definitely either Bushra at Nabila's or Rukhsana at Cistre. Wouldnt recommend Sabs to anyone....ok well, maybe ONLY to my worst enemy.
sourskittle, allenora is pretty inconsistent too. some of the prettiest brides ive seen have been from there, and the worst of the worst have been too. make a shortlist of MUAs that you need to see....if you've seen proof that Sabs can do a bad job, why waste your time or try your luck on the biggest day of your life? Try to go to a MUA who you havent heard horror stories about. My first recommendation would be Mubashir, but he's pricier than the salons you're mentioning. If thats an issue, Nabilas, Cistre, and Bina Khan are all good options. I would try to go for a salon that tends to go more natural than over the top, because the worst you'll hear with the first is "oh her makeup wasnt bridal enough" and you wont have a problem not looking like a bride bc of your jora, but when the makeup is too much, there is really no saving it.
thanks fasaadi!!
i'm looking into shamain right now, i don't mind paying more for makeup because it's really important.. i wont go to Mubashir only cos i dont want a guy to do my makeup, so shamain seems like a good option...
Thanks a billion FASAADI and SANAAD. I am going for Nabila's / Cistre's Inshallah. Problem is that I am in UAE right now and would be landing in KHI only 2 wks before my big day. Anybody knows how much advance do they ask for and latest till when do i have to finalize the booking? U have any idea of the rates çoz 18-20K is kinda a little too expensive for me (my father recently passed away and no earning member in family). Do the Nabila / Cistre people agree to bargaining and if yes, then how far can i go in making the charges lesser?
It's so sad to hear about all your guys stories. Thank God we didn't have that experience. My sister got married last summer and she went to New Look in Lahore. I highly recommend them, esp if you are from abroad. We went from the States. My sister got bridal makeup for Barat and Walima and my younger sister and I got party makeup for both days. We were really HAPPY. The entire time we were there, there were only two other brides but that was due to the fact that we went during the day. There was a senior MUA who only did brides. She did my sister's makeup start to finish. The manager kept stopping by to ask my sister if she was satisfied, and she called her by her name. They also have a juice bar in the salon and you can order whatever you like for free. the MUA took her time to do the makeup. my sis's outfit was red and mustard, so the MUA first applied gold lipstick and asked her what she thought about it she also asked me. we didn't like the color so she then applied red lipstick and it looked gorgeous. she really knew her stuff and she was really nice. She wasn't stuck up or anything. We talked to her in punjabi the whole time. Our party makeup was done by a junior MUA and it was amazing. We aren't into the whole OTT makeup so we were really pleased. Our base matched our skin tones perfectly.
Please if you haven't booked a MUA, you guys should consider them. The salon was very posh, we saw couple of celebrities getting facials and stuff. There was no such thing as an assembly line. We truly got our money's worth. Everyone at the wedding complimented the makeup and it turned out amazing in pics too.
Could anybody plz guide me how IRENE, the MUA at SABS does the bridal makeover, i mean is she an expert in traditional or model makeup? Kindly give your reviews whosoever has had a makeover from her, also it would be great if anybody has her portfolio to put up here.....urgent help needed, am getting married in 2 wks time and need to finalize my parlor booking...thanks
Hi girls.. I am really sorry for your experiences.. it makes me really confused and sad.. I am planning my wedding in January 2014, and I am planning to go to allenora karachi...only for barat bridal makeup could any one please guide me if it is the right choice an also for the prices.. I am currently in australia and since I have to afford for all my expenses i cant actually ask my family members to go individually.. I would really appreciate for your help..
HI everyone. i know i am replying late to this thread but i did get my bridal makeup done by saba and it was in december 2009 and belive me when i got there i went upstairs and i didn't know that we had to sign in cuz no one told me so i was waiting there in a line for about 2 hours, seeing that girls are goin and getting their make up done even though they came after me, so after finding out i signed my name and waited in line. Everyone's hair, eyes, foundation, lips, eye lashes everything was being done by different ppl. i went at 3 pm and got done by 9:30 and belive me girls my barat was on the way. Saba was the rudest person ever, she was more into answering her phone calls than the brides. Everyone was waiting in line, girls were crying and they had to sit on the floor for their turn. I remember this really sweet shy girl, it was her engagement and saba refused to do her make up cuz the poor young girl didn't do her eyebrows, Saba told her unless she gets her eyebrows done she won't do her makeup. The girl and her old mother was crying in tears outside so i passed by and asked the lady if she was okay, and her mom told me that her daughter had never done her eyebrows and that she wanted to do her eyebrows on her wedding day which i totally understood, When i met the girl, she was so beautiful and so very young and belive me her eye brows did not look bad at all but saba refused and had told her to leave if she wanted to. Well i talked to her mother and told her that it was too late to go to another salon so just get her eyebrows done, she got her eyebrows done but the girl didn't stop crying. Well i myself had a fight with saba because i didn't know i had to sign in since it was my first time getting my makeup done in pakistan. So waiting in line for 6 hours i refused to get my makeup done by her so instead i got my makeup done by this other girl whose name i don't remember. But she did an amazing job. My makeup looked wayyyyy better than the brides by saba, Saba gave everyone this weird smokey eyes, but the other MUA didn an amazing job with me. She knew i have been waiting doe 6 hours so she did all my makeup without me moving from girl to girl. I was so pleased with her that i came the next day and got my walima makeup from her as well.
I felt really bad for all the brides, that should have been one of the happiest days of our lives but Saba ruined it for all of us. Till today when i see her face on tv i start cursing her out and i will never ever go to her salon. I heard the girl who did my makeup had left her salon, and i will definitely go to her as my SIL knows where she moved to. Saba thinks she is all that but she has forgotten that her salon is running is cuz of ppl like us.
Hands down worst makeup artist ever
i am getting married in januray 2014........i have decided to go to cistres(rukhsana) for my Barat....i havent visited them yet...they have called me to come on 23 november to see a live bride by rukhsana....
I had an amazing amazing experience I got married in December 2012 with Qadir for mehndi makeup and Saba for baraat and walima nd I had my sisters accompanied for party makeup 5 each day few went to Yasmine and few to Qadir .. Everything from makeup to hairstyling to a good environment all was perfect .. Infact as a bride I was given special treatment in shape of refreshments I was given all three days..
guls it doesn't matter if it is an assembly line or two three brides per Day salon or if you are Foreigner nothing matters I went to Anam for my nikah makeup trust me it wasn't good and imagine my simple husband prayed for it that I should not be looking like the way I had looked on my nikah.. I have seen brides from Anam bina khan and honestly I l say sabs is the best..
HI everyone. i know i am replying late to this thread but i did get my bridal makeup done by saba and it was in december 2009 and belive me when i got there i went upstairs and i didn't know that we had to sign in cuz no one told me so i was waiting there in a line for about 2 hours, seeing that girls are goin and getting their make up done even though they came after me, so after finding out i signed my name and waited in line. Everyone's hair, eyes, foundation, lips, eye lashes everything was being done by different ppl. i went at 3 pm and got done by 9:30 and belive me girls my barat was on the way. Saba was the rudest person ever, she was more into answering her phone calls than the brides. Everyone was waiting in line, girls were crying and they had to sit on the floor for their turn. I remember this really sweet shy girl, it was her engagement and saba refused to do her make up cuz the poor young girl didn't do her eyebrows, Saba told her unless she gets her eyebrows done she won't do her makeup. The girl and her old mother was crying in tears outside so i passed by and asked the lady if she was okay, and her mom told me that her daughter had never done her eyebrows and that she wanted to do her eyebrows on her wedding day which i totally understood, When i met the girl, she was so beautiful and so very young and belive me her eye brows did not look bad at all but saba refused and had told her to leave if she wanted to. Well i talked to her mother and told her that it was too late to go to another salon so just get her eyebrows done, she got her eyebrows done but the girl didn't stop crying. Well i myself had a fight with saba because i didn't know i had to sign in since it was my first time getting my makeup done in pakistan. So waiting in line for 6 hours i refused to get my makeup done by her so instead i got my makeup done by this other girl whose name i don't remember. But she did an amazing job. My makeup looked wayyyyy better than the brides by saba, Saba gave everyone this weird smokey eyes, but the other MUA didn an amazing job with me. She knew i have been waiting doe 6 hours so she did all my makeup without me moving from girl to girl. I was so pleased with her that i came the next day and got my walima makeup from her as well.
I felt really bad for all the brides, that should have been one of the happiest days of our lives but Saba ruined it for all of us. Till today when i see her face on tv i start cursing her out and i will never ever go to her salon. I heard the girl who did my makeup had left her salon, and i will definitely go to her as my SIL knows where she moved to. Saba thinks she is all that but she has forgotten that her salon is running is cuz of ppl like us.
Hands down worst makeup artist ever
ive heard similar stories abt this womans behavior, shes all botoxed up, can barely speak or move her mouth, thinks shes all that because of getting contracts and doing makeup on celebrities and models during fashion shows. such high headed people need to be shown the hand, theres plenty of parlors in khi with better service like ANAM FALAK, NATASHAS, sabas makes u look cartoonish anyways so avoid her!!
Its funny when I went to Sabs for my makeup I also met a girl who hadnt done her eyebrows and Saba made a spectacle of her by pointing out the fact that she wouldnt do her make up without eyebrow grooming. I will never forget the look of humiliation on that brides face. Saba just stared at her and shook her head very slowly and said she doesnt do make up on girls with ungroomed eyebrows. I mean the situation could have been handled in private too not infront of a 100 people. She does good makeup but the attitude is intolerable.