Ghalib ...He was an Alcoholic for sure , but by no account he was a homosexual ..
Read deevan a ghalib again , all his ishq's were with men. Not a single shair of his refers to a female loved ones.:)
Ghalib ...He was an Alcoholic for sure , but by no account he was a homosexual ..
Read deevan a ghalib again , all his ishq's were with men. Not a single shair of his refers to a female loved ones.:)
Well sire, I don’t see the point , you are trying to raise here …
There is nothing exclusive mentioned in dewan-e-Ghalib like it is in Mir Taiq mir ‘s poetry , where Mir made no secret of his attachments, and wrote of his passing fancy for Attar Ka Launda , the son of a perfumer and Memar Ka Larka , son of a mason….
Mir once wrote if my mind is not dodgeing me here ]
**Mir bi kia Sada dil hain hovay bemar jis k sabab **
Us hi Attar k londay se Dawa laytay hain
Where Ghalib’s poetry is written in much bigger dimesion ….. it depends how you see it …. It molds according to your own state of mind :D
He once said
Lay tu loooN sotay mein us k PaooN ka bosa magar
Ayse baaTon se wo kafir BadGumaan ho ja’aay gaa
What would ya say here , In light of your theory TLK bhai... chun k Kafir kaha hai tu muraad koi Londa hee hoogaa :)
ep, it cant be…except the only time it turned into fact was for Prophet Muhammad PBUH, as him being “Amin and Sadiq”
otherwise qualities are arguable, as with time they depreciate, transform…its a human nature.
what english has to do with moralizing issues …u can even learn them even if u go to peela school. ![]()
…the only requirement is to go to school ![]()
According to 'Andalib Shadani ‘s claim
If anyone undertakes a thorough inquiry into the works of Mir, without being influenced by the opinions of others, he will certainly arrive at the conclusion that Mir's poetic subject is 'the love of beardless youths,' and that Mir is absolutely unique in this quality. You will not find 'the lads of Delhi' in such abundance anywhere else..
I comprehend that there was a tradition of homosocial/homoerotic relationships way back 19nth century South Asia…..
But it doesn’t make every body who lived in 19th century , a homosexual …. does it ?
You may quote an odd example from Ghalib’s letters , the ones written to his favourite pupil, Dad Khan Sayyah, his patron, Mir Gulam Baba but it only reveals his love and esteem for them ..
Ya may quote his famous line where he said ‘ *mein tumhara dada nahi dil daada hoon’ *
But does it sounds homo ? I don’t think so …
You are free to quote an example from his poetry …. I never come across one ….
Re: One quality
Zobia,
I know that people can actually fake their qualities.... but isn't a true quality is a fact in itself?
Well sire, I don’t see the point , you are trying to raise here …
I am not aware of any context in urdu literature where physical strength and Taqat is described as a quality of a female
those 2 shairs that I mentioned, describe exactly that
you dont see that as a point
Zobia,
I know that people can actually fake their qualities.... but isn't a true quality is a fact in itself?
do you have any example to back-up the "true quality" aspect?
Rasoolulah
being Sadiq and Amin.
hmm
there was a sher.
Naik naY naik, bud naY bud jaanaaaa mujhaY
jis maiN jitna zarf tha, utna pehchana mujhaY
so, take your pick on Ghalib’s personality based on his poetry ![]()
I am not aware of any context in urdu literature where physical strength and Taqat is described as a quality of a female
those 2 shairs that I mentioned, describe exactly that
you dont see that as a point
Dhool dhaapa is very mild form of showing physical strength . Often described as a female version of showing physical strength ....
khabi kisi ko Hydri market mein chahirr le jeay ga :)
DayanGa Musti or** Dhool dhaapa** ka farq maalom parH ja’ay ga :D
Waysay I aint aware of any context in urdu literature where Sara'pa Naaz is an attribute given to a male lover
I don't have any good quality except I'm honest with my husband.
Chorain Janab … Yea Nick lay Dooba Humhain ![]()
Bas yea keh k rah ga’ay
Ghalib Wazeefa khoar ho Doo SHAH ko duah
woh din ga’ay k kehtay thay Naukar nahii hooN mein
i already talked about it in my post# 43 …do u have any other example?
i already talked about it in my post# 43 ....do u have any other example?
so that example is not enough for you? WOW
well it was a quality worth mentioning 2 ![]()
can we leave Ghalib as a poet only and stop making him a character role model for the rest of the world.
and the shair you mentioned was a ghalib’s claim about himself. How do you know he was not highly intoxicated when he wrote that
Really? I want to know more exmaples from urdu Lieterature and not Urdu Journalism where Dhool Dahppa is described as feamle version of physical strength.
Sarapa naaz could easily be used for passive male partner
keh rahaa thaa mauj-e-dariya saY samander kaa sakoot
jiss maiN jitnaaa zarf hai, utnaaa hee woh kha'mosh hai
Kevyan
Are you ATA?
Kevyan is my altar-ego. That’ a quality I have… I chose him to be so, because we both have one good quality. We are blunt and truthful. Lying often leads you to be two-faced - which then multiply all your good qualities with a big fat Zero ![]()
With that note, let’s give others a chance to state their good qualities too. What you say kev bro?