The prime minister has refused to resign and challenged the opposition to bring vote of no confidence against him. What options are left with the opposition now? Only parliament can unseat me: PM Gilani - geo.tv
**ISLAMABAD: Addressing the National Assembly for the first time following his conviction in the contempt of court case, Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani said only parliament could unseat him.
Challenging the opposition to bring a no confidence motion against him, Prime Minister Gilani said nobody can remove him from his office except National Assembly Speaker, Dr. Fehmida Mirza.
“Am I not an elected Prime Minister? Do I not represent 180 million people of Pakistan? Nobody can remove me from the office of Prime Minister except you Madam Speaker. This is in the law and the constitution.”
“Whatever the decisions, an elected Prime Minister cannot be removed without due process,” he added and addressed the Speaker, “I also want to tell that Madam Speaker you are not merely a post office. But, you also have to apply your own mind on disqualification.”
“But, if the Parliament de-notifies me, I will be honored. This is up to the custodian of the House,” Gilani said.
Talking on the key opposition party PML-N, its leadership and Leader of the Opposition Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, the Prime Minister said, nobody can impose his decision or wish on us. “We are elected people and strived to uphold the constitution and respect of institutions.”
“They cannot act like God. We have majority in both the Houses of the Parliament. They (Nawaz, Shahbaz and Nisar) should respect others. I challenge them if they have courage, they should move a no confidence motion against me,” Gilani asserted. (APP)
Even country's top lawyers do not agree on this. Some say Court can throw Yousuf out some say only Speaker can do that. I believe this will go into court once again and battle will drag on for long time.
I guess legal debate is beyond the domain of most of us here on GS but as far as moral debate goes, YES, he should resign but again we cant speak of morals and politics in one line when it comes to Pakistan.
One thing is clear, and most of the lawyers agree with that as well. A conviction from the court does not automatically disqualify him, because 1) Only a vote of no-confidence can do so, and 2) He still has the right of appeal, and the decision could be reversed after appeal.
However, if you look around the world, most honorable/moral leaders tend to resign at slightest hint of a complaint/case/legal issue against them. Whereas our PM is 'standing tall' even after a conviction. That is the saddest part. Even if you are not guilty, you should step aside to at least spare the public, because when a sitting PM/president is involved in a court case, it takes his attention away from national issues.
But then again, maybe Gillani figures he gives a rat's behind to national issues even when he is not involved in a case, so what difference does it make. 5 saal pooray karnay hain kissi tarha sey. As if that is some sort of an accomplishment.
In jaisay logon ko yaad hi kab tha?! These blood suckers don’t believe in Allah, that much is given. Most men of faith would never do the stuff a lot of our political class has been involved in for decades now. Corruption, lying, stealing, murders, violence, it’s free for all for them.
And we all know what kind of people are in parliament. how can Partners in crimes let crime master peer saab go. Dont forget saza yafta siyasatdaan bohat mahanga bikta hai.
Am I the only person who thinks that SC is turning this whole thing into bachchon kee fight. They can handle this whole t hing with dignity rather than trying to prove that who is the boss
I am soooo sick of watching Gilani’s boothi on the tv for the last 3 days… hardly any updates on the Siachen tragedy or the plane crash… gilanigilanigilanigilani uffffff!
haaar jumayraat ko charhawoon kay paisoon saay tau makeup karwata hai… aur aap ko pasind nahen aya:bummer:
we the Pakistanis are know to have short term memory of our national tragedies…u can blame it on media, politicians or the awaam.
Gilani, you have lost all the self-respect and it really doesnt matter to him what 180 million people think of him, morally he should have resigned but he didnt, and now he is making himself look like a fool. we all know what kind of crooks sit in the Parliament. and also, in an interview, before the verdict was out, he clearly said, if convicted he will resign, he has forgotten his own words. What a shame!
He has not forgotten, it's another case of the infamous "What I meant by that was...." and the rest is history.
"jahan tak resign karnay kaa talluq hay, ye baat mere ilam mai nahi hay"
so why were we running and wasting resources of the nation in SC??? let parliament do all the decision making, let them decide all the cases... PM gillani is truly showing how a Peer/makhdoom or a Wadera thinks...
earlier he was of view that is SC convicts him, he will resign and provide a relief to the people of Pakistan, but ofcourse, woh makhdoom/peer hi kya ju apni baat per qayam rahay, i am sure, if by any chance, parliament read speaker founds him guilty and tried to unseat him, he will say, only president can unseat him...
Ghous-e-Azam key aulad itni gandi (dirty) niklay gee, iss ka andaza shayad ghous-e-azam ko bhi na tha
why so much fuss about Gilani? even if he is removed as prime minister, we'll have Firdaush Ashiq Awan (or someone like her...) running the show... what's the use?
others are not convicted yet... so far Gillani have proven himself worse than Kibaki and Mugabe of Kenya and Zimbabwe and you know what, this bay-sharam ( referring to gillani) knows very well that if he leaves the office, one of his sons will be prosecuted for looting of Hajis and other in drug case.... that is the prime reason he have decided to stick with the title...
So far i am not been able to find any example where a convicted person continues to be a head of state??? i wonder if Aitzaz Ahsan or any of other member here can come up with any???