One dish system in PAKISTAN

Hey all,

I’ve heard from a friend who recently got married that there is a one dish system in pakistan. OMG before I get carried away anyone else heard of this or was she kidding me? :hoonh: ill kill her if she was I can’t imagine what food to have…

Any idea anyone?

Re: One dish system in PAKISTAN

yes, but not everyone follows it! :bummer:

I was just in Pakistan attending several wedding events. Did not see it implemented once.

it is true, but it isnt bad. it means you can have one gravy, one biryani/palao, you can do lots of salads, lots of raitas. its all good. Naan roti separate.

But people are obsessed with giving “khulla” khaana :bummer:.

^ I personally love the one dish rule.

^ ya, i think its a good idea because we are compelled or pressurised to do more than they can afford because its like oh they did it and if we dnt, log kya sochey ge?!. However a part of me feels, everyone should be able to do as much as they want and if they have money to spend on 100 dishes, so why not :bummer:.

I am kinda divided on this issue :chai:.

i hate the lights out at 10 rule

Now THAT is a rubbish rule! I am not buying that oh lets save the power, don’t disturb neighbours blah blah. It’s all crap! One hopefuly get married only once and they have every damn right to celebrate as much and for as long as you want. LOSERS!!!

:mad:

even if you tell ppl 6 pm they show up at 8pm and u got to wrap up by 10
2hrs only so stupid

^ Ya! And why make rules which you know nobody is gonna follow. Kya faida? bewakoof log! :smack:

no man they follow

if you have it outdoors you can get away with it
but these wedding halls - i was at a wedding at mughal a azan they turned off the lights at 10 same happened at pc

It's not about having lavish food because you have the money to do, it's about wastage and modesty.

The first time I went to Pak was in 1988 December and we went a a wedding that literally lasted more than a week. It would have put weddings now at shame. Food was literally being thrown on the floor because there was so much of it and no one cared.

well i have been to two weddings and both times they had talked to the hall guys and got time extended by 1-2 hrs :D Connections c sab kuch chalta hai! :p And those who can't get it done, they go for grounds :p.

So the wedding venue has to be empty by 10?

We have a loudspeaker ban in India after 10..

its not the number of dish that makes ppl waste more food

Obviously i didnt mean it is ok to disrespect food/money but how is it anybody's business if somebody is having a week or even a month long wedding as long as its them who is paying for it and its not a burden to you? That was my point.

yeah they turn off the lights at 10 then ppl standup and start leaving - i think its only in punjab though

yah. yeh shareef bros ka karnama hai aur unki family ki shadion is rule c farik hai! :halo:

^ thats not surprising