Deciding a menu is toughest part of any event most of the time. Lets put up lists of menu’s for breakfast/lunch/dinner parties here so that anyone hosting a party/cooking for guests at homes can have a quick idea. We’ll make it sticky once we have a good collection ![]()
Re: Our Daawat Tables-MENU IDEAS
menu for chai for few guests (a couple with two kids) who invited themselves on a two hour notice :
-fried chicken cheese balls
-pasta with veggies in red sauce (I had layered it for a nicer presentation but my son decided to mix it up thinking I forgot to do it :smack: )
-pita bread ki chaat (own recipe)
-fried chicken wings in honey-sesame sauce
-chai/coffee
-homemade vanilla cake slices(baked it yesterday)
Proto I need to invite myself to your home
you are a wonderful host and your menus make my mouth water. Yum
That’s very impressive for a 2-hour notice!
Since I’m a novice at cooking, I’ve made a small list of dishes that I’ve had success with in the past that I can use to compose menus for dinners. I’m hoping the list of successful dishes grows so that I can have more options.
Breakfast Menu
Cholay ka salan
Aalo ki tarkari
Sooji ka halwa
Pooriyan
chicken bread
chicken sandwich
Aalo Kay parathay
Besan ki roti with chutney aur achar
Dessert Ideas
Trifle
Kheer
Rus Malai
Gulab Jaman
Chanay ki daal ka halwa
Loki ka halwa
Gajar ka halwa
Anday ka halwa
Choharay ka halwa
Akhrot ka halwa
Burfi
Qalaqand
Lab e sheereen
My mum and dad, brothers and sisters came yesterday.
i made:
daal
butter chicken
roti/salad
pizza
pudding cake
I’m going to keep an eye on this thread. I am always on the lookout for well balanced desi menus that can be easily prepared and guests enjoy as well. This is what I have done in the past
Desi breakfast & Dessert
Poori
Halwa
Aaloo tarkari
Channey
Dum qeema
Chicken karahi
Tea cakes
Lunch :
Chicken tamatar pulao
Meat qorma
Beef seekh kebab
Chicken malai boti
Zeera aaloo
Palak paneer
Dessert : sewaiyyon ka zarda & dulce de leche cheesecake
I am planning a hi-tea at my place and here is what I am going to prepare everything myself except the cream or jelly.
Some might feel it’s a lot of food but boys are also invited to this party hence keeping the variety and quantity in mind ![]()
Main staples:
Assorted teas (chamomile, black tea, earl grey, lemon & ginger, peppermint) I might even do our authentic masala tea with cinnamon/ilaichi
Clotted cream
Jelly
Now for the actual food part
Scones
Mini cucumber/dill cream cheese sandwiches
Mini beef puff pastries
Greek meatballs (with taziki yogurt sauce)
Croissant with chicken salad
Coconut shrimps
Mini egg/spinach/cheese muffins
Baked brie (served with crackers)
Fruits kebabs (watermelon, grapes, pineapples)
Chocolocate covered strawberries
keep them coming girls !!
I am hosting a dinner party for about 13 people plus few kids in a few days.Because of the taste of the guests invited it had to be a typical desi menu.
Appetizers:Still not decided.
Dinner:
Chicken korma
Goat Karahi
Karahi koftas or plain qeema (not decided yet)
Chana masala
Chicken roast with fries (hopefully would be a hit with the kids)
Potato & fish cutlets
Matar pulao
Salad (probably just a garden salad)
raita (or dahi boondi)
naan
Desserts:
Khattichic’s Lemon triple berry trifle and store bought gulab jaman
All followed by Kashmiri chai.
gosh - i dont understand the lengthy dinner menus! why not just one or two dishes and keep it simple…
Royal gala i like the high tea menu!
The desi breakfast above is just a heart attack of a plate! This is what i normally host:
Breakfast:
Mixed fruit platter
pancakes
Eggs/brown bread
pastries
Dinner:
Lamb Tagine
minty couscous
a big feta salad
Proto, plz share pitta bread chaat recipe plz
I still remember the first dinner I arranged , the menu was
dhai bhaly and vegie rolls in appetizer
main course:
chicken karhai
lassania
vegie pilau
fried fish
kebab platter
bean salad
vegie salad
fruit salad
dessert
ras malai n trifle
and then green tea
Our Daawat Tables-MENU IDEAS
Wow! Elaborate menus. prototype recipes please for pita chat and recipes.
I started to keep several types of samosas and kababs in freezer. So when last minute guests come I just have to fry or bake.
the freezer is a great tool. I used to cook everything the night before a party. actually the menu would be decided on what was on sale in the supermarket. This was doable when the guest list was small upto 15 people. With a larger crowd I usually cook some items and cater the others. So it’s a mix and match deal. Organization is the key…which I still have not mastered. One day inshallah! Binte Naeem had posted some great ideas a couple of years ago on how she cooked for 150 people for daughters 1st bday. One important note is to know the taste of the guests. Some guests just don’t like continental cuisine or desi cuisine. So sometimes kofta Salan is fail with a certain crowd. It’s also important to have proper estimate of how much food is required. Too much food - the cleanup is difficult.
It depends upon ur choice and energy plus the number of guests, with more guests one want to have variety so the quantity does not become issue too
we sooooo badly need an easily accessible recipe portal in here!
Here are the menus from my last two dawats.
Dawat 1:
Chapli kebabs
Chaat cups
Tandoori chicken
Gosht kali mirch
Keema Biryani
Masala Chana Daal
Salad
Chutney
Naans
Ras Malai
Drinks: desi tea & mocktails
DAWAT 2: My little girls 3rd Birthday
Kids:
southern fried chips
chicken nuggets and strips
Chicken and cheeseballs
cheese and tomato pizza
keema pasta
Mexican: for adults
Chili con carne with the following: pasta, torilla chips, chips, cheese, sour cream, diced tomatoes, jalapenos and sliced radishes.
Drinks: mocktails by the pitcher!
Desserts table:
macaroons
Birthday cake
cake pops
push up cake pops
mini cupcakes
large cupcakes
It was great.
What is this gosht kali mirch? I’m intrigued. Do you have any pics?
New menu I came across very simple and satisfying :
Chicken curry
Matar pulao
Nihari
Naan
Simple salad
Mint and yoghurt chutney
Desserts :
Trifle (cake, custard , jelly )
Kheer