Each week we will choose a member and prepare a perfect menu for dawat for them End of the week the guest will tell us whose menu they liked the most:@:
This weeks dawat invite is being extended to our CM, Niksik. Lets plan a mind blowing menu for her
Ok so here goes my menu, because I can only just about cook desi food so its a desi menu
Starter in the plate : One 2x2 square Chicken breast piece placed on a tiny bed of Green salad leaves , Chicken stir fried using garlic, mustard sauce, mayo and cream and ofcourse herbs. Sauce decoration : tiny drops each of chilli sauce and mint sauce
Grill Platter :
thick and juicy Seekh kababs on a bed of Onions and salad mixed in little tahina sauce
Chicken drumsticks roasted in Jamaican spice ( not too hot though)
The platter decorated by French Fries in the middle.
Salad:
Caesar Salad with chicken chunks
Coleslaw
Main Course :
Serving Platter that is half full of vegetable fried rice and the other half full of Chicken Chilli
Koftay
Lamb Karahi
Channa daal
Fish masala
Served with a choice of garlic naan or plain naan
Dessert :
Zarda ( yellow zarda in the middle of the platter , then green zarda around it , finally orange zarda around the green one ) served with Cream
ok becuase i am nazuk and i get tired quickly i will make whatver i can cook best
juice to begin with.
Salads:
this salad my mom makes with olive oil and vinegar.chop tomatoes,cucumber ,cabbage and carrots .season it with salt, black pepper, chilly sause , olive oil and vinegar.
dahi aur zeeray ka raita.
aam ki chatni.
Main dishes:
Koftay
fish
matar ke chawal
achar chicken
tikka.
On entrance, the butler, Mr Maroush, will take Niksik's coat and escort her to the lounge. A selection of mocktails will be served and my daughters will perform a modern rendition of "chitti aye hai" whilst i'm running around like a headless chicken in the kitchen, pretending to know what i'm doing.
Amuse bouche
Grilled scallops with red chilli, parmesan and thyme butter
Starter
Blue cheese and potato soup with garlic butter wafers
Main Course
Cannon of lamb, wild mushroom couscous, gremolata, soused tomatoes
Cheeseboard
Camembert, reblochon, asiago, roquefort and chevre
Grapes, apples, tomatoes, kalamata olives, pickled artichoke hearts, figs, roasted walnuts and macadamias
Sourdough bread, cracked black pepper biscuits, water biscuits
Dessert
Valrhona chocolate fondant, popcorn and raspberries, creme fraiche sorbet
And if you have any room left, i'd get Mr Maroush to make you a cup of doodh patti....then we can play with the Wii!!! :D
Nikki…I will not just end the meal with chai. Oh no, not I.
I, being the proper hostess that I am, and ALWAYS keeping your comfort…and lady-like reputation in mind…will serve you very beneficial amuse bouches…in the form of Tums and Gas-x tablets …nestled in delicate fluted paper cups (the kind that house trouffles)…at the end of my elaborate 3-course meal (which I have yet to share). Think of them as little palette cleansers…or life-savers (pun on the hard candy) if you will.
It’s hard to find such thoughtfulness everywhere.
***** Mind you…I’ll even turn a blind eye to you stealing my silverware. I’ll pretend it never happened. It’ll be our little secret. Oh the things I do for you, Nikki…the things I do for you. :hinna:
The can I have something more substantial now course;
Shahi Kebab.
Paneer pakore.
The *can we stop with the street food, already *course;
Sarso ka saag
Makhi di roti
Amb da achaar
Lassi di glassi.
Hari mirch, Onion salad. optional.
The oh noes my tongue is suffering from the hari mirch course;
Garma garam jalebis
Gulab jamuns with homemade vanilla ice cream or chai.
Niksik, please note; I am relatively new to the achaar making process, so taste at your own risk.
**At some point in the evening I will likely offer to sing. It is in your best interests to decline.
** If I get the harmonica out, run. Unless, of course, you want to spend the evening listening to tunes from The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.