I’ve recently been introduced to Reece’s, they are really really nice lol.
Last week, I went to downtown just to get my hands on a Reese’s Piece’s Sundae at the Hershey store…it was so satisfying…
Bet that tasted wicked.
queued up for 1.5 hours for this new doughnut place is town! Yes! That long! I was 14 then. Friend and I had skipped school for it. Donut was soo good! Unfortunately that place has closed down now.
i once biked for more than hour N a half uphill to the other side of AligaRh in a foggy N cold morning to eat paaye/nihari with gooda at the city's most popular Nihari joint. i vividly remember that i could not break the naan due to numb fingers.
after i finish my nihari/paaye + gooda, i was as fresh as i could be. my friends reluctantly had followed me that morning. :)
Sounds so good!!!
Out-of-the-way Yummies!!!
All this halwa puri talk!! I love halwa puri. :) I would definitely love to travel to Pak for the food.
Last week, my friend and I queued before opening time at a popular halal bakery here. It opens at 12 and sells out by 2-3 pm every day. We were first in line (at 11am)! :D had great brownie tarts, cakes and cupcakes.
I don't remember ever going so far for good food. Perhaps driving in the States for halal Chinese which was 2 hours away.
Re: Out-of-the-way Yummies!!!
^I would never go that far for sushi. Desserts, and fried foods and sammies and pastas and curries and Chinese/Thai ....sure. Sushi is overrated, imo.
I crave sushi...all the time right now...but I cannot have it. Oh goodness.
Bet that tasted wicked.
It DID!
I also have gone an 1.5 hours away for my favorite Thai restaurant.
Dubai had the best shawamas I’ve ever eaten and they only cost 1 Durham.
I have had shawarmas in Dubai but nothing beats the ones made at King of Juice, a small cafe in the middle of Suwaikat Bazar in Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia. The only one who can live this wish of mine is LP. She lives in the same city I grew up in..or somewhere close to it. My mom went for Umra a few years back and said that King of Juice is still there. It has stood the test of time, that place. Bless. ![]()
I have had shawarmas in Dubai but nothing beats the ones made at King of Juice, a small cafe in the middle of Suwaikat Bazar in Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia. The only one who can live this wish of mine is LP. She lives in the same city I grew up in..or somewhere close to it. My mom went for Umra a few years back and said that King of Juice is still there. It has stood the test of time, that place. Bless.
I’m surprised you even like shawarmas ![]()
I have had shawarmas in Dubai but nothing beats the ones made at King of Juice, a small cafe in the middle of Suwaikat Bazar in Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia. The only one who can live this wish of mine is LP. She lives in the same city I grew up in..or somewhere close to it. My mom went for Umra a few years back and said that King of Juice is still there. It has stood the test of time, that place. Bless.
I had it few minutes back and its delicious ![]()
Thanks for the recommendation ![]()
I had it few minutes back and its delicious
Thanks for the recommendation
Yaaaaaayyyyyyy!!! Finally someone apart from my family who has also had the same experience.
I remember telling you about it maybe a year or more ago. And I wanted to ask you if you had tried the Al-khobar food recommendations I gave…but I didn’t want to pester you. Glad to know you enjoyed it.
Yaaaaaayyyyyyy!!!!!!! Finally someone apart from my family who has also had the same experience.
I remember telling you about it maybe a year or more ago. And I wanted to ask you if you had tried the Al-khobar food recommendations I gave....but I didn't want to pester you. Glad to know you enjoyed it.
I don't go out shopping much but I was there today and remembered you'd recommended it so gave it a try. Dad and I had it, both of us liked it.
^It's so much better than the shawarma served at chains like Baba Habbas etc etc and even the more upscale restaurants. The only other shawarma I had that came close to King of Juice was a cafe in London; can 't remember the name though. But KOJ takes the crown, MashaAllah.
I was pregnant.
Wanted fillet o fish.burger from.MacDonald's. Craving real bad.
Said I wanted 3.
And it was 1am. Luckily they are 24 hours.
Husbnd said OK the one.nearer to us sells 3 at the individual price sowill be expensive so my kanjoos hubby spent about 5 pounds in petrol to go 45 mins away to get 3 burgers that were on a deal 3 for 3 pounds. Lol.
When we lived in Charlotte we used to drive 3+ hours to go to Atlanta to eat some good desi restaurant foods.
A loving husband once drove his family almost 1.5 hrs on 15 min notice one way because wife was craving COWS ice-cream. Drove there, ate the ice-cream and headed back home. I know crazy family
and there are few more incidents when we drove almost 4 hours to eat Halal Chinese/Desi food since the place we were living at did not have Halal restaurants then.
PS: most of the times, family slept on the way back and husband listens to Noor Jahaan and Rona Laila’s songs to keep himself awake :smack:
You da man.
Halal gummy bears :yummy:
Takes around 35-40 mins to get to my halal candy pusher but OMG it’s worth it all - They have such a great range of different gummy bears, thankfully the Mr doesn’t mind driving by on his way home on a regular basis :arzi:
Can you parcel some my way. Never seen those in US.
We drive an hour to Shaan Restaurant to have the paye and naan there for breakfast when I am craving them. Nothing beats paye for breakfast…nothing.
While we were living in Chicago we would go to Tahoora for Halwa poori or Shaan for Paya every weekend without fail. I miss my Chicago. :cryb::cryb::cryb::cryb:I have good memories from Chicago.
Halwa Puri..:yummy: … I just need to wake up my wife…so she can eat it once I am done making it!
You are such a Mushraqi sughar biwi numa shouhar.:smack::smack:
Kaka tumheen yee cheezeen Qabool-hai, Qabool-hai, Qabool-hai bolney k baad samajh aaeen gi. These 3 words changes life upside down. Hum bhi barey phanney khaan baney phirtey theey pehley.
So yeah while you can say “yaar kia baywaqoofi hai. Drive this much for ice-cream? lets go to some local shop and eat” but there ends your limit. “yaar” wont be listening to u much if she NEED (not WANT) to eat that ice-cream
Agree 100%. You can say “ha-a zalim toh nay abhi pee he nahi.”
I don’t blame you. I have yet to see halal gummie bears. It’s almost an hour drive to Apna Bazaar and no gummies.
What? I thought US was the land of halal candy or maybe that’s UK? Hmm
Can you parcel some my way. Never seen those in US.
What?
Like never? Not even halal haribo? Not the best one available but still.
I’m going to eat a few extra just for you two ![]()
I was very pregnant, craving laddoo so we drove an hour and half to NJ (it became 2.5 hours due to traffic jams) and I could only eat one laddoo before calling it quits. The look on my husband's face was priceless. We did bring a box home in case I craved it again.. but next time it was ras gullay :D
but yeah we have driven 3-4 hours (before we had kids) to eat a nice desi meal in NY and then drove back home.. such were the days.. young and free!!!
Usually no I can tame my cravings at home or stay very close to the local eateries.
But …Yes once in 2013.
A day before my due-date we drove 1 hr 25 mins to get burgers. My red meat cravings were insane the whole time I was pregnant; so why these burgers? because they are freshly made and never frozen, halal of course; (and I try to eat proper most of the time, so I had to jump on this) my husband was grunting little bit since its a very high traffic area and another driver almost hit our car, and he LOVES to save his gas and not drive way out of town…but this hike had to happen ![]()
Nevertheless it hit the spot, I was in food heaven for an entire hour…How many did I have? A full size burger and a half with a poutine :-/ I usually don’t eat this much ![]()
You are such a Mushraqi sughar biwi numa shouhar.
Yaar bus yee hi problem hai. I genuinely like cooking coz thats how my mom raised me. Even though I have a sister, I had to help in house chores including cutting vegetables, washing cloths, cleaning up dinning table and washing dishes etc etc. I carried on the torch even after moving to USA :). I did not get any brownie points for being “boy” :(. Aama jee used to say k you have to get married, maid nahi bana ker lana hai BV ko so apney kam khud kerna seekhoo.
seems like begum figured out that I like cooking and she is taking phuuul eeeydwantege ![]()