I think I could say that on behalf of many if not all non-PTIans of GS that we have zero issue with Imran Khan. I think he is a nice and decent guy, his policies and thought process maybe questionable, but he is not corrupt, and not robbing the people of Pakistan.
Having said that, our issue with you pti supporters is when you guys start treating him like God - Oh he can not do or say anything wrong, and how dare you said that his potty also smells like common human beings. Honestly, you guys remind me of dense headed supporters of mqm who treat AH like a God.
IK is/was a good change. He failed to deliver, only because he over promised. Just like Obama was criticized badly, even by democrats, for blaming it on previous govt performance, when he could not deliver after one year - Imran should also stop talking about election rigging and move on. During Chief justice support campaign, IK painted Iftikhar as the symbol of hope, and six years later, blaming the same guy for not executing transperent election. If nothing else, it shows that Imran is bad in judging people and has a failed mindset of enemy of my enemy is my friend. He supported iftikhar because of his dushmani with Musharraf, he supported taliban because of their dushmani with USA, and supported jui and ji because of their dushmani with MQM. Hope you see the pattern here.
So my dear pti supporters, give your leader and your party another objective look, and figure out how you can add value and make Pakistan a better country.
[QUOTE] Oh he can not do or say anything wrong
I agree. This is a dangerous mentality to have. When people cannot criticise their leaders then we get cults and well the reason, or one of the reasons, for the state of Pakistan is blind hero worship.
I like Imran, my family voted for him but there should be a process of self-criticism. His recent gaffes have not been because he's corrupt, but due to his shocking naivety as to how the system works. But this has to be acknowledged, if its not then even he will think he's a God who can do no wrong.
This is what the Modi fans are doing in India, treating him like God. You can't say a word which is slightly negative or you'll get aloo ki bhujia thrown all over your face :( (I'm talking from experience...and the bhujia wasn't even yummy)
This is our problem niks. Our leaders become our God. I was a big mqm supporter once, but when I realized on GS and FB that mqm supporters started treating him like God then I moved away.
All together there are probably just 10-12 regular posters in PA, and from those 10-12 members, maybe just 5-6 of them are PTI supporters, and from those 5-6 posters, name how many of them indulge in petty 'nara baazi'? How many of those posters go around rubbing in Naya Pakistan slogan in people's faces? It seems like you see one isolated post remotely along those lines, and everyone's pride's and ego's get hurt. It is the extremism of your own thinking and perception that see people treating personalities as God and deities.
Most PTI supporters make healthy and spirited contributions to this part of the website, they keep this portal alive. And it is extremely unfair to pin point like that, and pass sweeping generalisations. You may think it looks cool to appear politically homeless and not conform to any party, but really, it doesn't matter, and it certainly doesn't give you any right to discredit political activism, whether it's coming from MQM, PMLN, PPP or PTI's camp.
In all honesty, if PTI posters are such nuisance, I'd say ban them as a group from posting on this forum. Really.
Imran Khan and T-u-Q like like 'phuljhaRis'...both of them have spectacular fireworks and burn with a lot of fanfare but eventually burns out by itself. we have seen episode #1 of T-u-Q...at the end he saved his behind by making compromises and then left for Canada. episode #2 will also end in 'TaayeN TaayeN Fish'.
people of Pakistan are not ready for an inqilaab because there isn't any 'real' leader out there to excite them and genuinely give them hope.
only a 'born' leader can do that and probably that leader isn't born yet.
aise hii donoN Khaandaan apnii apnii baariyaaN lagaate raheNge aur aise hii mulk ko bechte aur qaum ko maayoos karte raheNge.
See, instead of being objective, how fast you turned around on poor me.
Half a dozen supporters on GS is plenty, but they represent the masses. We have only two known jayalas on GS, but that is how rest of the ppp support group thinks. We all know that.
PTI youths are a huge concern. There are shows on tv where anchors complained to IK and shafqat mehmood (they were the guests) about na-zeba language that pti youth used against non ptians on social media. They admitted and apologized and condemned such behavior.
And btw, this thread is not anti ik thread as one blog is claiming on gs. The blog is a typical example of the closed eyed mindset of ptians. The poor blogger did not even read my thread I guess, and started a blog against me elderly man
See, instead of being objective, how fast you turned around on poor me. :(
Half a dozen supporters on GS is plenty, but they represent the masses. We have only two known jayalas on GS, but that is how rest of the ppp support group thinks. We all know that.
PTI youths are a huge issue of concern. There are shows on tv where anchors complained to IK and shafqat mehmood (they were the guests) about na-zeba language that pti youth used against non ptians on social media. They admitted and apologized and condemned such behavior.
Let me just state one very natural and historically recorded phenomena, whenever the youth gets politicised in any country, they never sound so prim and pretty! When Europe was faced with a massive surge of youth population in 60s and 70s, the youth population was militantly rebelling on the streets for anarchy, communism, fascism and anti imperialism. Only recently in 2010, London witnessed a brief but a widespread and aggressive mobilisation of youth in face the Student Riots, the youth came out on the streets to rebel were University students. The University students who literally wanted to tear down the walls of Buckingham Palace and Supreme Court, and probably set Big Ben on fire. So what is youth? It's passion, whether destructive or constructive, it's still passion.
Pakistan's going through a very interesting time. It has a massive youth population in an age of advance technology and interactive media. The youth that came out of the street for BB against Zia was probably just as passionate and high on emotions as PTIians today, but fortunately for them, there wasn't any Facebook, Twitter or Geo TV to cover and report every tiny aspect of their fanaticism. Pakistan is lucky that it is not Spain of 30s where the youth population is either joining hands with fascists or communists to bring a total anarchy in the state. The youth of Pakistan have also not joined hands with any militia or banned extremist group or a terrorist organisation. So what Imran had managed to do after years of long and lonely struggle that he has not just invited but involved the youth into mainstream politics of Pakistan. And because youth is not just a fringe group at the side whose rusticity can be ignored, fortunately, unlike many other developed and mature democracies, Pakistani youth is an importatant part of the mainstream politics. Unfortunately for the old political elite, they are just not used to being directly confronted.
I agree with you Jolie. I am all for youth power. I am against the way the PTI youths behave. Before I joined GS in 2007, I was rudely kicked out of forum operated by PTI ke mutwaalay, just because I spoke against their hero (and in favor of MQM). Such behavior (online) is only seen amongst two groups; PTI and MQM.
If I was in Pakistan, I would have voted for him too. I am only against the blind following.
I probably would've voted for IK/PTI as well. I try to keep my mind open and do criticize him for the actions/statements I disagree with IK/PTI. Overall I agree with you that there are supporters who tend to support the party in jiyala/patwari fashion and I understand why that happens (I also understand the jiyala phenomena :D).
Everyone needs to support the party for its objectives, motives but should be able to accept criticism of the party you support otherwise the party you support will become the party it is trying to replace (the oldies PMLN/PPP) and you its supporter (the new jiyala).
Such (online) behavior is a product of two phenomenon:
MQM and PTI have the largest number of online supporters. The support base of PML(N) and PPP either do not have much access to online services or they have much better things to do than indulge in online bickering.
MQM and PTI are the two most criticized parties in Pakistan. A reaction is natural.
Online ‘journalists’, bloggers, opinion piece writers, etc. have realized that while criticizing MQM can land them into trouble, criticizing IK will get you most clicks. Controversy sells.
For GS, I would say the opposite. PTI supporters here are the only group that admit IK’s mistakes and idiotic statements. Everyone openly admits that his stance regarding terrorism is flawed. PML(N) has more or less similar stance. None of their supporters would ever admit it and no armchair journalists criticized them as they do when it comes to IK.
No one defended his stupid statement about dissolving KPK assembly.
PTI has clearly said they are not joining PAT, tribune is the only paper that has (mis)reported and the title of the thread is misleading. Even then, PTI supporters said they would not like this to happen.
Compare this with the fact that PPP leaders are actually going in person to meet TuQ and no one has written a word about it. Clearly, that wouldn’t get them clicks, eyeballs and ratings.
Having said that, our issue with you pti supporters is when you guys start treating him like God - Oh he can not do or say anything wrong, and how dare you said that his potty also smells like common human beings. Honestly, you guys remind me of dense headed supporters of mqm who treat AH like a God.
I dont entirely agree with this assessment, and if at all that happens, it has originated from the fact that throughout the years, most of the criticism on Imran from opponents has been personal in nature, as there is nothing regarding corruption that can be pinned on him.
IK is/was a good change. He failed to deliver, only because he over promised. Just like Obama was criticized badly, even by democrats, for blaming it on previous govt performance, when he could not deliver after one year -
Obama's issues were vastly different from those Imran or PTI faced. Whether Imran has failed to deliver or not is subjective, as many people on the ground in KPK will disagree. Remember that PTI never claimed to be a motorway/metrobus party. Their focus was always on institution building. Yes, there are lots of deficiencies, and a long way to go still, but based on the law and order situation in KPK, things are better on a comparative scale.
Imran should also stop talking about election rigging and move on.
surely you cant be serious. The only time democracy speaks is when we have elections. And if we rig those, and then just decide to move on, why have elections in the first place? Its no wonder people are not as bothered when a General takes over, because that essentially is the same thing.
Our elections process was faulty. Those faults need to be rectified. We cant just go on like this forever and keep moving on.
Astaghfarullah, Astaghfaruallah. There is no comparison between PTI and MQM. What are u talking about TLK? Canadian government declaired MQM a terrorist organization. Different Internation neutral institutions put blames on MQM. Have u guys seen , Bollywood movie “SHOOT OUT AT LOKANDVALA” that movie is actually based on Altaf hussain’s terrorism in Karachi. I would like to vote for PPP/PMLN/ayas latif palaaijo, but never never ever ever for Dahshaat-Gard Altaf husaaaaain… 234 kaatal kiye han altaf bhi ny
TTP = MQM
he did nt say PTI = MQM but he kept on talking about MQM and PTI in his same posts, giving an impression
PTI = MQM. The overall feel coming out is
PTI = MQM