Once Upon a Time....

What is your favorite fairy-tale story? And why?

Sindbad Jahazi From Alif Laila

That was my favorite bec. it was my bed time story and also bec. there were so many adventures of Sindbad Jahazi which would take my mind into this amazing imaginary world.

2 Likes

^Thank you for sharing. I never got into Sinbad or Ali Baba or Aladdin, etc.

I was an avid reader of fairy tales. I’ve found that my students are not aware of many of the stories that I grew up reading. They know about the ones that have featured as Disney movies (Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Snow White, etc etc)…but not so much about Hansel and Gretel, The Shoemaker and the Elves, etc etc.

My favorite is Peter Pan, which strangely, I never read or watched as a kid. About 4 years ago my students had to read the classic version of Peter Pan as a class and that’s the first time that I was exposed to the story in greater detail and I fell in love with it. I guess I’m still a big kid and the book is usually better than the movie. I love the idea of escaping to another world (Never Land) where you never grow up, never age, and live out the kinds of adventures that only books and dreams are made of. I like the tension between Peter Pan and Wendy and a part of me wishes they would have ended up together…but in a way it’s good that they didn’t…it sets the ending apart from the other fairy tales.

2 Likes

There r so many fascinating stories in Hindu mythology that Incant think of much beyond.

Mahabali vetal or Phantom, Mandrake, by Lee Falk in the sixties and seventies captured my imagination. Enid Blyton series were amazing. Amar Chitra katha had lot of nice stories.

Did that hat answer your question, redvelvetu?

I am so proud I didn?t bring up my six packu in this threadu

And look how you have succeeded. :chai:

:wink:

This was a very interesting Pari Show I watched.

I got bullied into taking my video down, small men like making threats. Repurcussions of consequences from a forum with zilch activity…lol

@Bobby1

Do you know how to read at all? Your video/post is not relevant to the topic …yet again. We’re talking about fictional stories. Not real life crimes. Duhhrrrrrrr. :rolleyes:

Thank you @Bobby1 for editing your post. See if we all act responsibly we dont need mods to interfere

ROTFL

My thread was so dead. Ab dekho now Bob’s diversionary move will bring in more traffic (fingers crossed). :clown:

Traffic and tharrapris!

I was born with a nerd attitude switching back n forth to sports/athletics. So absolutely no interest in Fairy tales. I did used to read a lot of stories of Phantom and Mandrake. But meh, it was a timepass.

I think Ali baba was a fascinating story. Alif Laila, not so much.

RV, why so girly list of stories?

@Bobby1 “This was a very interesting Pari Show I watched.”

*Well Bobby1 you are showing here that Truth is stranger than A Fairy Tale Fiction! :hypo:

I got to hand it to you and your Imagination :k:*

2 Likes

Right @**redvelvet he brought us a real life “Parree”/Fairy Tale from our own Homeland!

Also @redvelvet He used a play on words because the man posing as “Parree” faking surgeries on unsuspecting public got caught!**

Does tarzan count?

(without or without chaddi)

I missed the fun..

redvelvet commented
12 minutes ago
The chaddi can stay put. True to your nick, you just cannot quit the bathroom humor can you? ]

Butt, holy no bring bathroom humor et aaal.

To holy’s point, Tarzan was raised by Guerilla. Have you ever seen a Guerilla wearing a chaddi? Why would tarzan have it on?
naraz

Kya ye khula tazaad nahi?

^Chalo ji. Whichever Gueri, Gori or Ghori raised tarzan were still nanga panga. Poor tarzan had to still wear his langotiya

Now be thankful to holy for generating the random idea of just not asking the fairy tales but also dissecting them.

For example, take Aladin story. Why does Jasmine, despite being princess, have to look like a belly dancer ready to thumkay lagaeng?

#Khulatazad

[quote=““Holy Lota””]

For example, take Aladin story. Why does Jasmine, despite being princess, have to look like a belly dancer ready to thumkay lagaeng?

#Khulatazad

It’s because Disney cannot refrain from sexualizing its characters.

Good point.

Ok now holy be the devil’s advocate, may be thats how the princesses roll. who knows.

Too bad Prince charles didnt have a daughter

The fairy tales prime the people to be gullible and fall prey to these kinds of people, looking at 10s of thousands of registrations, a huge official building, lots of goons etc you know how many people fell for this fraud.
My favorite Parri in life would be the amazing Gal Gadot.

Bushra Maneka controls Hamzads, so is that reality or fiction?

Once upon a time in Gupshup Land there was a colorful Hamzaat of Bobby1 and his name was Bobby2.5!, He roamed the Canadian wilderness lived amoung the White Polar Bears who hunt the Black seals in the Frozen Arctic.

The Eskimos were scared of his presence because he was depleting their food supply! also he was twice their size! built like a Sherman Tank!

He was employed by the Big Oil Companies to roam and check the Oil Pipelines for leaks or damage…

and then he fell in Love (rolled over on his metal Tracks) with a local Eskimo Gal!

Ok @Boobby1 the ball is in your court if you want to add to this “Fairy Tale” :cu2: