our kids too white. *

Of course, we should not judge…but that goes BOTH ways! *

You are nothing more than an ignorant privileged brat. Privileged because you never went through the stuff. A brat because of your attitude. Ignorant because IT HASNT HAPPENED TO ME OR ANYONE I KNOE SO IT MUST BE DRIVEL.

My dad drives a taxi and me and my brother help him make ends meet with our jobs. His father passed 7 years ago. Mother passed away three months ago. Because of our financial situation he hasnt been able to leave his responsibilities here and even go see his parents’ final resting places.

You make me fukn sick.

Burgers flying everywhere. Panties getting mixed up. This thread is delivering.

09 would like to know what you’re smoking, CoughCough. All employers not letting you go back is as true as the pigs that fly by his window!

we r oh so perfect ABCD’s. we can judge anyone to everyone.offcourse we know better then them. what those jahil people know about how to run country.
we are so mazloom we get to hear batein from back home. :crying:

excellently put

9/10 to the article.

He spoke the truth and spoke genuinely with a good amount of wit.

i do not know why despite his disclaimer this article had negative comments. :confused:

He said… whilst typing on his Macbook.

Burger thanda ho raha sahib jee!

Overseas Pakistanis invented Macbook. :chai:

As an overseas desi, I really liked the article. Quite honest. What on surfaace seems a contradiction actually made sense. Some of the counters were also good read.

As for someone not being able to go to their parents funeral, we haven’t walked in their shoes. Nothing disgusting about that.

CC sorry to hear about your dads parents. Good on you brothers.

I’m not sure where “here” is, but here in The States, it’s considered a privilege to be awarded any sort of bereavement leave… and more times than not, it’s unpaid leave.. and when it is approved, it’s usually only 3 days. 5 if you need to travel, which, from what I’ve seen/ experienced, can be a long and drawn our process, where HR may require documents to prove the death & need to travel.
So let’s say you do get 5 days… out of 5 days, 1.5 days for travel there + 1.5 days back… that leaves 2 days. Adding being jetlagged and most likely in shock, I’m not sure how you’d handle the funeral/ after events. And then upon returning, back to work first thing the following day? Does ANY of that seem logical at all?

So depending on financial situations and obligations (both to your employer and their family), not everyone can just up and fly to the motherland.

And seriously, let’s not forget that airfare isnt just pocket change… :hinna:

Attending you parents’ funerals could be considered important based on society’s requirements, and of course morally… but Islamicly and logically, emotions only weigh in so much.

Just an example, because dropping $2k per person can def add up… If not for financial reasons, would you be ok with leaving your wife and children alone?

PS… This is in response to your post, but “you” isn’t only directed towards you. :slight_smile:

Calm down mate, before you blow a fuse in your head.

Now as far you as your post, you should be whining and crying at the writer too who is demeaning anyone who’s gone through what you have instead of having a whine at me.

Secondly, to me the author came across as saying that people do have a choice to go back, but they don’t do, instead they prefer cash and its lure and that’s where their entire life is, around greed in foreign countries. I showed my disgust at those people. Was your father doing that? Ofcourse he wasn’t, Christ. He was making a living instead og giving a crap about money. Which is what I meant.

As for privileged don’t give me this sh!t. I have lost my own family members in Pakistan and no natural deaths, the great nation which we should all respect and not say a word against, and I have not been able to go to funerals same as your family, two at the last count. That’s some privilege, aren’t I thankful? From my own view I think the author is saying that people prefer to enjoy cash instead of coming back home for funerals, in my post I disagreed with that and it was directed clearly at anyone who does do that. Not at people like you. I should have added the word ‘greed’ in my post.

Maybe I didn’t get my point across properly and for that I apologise. :slight_smile:

2-4 lines and now cheerleading is your usual contribution in this thread. Explains a lot.

Poe’s law - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I should have added the word ‘due to greed’ in my post to avoid confusion which is what I meant. As I said in my above post I have missed funerals too, so I doubt I’d be abusing myself in my posts.

Scenario 1: someone can’t go back, i.e. CC’s dad
Scenario 2: someone can go back but doesn’t himself so he can earn an extra grand when he’s loaded already.

Now with the author’s rant against NRPs and how we are so comfy in the West willing to do anything for $$$ in our ‘high paying jobs’ I perceived he was alluding to scenario 2. And when I said I was disgusted that is what I meant. I should have elaborated that. I hope its all clear now. :slight_smile:

khud k pass sab kuch ho, paisa ho, to bhi itni himmat nai hoti. sab kitabi batain hain.