Our Prophet (PBUH) food habits

Vinegar:
A food Prophet Muhammad (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) used to eat with olive oil. [That’s now a fashion in expensive Italian Restaurants]

Milk:
The Prophet (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) said that milk wipes away heat from the heart just as the finger wipes away sweat from the brow. It strengthens the back, improved the brain, renews vision and drives away forgetfulness.

Honey:
Considered to be the best remedy for diarrhoea when mixed in hot water. It is the food of foods, drink of drinks and drug of drugs. It is used for creating appetite, strengthening the stomach, eliminating phlegm; as a meat preservative, hair conditioner, eye salve and mouthwash. It is extremely beneficial in the morning in warm water and is also a Sunnah.

Olive oil:
Excellent treatment for skin and hair, delays old age, and treats inflammation of the stomach.

Mushroom:
The Prophet (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) said that mushroom is a good cure for the eyes, it also serves as a form of birth control and arrests paralysis.

Grapes:
The Prophet (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) was very fond of grapes - it purifies the blood, provides vigour and health, strengthens the kidneys and clears the bowels.

Dates:
The Prophet (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) said that a house without dates has no food and also to be eaten at the time of childbirth.

Figs:
It is a fruit from paradise and a cure for piles.

Barley:
Good for fever in a soup form.

Melon:
The Prophet (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) said: “None of your women who are pregnant and eat of water melon will fail to produce off spring who are good in countenance and good in character.”

Pomegranate:
The Prophet (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) said it cleanses you of Satan and evil aspirations for 40 days.

Water:
The Prophet (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) said the best drink in this world and the next is water, when you are thirsty drink it by sips and not gulps, gulping produces sickness of the liver.

So praise be to our beloved Nabi (Sal Allaho Alaiyhe Wa Sallam) who related us with marvelous knowledge which dazzles the wisest minds. May this information be beneficial to all of us Insha’Allah.

Re: Our Prophet (PBUH) food habits

^ :jazak:

Prophet's (PBUH) Wisdom always enlightens!

Thanks!

What about kaddu? I always heard that was his (PBUH) favorite vegetable. Not sure if it is correctly translated to pumpkin or Butternut winter squash.

I think it was Turai (or Turi) closely related to Kaddu..

So Prophet Mohammed advocated a vegetarian diet. Am I right in assuming that ?

great information...thanks for sharing.

I don't think so. Prophet was neither a vegetarian nor advocated a strict vegetarian diet. He lived a very simple life and meat dishes were expensive items. But over all Islam has emphasized that those things that are halaal to eat are halaal to eat - and this includes many kinds of meats. However, every thing should be eaten in moderate quantities as excess of any thing is bad.

If you and I are talking about the same turi, then it is very different than kaddu. And I am positive I heard a lot of good things about kaddu, and not so much about turi. Of course, I am sure turi is a fantastic vegetable in its own right, just as bhindi and karela and teenday are too.

exactly ....some people will mislead others by this thread

What is the difference between halal and haram ? haram means prohibition ?

Yes faisal bhai...you are right..our beloved prophet(pbuh) favourite vegetable was kaddu ....or Ghiyya... it is green with a little tail...one sahabi narrates that one ansari gave a feast to prophet(pbuh) and e and he gave us kaddu gosht and i saw prophet(pbuh) was finding piecesof kaddu with hands in plate ..from that day ..i love eating kaddu...infact this is one of the most nutrious vegetable of the world....brain tonic....specially used for brain weakness and headache and physical weakness...It is one o the coolest vegetable in the world......so peope having heat in thier liver nd stomach can eat this to end heat in just 2 weeks... ...specially when it is cooked with meat ...its importance increases greatly.....itsmthai s als ad..hit cytal lk atha ..very delicious..its halwa is made for brain weakness......its sharbat is also rink to increase memory.....best for fever .heat in body.when there is more thirst feel by someone...lips colour change due to heat ....angry nature and weakness etc etc....

yes, haram means 'unlawful'

And to brother halla gulla..prophet(pbuh) ate both vegetabes and meat as these things are made for man to eat and thank his Allah...prophet(pbuh) said that meat is the king of all foods in this world and in jannah....infat yaar when you are feeling so hungry while having a tour of Old Delhi historial places..... ..andif in a restaurant plate of Nihaari of **Chandni chowk **or **Pahar ganj **in delhi and Tanduuri rotian comes in front of one wants to say salam to Aaloo Bhajji from miles ...kiya kyal hai ?

Or if a Biryani of Mumbai comes in front of me..truly i cannot control myself......

Turi and Kaddu are from the same family of plants - Cucerbitace! So are Karela, melon and pumpkin!

One should note that the emphasis was not on meat - although it is halal! Pakistan's comsumption of meat is less than 5 kg per person per annum as compared to the USA' of 80 kg.

There's also a very bad misconception about cow's meat in Pakistan especially in Lahore and punjab. It is considered unhealthy as compared to the goat meat!

But the facts around the world speak otherwise. Most of the people in the world eat cow's meat and then comes chicken. The most healthy nations eat cow's milk! Our central asian brothers - their atheletes are far more stronger and healthier than ours. They win more golds at international competitions! They all go for cow and sheep!

Even in our country, the most healthy people are from the NWFP, they eat cow and buffalo meat!

Slurp Slurp...:) .

Food habits/preferences evolved depending upon what was locally available to people during ancient times.

You can't expect Eskimos to survive on kaddu, bhindi or tinda they need meat/sea food.

And do not forget our hakeems! If you go to them for any diease, the first thing they will ask you to stop eating would be cow's meat and rice!