Re: Our Stupid Nation - Pakistanese
Thank you DA. This kind of post tells us who are not in Pakistan what is happening there a 1000 times more than all the KB jihadi rhetoric. Thanks again for the eye witness report.
Han bhai, mullah aur maulana logonki apni khudki koi zimmedari nahin hain. Abhi churu karo ilzam lagana kisi aurko.
Good. Keep your dreams alive. ![]()
excellent point!
i’m french so my country too hosted some young muslim violent protest few months ago, as you may remeber, …there were also lots of propery and car burning…(the reason behind the violence has nothing to do with islam though, but two muslim youngsters had died while trying to escape from police))
and it exactly made ground for far right parties!
so amorphous you’re underlining a very dangerous consequence of the violent reactions around the muslim world: there are actually what the danish far right newspaper was looking…and all the protest are making them happy, cause to their eyes they are justification to insulting the muslims and islam…
the only proper reaction to such and act is not buying the newspapers publishing those cartoons…BAS!
hei don’t darken everything! maybe pakistanese living abroad are becoming as paranoiac as westerners, but i tell you what: before i came to pakistan everyone warned me not to go to such a primitive and dangerous country:rolleyes:
…and i experienced one of the most pleasant travel ever:D…wonderfull people and all:blush:…
i talk a lot and regularly to my bf who is in peshawar, and he said that situation is back to normal…and latest protests were confined to limited area…and there were mostly afghanee refugee doing the violence…but situation is under control, and there’s no danger for common folk.
don’t be paranoiac, if you got family in pak, go to visit them…just follow their safety advice and inshallah everything will be alright
Yeah thanks for the advise. My mate said it has all calmed down now in Lahore 2. thank god i didn’t cancel my ticket yet LOL!!!
There is so much illiteracy in pakistan. Most of the people dont know how to communicate, how to peacefully express anger. Most middle aged and adolescent man are so naive that half hour of hateful speech can turn their heads around. All the pakistanis abroad should support musharaff enthusiastically, for he is the only sane political power currently in pakistan. This iz the reason he is so isolated, more and more extreme and violent political parties are turning against him.
Musharaff has done so much for pakistan, change is very noticeable .. and still ungrateful people dont refrain from mocking him time and again. I for one have deep respect for his logical and rational political strategies.
Dear Amorphous, that is a noble spirit and appreciable. The important point isn’t whether the ruler should be a Punjabi or a Pashtun. It is, what are the philosophy, ideology, attitude, and priorities of the state as for as rights of citizens in general and cultural/religious minorities in particular are concerned. Is it pursuing a state philosophy and political line that ensures opportunity of expression and growth to all citizens independent of ethnic or religious affiliation and accepts the right of different cultural communities to retain their ethno cultural unity/cohesion or is it ruled by an oligarchy, rooted in a particular area(s), hell-bent on tearing historical entities apart and building a nation on theocratic foundations!
A Pashtun ruler whose main mission and task is to buttress the "ideological frontiers " of the state and maintainence of the status-quo through the politics of Islam/Mullah and not the intellectual and material development of citizens would be as much a disappointment as rulers from other ethnicities.
I mentioned my ethnic group because in Pakistan, whenever a reference is made to extremism, intolerance, and Jehadi tendencies, fingers are pointed at a particular community. The outside world and Western visitors are fooled into believing that a certain core area is the abode of tolerant and sane and the rest all are an intractable and extremist lot to be policed. Even, the Daily Times, which considers itself the champions of fairness and liberalism, would twist facts and publish editorials to propagate this image.
In fact, radicalism and intolerance is ubiquitous cultivated and promoted, purposely, by the status-quo through state-controlled education, official media, state-sponsored religious movements, and patronization of clergy and militant outfits. The problem is exacerbated by bad governance, mismanagement of resources, lack of public amenities to an expanding population, and poor economic planning and performance. Lethargic and parasitic bureaucracies, oligarchs, monarchs, and dictators are sitting on top of people rights suppressing ideological and political freedom.
In a world where War against Terror is another money-making enterprise after Afghan Jehad and influence and threat perception from Mullahs a justification for dictatorship and prolongation of dictatorial rule, Mullaism and radicalsim would naturally be promoted and retained. The longer the war on terror, the more the profit and the longer the dictatorial span.
People would vent frustration one way or the other as recently done in cartoon issue.
Man o man. I just saw the PK news paper & these riots are still on. Even one planned on 26th of February in Lahore.
Where are we gonna end up?
Its like, pagal nay hawa main teer chalaya aur ham nay talwaar utha kar apnay ghar peh warr karna shuru kar diya.
Dirty Politics.
90 % of em doesnt even know why they are protesting. That's so freakin frustrating!
Is destroying your own buildings and property help anything against it??? ** NO!**