I was watching this documentary in All Views yesterday, and something in it made me think..there was a 17 year old white British guy who converted to Islam. His mother and father were fine with it and had no issues even though the brand of Islam the guy converted to was extreme.
Now reverse the situation, if it was a Muslim boy converting to Christianity am I right in thinking he;d be disowned in our society? And if I am right in thinking that the close ‘‘family bonds’’ we hold so dear, are they not fake or nothing more than ‘‘if its all good and dandy then we’re close, if not and there are problems then screw you’’
Pata nahin .... people have just forgotten that religion is for God only and between God and the person, har kisi ne apni qabar main jana hai and apna hisaab khud dena hai..... i call it extremism and duniyadari...
And if I am right in thinking that the close ''family bonds'' we hold so dear, are they not fake or nothing more than ''if its all good and dandy then we're close, if not and there are problems then screw you''
Discuss.
So you are saying if someone is messing up their life you let them for the family bond?!
Religion is an important part of your life/exisistence and personality so any change in it would definately affect you. It might not be you who is converting but if its somebody within the family, it would change alot of things for you too. However that doesnt give you the right to take away somebody else's right to believe what they want to believe. But same way you have the right to keep ties with people you want to keep ties with and not with people you dont want to. For example, if i believe my bro/sis is going the wrong way by converting to another religion, i cant stop them from doing it but i can step back from them in order to keep my healthy distance from their religion. Just like we are to respect every religion but we can't let influence our lives.
So you are saying if someone is messing up their life you let them for the family bond?!
I am not ''saying'' anything, I made an observation that in the above scenario, for all our desi family bonding ties bla bla, we'd disown our children. I may entirely be wrong hence I wanted to know what others thought before I based my final opinion.
maybe because we believe and know as Muslims that Islam is the complete form and the final version of all the previous religions and the Divine Books revealed to the Prophets before our Holy Prophet (SAW) .
**"This day have I perfected for you your religion and completed My favor on you and chosen for you Islam as a religion" 5:3 **
That's where the difference lies b/w Islam and other religions. For the Christians Hindus etc..religion is just confined to visiting the church/mandir once a week..gathering together for occasions like Easter, Christmas Diwali etc. Religion has no role in a person's daily life and his interaction with people.
Our religion starts with Huqooq Allah and continues with Huqooq ul Ibaad. We are connected to each other via Islam. It's a complete code of life. It has teachings governing every aspect of life from marriage to family to neighbours and friends. I don't want to start a religious debate here...
So in short ...if any person from one's immediate family would want to convert or leave Islam ...that would affect everyone.. call it due to our society's close family relations. the impact of elders' decisions on us ..or mostly because of the over all encompassing nature of Islam ... it does make a person a total outcast in our society if he/she converts
I doubt any parents would grin with happiness if their little angel committed murder or something. That does not mean their love was fake but that they are disappointed for obvious reasons. In the same way, if people disapprove of a family member turning their back to Islam, that is understandable since religion is quite a sensitive issue. You cannot question their love and loyalty in this situation. NONE of my Irish friends are practising Catholics, they're mostly atheists, so their parents couldn't care less if they converted to Islam or Hinduism or whatever. It is different in muslim households where namaaz is offered 5 times a day. Those people are very much in touch with their religion and so the hurt, if their child rejected Allah swt, would be huge, as expected.
Speaking outside of the context of religion, I would disagree that desi (immediate) family bonds are easily altered. I know of a 50-something year old drug addict who has done nothing but cause pain to his family all his life but they put up with all his BS because that's what families do, so I was told. If this was an Irish family, the dude would've long been kicked out of the house.
agreed with ur post fully......and then now you will have another 'charge' against desi society that people don't standup for their rights and tolerate abuse because desi are too stupid and worry about 'log kya kahain gey'....... so whatever you say......it all boils down to what i said in my 1st post....
There are things which are very serious...and can cause even the 'close bonds' to break..... religion is important to us... other things for other societies.....
agreed with ur post fully......and then now you will have another 'charge' against desi society that people don't standup for their rights and tolerate abuse because desi are too stupid and worry about 'log kya kahain gey'....... so whatever you say......it all boils down to what i said in my 1st post....
Kuch tau laug kahein ge, laugon ka tau kaam hai kehna :p
I doubt any parents would grin with happiness if their little angel committed murder or something. That does not mean their love was fake but that they are disappointed for obvious reasons. In the same way, if people disapprove of a family member turning their back to Islam, that is understandable since religion is quite a sensitive issue. You cannot question their love and loyalty in this situation. NONE of my Irish friends are practising Catholics, they're mostly atheists, so their parents couldn't care less if they converted to Islam or Hinduism or whatever. It is different in muslim households where namaaz is offered 5 times a day. Those people are very much in touch with their religion and so the hurt, if their child rejected Allah swt, would be huge, as expected.
i agree.
the bold part however, same could be said about some muslims too, in fact anybody else. breaking bonds within family and disowning them is not limited to religion.