Why do us girls insist on going to high-name places for makeup? i was insisting to go to an expensive salon but was assured by a relative that they will take me someplace nice. In 600 rs ( in 2006) i had everything done on time, and only had my sis and cousin in the salon with me at that time. It was most relaxing time of my wedding day. You don't need an expensive place, just a good artist.
OMG, thats terrible, i have already booked sonia,and they asked me to come at 4:30 , what am i supposed to do now:(, this assembly line thing is so insane!!
kisi ki b reputation 100% positive nahi hai … 100 to door ki baat .. not even 70% ..
now wonder so many threads pop up regarding which one to opt for … all of them are just weird
I had my makeup and hair done by a beautician in mirpur who came to my house on my wedding day, she was gonna do the whole boothni type makeup but i said NO WAY!!
I had took my own make-up from UK and told her to use that, and thank god
it turned out good, and i was happy. We paid her 4,000 rupees!!! yes 4,000!! this is back in 2002 and that included hair, makeup, jewellry and duppatta setting and mehndi on both hands and feet!!
But all experiences that u ppl have had are sooo shocking!! it gets me thinking why us girls dont start doing our own make up, we most likely will do much better than the bhootni look they give us, all it needs is a bit of practice!! :)
You know, it's kind of a relief to read these stories. Not that I'm happy that people had these horrid experiences, but because I too had one these nightmarish experiences in Pindi and lost my temper...in fact, I raised my voice, something I never do. Almost 2 years later and I still felt bad about it...until today. They were rude, overbearing, and insulting. I refuse to feel bad about it anymore.
I had my makeup and hair done by a beautician in mirpur who came to my house on my wedding day, she was gonna do the whole boothni type makeup but i said NO WAY!!
I had took my own make-up from UK and told her to use that, and thank god
it turned out good, and i was happy. We paid her 4,000 rupees!!! yes 4,000!! this is back in 2002 and that included hair, makeup, jewellry and duppatta setting and mehndi on both hands and feet!!
But all experiences that u ppl have had are sooo shocking!!** it gets me thinking why us girls dont start doing our own make up, we most likely will do much better than the bhootni look they give us, all it needs is a bit of practice!!** :)
**exactly! totally agree.
my appa did her own make-up on her wedding days and everyone thought she looked stunning! even i was shocked how gorgeous she turned out as she looked so natural as well. mum pinned her dupatta up etc. everyone literally kept asking her to stop lying/ hiding info and tell them who the god damn MUA was! it was so funny! no one would believe us.
i will do just that on my own wedding day and get appa to do my make-up for me.
did anyone have a recen experience at sabs for bridal makeup...do share...God its so confusing...some say sabs is the best..and this post says a whole different story...is it that bad?what about allenora?
Well... My friend JUST got back from Pakistan and she was telling me about her experience at Sabs. She noticed that if they know that you are from abroad, you get better, much better service.
More so, after reading this thread, I asked her if Saba even did her make-up or just her eyes or what not and guess what?? Saba did her ENTIRE make-up. She even did her dupatta setting and took pics and everything.
But, I'm assuming that people who come to her salon that are from abroad get special treatment or maybe my friend just got really lucky. Who knows...
my appa did her own make-up on her wedding days and everyone thought she looked stunning! even i was shocked how gorgeous she turned out as she looked so natural as well. mum pinned her dupatta up etc. everyone literally kept asking her to stop lying/ hiding info and tell them who the god damn MUA was! it was so funny! no one would believe us.
i will do just that on my own wedding day and get appa to do my make-up for me.
Awe :) That is awesome!
There are so many girls with talent with makeup now a days (proof is in the eyemakeup/makeup stick thread in the beauty section).... or know someone that is super talented. We should take advantage of this!!
I think the most disheartening thing about this thread is reading about girl's who are not being given VIP treatment on THEIR day. It's a stressful day to begin with.. and a dulhan should be completely relaxed and getting pampered when she is getting all done up. And they should be satisfied with the end results!! It's so sad to hear of people being dissatisfied with their makeup and overall look on such important events of their lives. :(
I live in the middle of nowhere and so when I had my engagement (taken place at my house) a month ago, I opted to do my makeup and hair myself. I got my nails done the night before and my friend helped me put on my jewelery and set my dupatta. I think considering how little money we spent...and HOW stress free this whole process was ... it was worth it. I luved having so much control on how my makeup looked. I got a lot of compliments from anyone that saw my pics. My susraal family refused to believe that I did my makeup myself (my SIL had gotten engaged a year earlier and spent $800 on a MUA .... the overall end result was not impressive at all).
Unless I randomly find a very talented MUA in my area and set up a TRIAL WITH HER FIRST .... i will probably be doing my own makeup for my shaadi as well iA.
someone should print out these threads with reviews and take them to these salons......
some constructive criticism may help.
I've been a victim in the past.....and when I spoke up I was promptly put in my place, moved from in front of the mirror and made to look like a Japanese Geisha.
I went home and washed my face......cried about the wasted time rather than the money and kicked myself for not being my regular demand-my-money's-worth self.
The way with these people is definitely to put them in their place. They aren't doing anything for free, it's a paid service and you deserve what you want.
sounds like what happened to me at Shamain! i was waiting from 3 and didnt get done till 10! imagine that!!! plus on top of that yes i was looking like a bhootni
The abroad comment is so untrue. Makeup was indeed amazing at Sab's, I loved it!! But definitely an assembly line, and man it takes forever!! i went a few days before my wedding make up done, and for services it took about 6 hours, of which I guess 5 were done waiting. Wait to get a pedi, then wait for a mani, then wait for a facial, wait some more for waxing, etc. etc. etc.
If Saba wants to cater to 20 brides in one day, well she needs to expand her business. Start with the facilities. It can get very congested. I was there in December too, and I went thru the same thing. If I didn't end up liking my makeup at the end, I would've been a very unhappy camper.
You're really supposed to be relaxed on your wedding day, or when you go in for services. You get everything but that and/or peace of mind at Sab's.
my cousin just got married and went to SABS, it was seriously just AWFUL… :no: for her mehndi, I think she had them do formal makeup and that looked good, but the bridal makeup for both shaadi and valima looked absolutely horrible. I mean, it seems like Sabs has a standard format and they probably just followed the same old script for my cousin as well, but it didn’t suit her features. The heavy eyeshadow made her beautiful big eyes look small and slanty, the foundation was heavy, cakey and sometimes looked oily. It just might look better in professional pictures than it did in regular old camera shots, but personally, I would want my makeup to look good everywhere.
Some people might like the whole overdone, cover of akbar e jahan sabs/allenora look, but ewww…seriously! i think good bridal makeup should enhance your features, make you look beautiful, but still not change your features to the point where you don’t even look like the same person. I couldnt even tell this was my cousin in the pictures
gals i'm all scared with these comments....i dunno whom to go for Saba/sonia at Sabs or Bushra at Nabila's or Laiqa Hassan or Rukhsana at Cistre(sheraton). plzzzzzzzzzzz help me, i am new to all of this with hardly 2 months left for my wedding....
i think pakistani salons are very inconsistent, my friend got her makeup done from Sabs (I forgot the name of the MUA) on her engagement and it was gorgeous, and she went to the EXACT same MUA on her wedding day 8 months later and she totally messed up her makeup!!
her eyeshadow looked absolutely crap, wasn't a nice colour nor was it blended in properly!
i'm going to meet aliya tipu at @ allenora next week in khi, will let you know how it goes! i was going to see Sabs but I'm only there 3 days and I don't want to waste time with them!!
I second everything MIAinVA mentioned.. Please don't even think of going there in shadi season or on weekends.. I counted atleast 30 brides on my valima day which was on Saturday. The base was horrible.. i repeatedly asked both Sonia and Saba to tone it down but they kept on saying that it will settle in couple of hours (it hardly did.. thus i had that bhootni look through out the function). Extended eyeliner on the inner edge of lower rim gave very sharp and unnatural look. And as everyone else has mentioned.. their behavior is very unfriendly and non professional! I would never recommend SABS to any bride..!!
Fatima.. i loved Rukhsana @ Cistre.. My experience was very good and so was the experience of three other friends of mine. They would treat you the way you'd like to be treated on your big day! Ohh and I remember her using NARS, Bobbibrown, Clinique and MAC (If you are concerned about the products she uses). Bushra @ Nabila is also good.
Samorani, it's a late reply for your post but for Bina khan.. She starts from 3 or 4 PM then she has slots of two hours like 3 to 5 then 5 to 7 and last 7 to 9. She books no more than 2 brides for each slot. This was in summers last year, i don't know if she made any changes to it.
gals i'm all scared with these comments....i dunno whom to go for Saba/sonia at Sabs or Bushra at Nabila's or Laiqa Hassan or Rukhsana at Cistre(sheraton). plzzzzzzzzzzz help me, i am new to all of this with hardly 2 months left for my wedding....
definitely either Bushra at Nabila's or Rukhsana at Cistre. Wouldnt recommend Sabs to anyone....ok well, maybe ONLY to my worst enemy.
Fatima, Cistre doesnt have a very updated portfolio but the brides I've seen from there who are more recent have looked stunning. Same goes for Bushra or Altaf brides from Nabilas.
sourskittle, allenora is pretty inconsistent too. some of the prettiest brides ive seen have been from there, and the worst of the worst have been too. make a shortlist of MUAs that you need to see....if you've seen proof that Sabs can do a bad job, why waste your time or try your luck on the biggest day of your life? Try to go to a MUA who you havent heard horror stories about. My first recommendation would be Mubashir, but he's pricier than the salons you're mentioning. If thats an issue, Nabilas, Cistre, and Bina Khan are all good options. I would try to go for a salon that tends to go more natural than over the top, because the worst you'll hear with the first is "oh her makeup wasnt bridal enough" and you wont have a problem not looking like a bride bc of your jora, but when the makeup is too much, there is really no saving it.