on dress codes... !!

I think some of the filthy language people employ on this forum is inexcusable and should be condemned by all

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smile.gif

Now back to the topic at hand about the Sikh Dress Code. When Mundyaa first opened this topic he said the following:-

" Sikh clergy silent on banning girls wearing skirts

AMRITSAR: The Sikh clergy continues to maintain a stoic silence over the controversy regarding banning entry of young girls clad in jeans or skirts into gurdwaras run by the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandik Committee (SGPC).

The dress code issue was not taken up for discussion at a meeting of the five Sikh high priests here on Monday evening, Akal Takht jathedar Giani Joginder Singh Vidanthi told reporters after the meeting.

“We did not discuss the dress code issue as no formal representation has been made before the Akal Takht on this subject.”

The Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Managament Committee (DSGMC) had recently taken a decision to ban jeans or skirt clad girls in gurdwaras in Delhi. The DSGMC had also appealed to the Akal Takht jathedar to impose a similar ban.

Giani Joginder Singh Vidanthi said a number of issues related to Amrit Parchar (baptism) and ills that had crept into Sikhism were discussed at the meeting. However, he refused to elaborate.

The much talked about issue of banning partaking of langar (food in community kitchens) in gurdwaras on tables and chairs was also not discussed by the priests. Former Akal Takht jathedar Bhai Ranjit Singh had imposed a ban on the use of tables and chairs in gurdwara langars after he received representations that this was being practised in some gurdwaras in the West.

Those who attended the meeting included jathedar Manjit Singh of Keshgarh Sahib Takht, jathedar Giani Kewal Singh of the Damdama Sahib Takht and Harmandir Sahib and Akal Takht head granthis Giani Mohan Singh and Giani Bhagwan Singh respectively. SGPC secretary Gurbachan Singh Bachan was also present.(UNI)

contrary to the rosy picture rani has been portraying here about sikhism and other cults and blaming Islam for dress codes. this comes as a complete surprise to me.

as a muslim i can enter into any mosque wearing jeans and a shirt… similarly women can wear shirts and clothes that cover them be it jeans and a shirt and no one can stop them from entering into a mosque of their choice.

i wonder what prompted these sikh leaders to enforce a dress code? i dont blame them though… they wouldnt want to preach among half naked nasty looking folks dancing around singing “hare hare ram ram”.

Chan Mahi Punjab has given a splendid answer (from personal experience) to this question and it would be nice if Rani another Sikh would give a detailed answer in her OWN words?

Malik,
Why wasting your time? She hasnt got the guts to reply because she aint got no answer. All she wants to do is blame the muslims for what women in her religion go through, not her own men. You see even faced with the facts she cant accept it. It is staring her right in the face. Dont bother.

Designer I agree with you 100% but one has to have hope? People on this forum must be persistent in demanding answers to questions related to the ORIGINAL topic or else the discussion gets diverted onto other things and insults etc to divert from answering the difficult questions - thats the aim of people like Rani?, but we have to avoid falling into their traps?

[This message has been edited by Malik73 (edited July 18, 2000).]

All religious places of worship enforce some kind of dress code. There is nothing unordinary about that. That’s why I (mundyaa, note the “I”) am against
religions. I think it should be free for all. People should wear what they like to Mosques, Temples, Synagogues, Churches, etc. Now imagine a naked man
leading Nimaz. <<<

here it is. as for paki pimpsta for all we know it could be rani begging for sympathy. but she is the first in hurling abuses at malik and others. where were u chan back then?

Originally posted by mundyaa:
*>>>All religious places of worship enforce some kind of dress code. There is nothing unordinary about that. Thats why I (mundyaa, note the I) am against
religions. I think it should be free for all. People should wear what they like to Mosques, Temples, Synagogues, Churches, etc. Now imagine a naked man
leading Nimaz. <<<
here it is. as for paki pimpsta for all we know it could be rani begging for sympathy. but she is the first in hurling abuses at malik and others. where were u chan back then? *

u *********** none wants here to beg for sympathy from u morons. we know ur culture and u are living by that. so no surprise here.
as far as rani hurling abuses, show one example. just because she has opinions against ur barbarian religion and is outspoken in her views, u r taking licence to throw mud at her whenever possible.

Mundyaa, forget about my claim, I just asked you a question which you as usual hid yourself into your Roohani butt. Tell me does your Religion give you permission (since you need that even to make peepee) to ask others to pray in nude? If you don’t have an answer, say it, no one here is going to kill you. Rani tells you about your real filthy beliefs in your face and you just don’t have stomach to take it. But again, so are many other bozos around here. Folks like you come dime a dozen.

ZZ ranted:

as far as rani hurling abuses, show one example. just because she has opinions against ur barbarian religion and is outspoken in her views, u r taking licence to throw mud at her whenever possible.

Hey ZZ, if Rani can have opinions against our barbarian religion, then why shouldn't we be able to take potshots at your barbarian religion...which has shudras eating excrement of Brahmins.

If Rani doesn't want to discuss religions, then she should go to the General Forum and talk about mobile phone charges or other safe topics.

If she wants to discuss our barbarian religion, she is welcome, but then she will get answers too pal.

xtreme, do not try to act smart. the objection is to personal sexual insults. just because she is woman and can not speak in the language u guys can sink to, these intimidating tctics are used trying to shut her up.
keep the discussion civilized. lack of it reflects poorly on u, ur parents and ur bringing up.
Defending religion and degrading women in sexual language do not make sense and if u and and mundayya want to justify 2pak, go ahead. but that is not the way.

ZZ,

Don't use 2Pak's words to make a point against me.

You said:

u *********** none wants here to beg for sympathy from u morons

morons is plural, so you can't be talking about just 2Pak, whose only contribution to this discussion was a cut-and-paste by Chanmahi.

Like I said, if Rani wants to discuss our barbarian religion she is welcome. So are you but don't expect pats on your back for coming with a hostile attitude.

getting into technicalities, i was refering to mundayya's post that defended 2pak, so 2 is plural. i belive there are are more than two morons. but i was refering to these two.
as far as hostilities and all is concerned, profane language and sexual insults can be avoided. definitely rani is not guilty of using that.

I dont know why people go so low as objecting other peoples religious beliefs. i dont know why people have trouble with sikhs wearing turbans. People in Balauchistan wear turbans as a symbol of traditional pride. we are ignoring a historical fact how sikhs started wearing turbans. Sikhism is a religious movement against hatred and oppression of Aurangzeb. He allowed killing of non-mulims and destroying sacred places of other religions that is an un-islamic act.
No one in Punjab was allowed to wear turbans and only people of courts and and nawabs were allowed to wear turbans as a mark of discrimination. Sikhs diaagreed and started wearing turbans , it was not in their religion and only a their last guru Gobind Singh made it mandatory after this strict ruling. They were killed for wearing turbans. This inhuman act caused harm to muslims and many people would would had converted to muslims turned away from it.
I dont think Mughals who killed, maintained a large harem and indulged in every non-islamic act can render them as non-muslims. But Allah know better in this regard. Islam was spread by hamanity and true muslim spirit of saints and sufis and not through despots. We should first read a good history book and then accuse others.
I think in Punjab in both sides of the border we have same dress code and other traditions. This issue in this topic alone explains that people regard proper dress code as vital for our tradition. if one goes to Malysia one find every muslim girl wearinga veil on her head but working in every walk of life. Women wear Dupatta in Pakistan. In middle east they cover themselves completely but dont work outside.
Women go to mosques in large no. in USA than in Pakistan.

A nice balanced answer to the topic at hand Degas…brilliant!

to all muslims participating in this discussion let me remind you that Allah has strictly forbidden us to throw abuses at other peoples religious beliefs...lest they do same to you...My ALLAH IS RIGHT as can be seen from this thread....
But if they start abuses w/o provocartion just tell them
"Say: O disbelievers!
I worship not that which ye worship;
Nor worship ye that which I worship.
And I shall not worship that which ye worship.
Nor will ye worship that which I worship.
Unto you your religion, and unto me my religion."(Al:Quran 109)

[This message has been edited by pukka desi (edited July 18, 2000).]

Thank God finally everyone is calm and cool:)

I think there is another dimension to this whole dress code issue and it is not concerning only Sikhs or Muslims but lot of other communities also.

it is that.... Most of the minority communities, religions, tribes,cultures around the world are feeling an onslaught of Western culture and traditions which they feel as a threat to the existence of their own religions, languages and cultures. The dresscode issue raised by DGMC is essentially about this westernised dress trend in New Delhi Sikhs(in particular). The New Delhi Sikhs who are in favor of strict dress code have been actually not very fanatic or conservative in the past. Infact, some women going to Gurdwaras wear very revealing punjabi dresses and everyone is ok with that....so this is not about how much flesh one can show or not..but whos way of life survives or takes precedence. This issue certainly has to do with a feeling of threat from the Westren cultural influence rather than any thing with religion.

I beleve that in this century when hundreds of languages and cultures and ideginous(sp?) people are perishing from earth and submerging into the sea of Western civilization, such fears by Sikhs or any other World minorities are very valid. However I don't think the way they are reacting to tackle with this Western influence is a good way. Being more consevative and closed minded in the face of this Western cultural invasion is going to harm us more than help us fight it and survive.

ChannMahi

ps: regarding Sikhs Hair and turbans....if one looks deep into the issue and one will find that it is about cultural and historical factors and Sikhs need to have a distinct identity to survive in the long run in the middle of the subcontinent than anything to do with who is going to go to heaven or not. Keeping hair and turban is no guarantee for heaven...

rani, as usual has once again successfully converted this discussion into mudslinging. i have not defended what 2pak had to say about rani. but actually congratulated rani for once again showing how pitiful she is.

all of a sudden everyone has sympathies for rani cos she got abused by 2pak. being pitiful is a characteristic of hindus though. they have for centuries blamed muslims and others for their pathetic past present and future. comon rani when will u be a sardar and less pitiful cry baby.

ny, nope like zz said for walking nude u will get ur lingum chopped and fed to ur family. any other questions?

Mundaya she has history of misleading her self and others into non-sense pointless arguments, which lead to waste of our time, and nothing gets no where...dont stress it, she wont never believe or agree with your point, nor will she let go of her, even when she is wrong. That is why i have stoped posting here...because i know she will find some excuse to justify her wrongness.

HARooN

HARooN>>>Chorr chori se jaye...haira-pehrii se na jaye<<< :)

Is this thread worth keeping open?

If members are unable to carry out this discussion without getting personal, it'll be closed and/or deleted.

damn i pissed off a lot off ppl.

chan, so when sardars wear a turban its purely cultural? someone once told me about the 5 things sikhs have to follow… could you list what they are so everyone can see for themselves whats cultural and whats not?

i hope you are not by any chance claiming that sikhism does not mind nudity? cos then it will be a hot commodity for some perverts. i hope you understand what i’m trying to get at. if covering you head in the name of culture isnt considered bad by your standards. then covering your body in the name of religion, culture or whatever else… is not that evil afterall.

ny, i’m still waiting on a proof on some of your claims that you have made in your earlier threads. You have claimed that you do not beleive in a dress code and that every one should be free to wear what they like and you wouldnt mind praying behind a naked molvi.

now when will you prove to everyone here that you have actually abided by what you have said… and have started praying with your family behind a naked mirzai like yourself. we all await the proof. Once again here is a liberal humanists vision of religion.

All religious places of worship enforce some kind of dress code. There is nothing unordinary about that. That’s why I (mundyaa, note the “I”) am against religions. I think it should be free for all. People should wear what they like to Mosques, Temples, Synagogues, Churches, etc. Now imagine a naked man leading Nimaz.

[This message has been edited by mundyaa (edited July 19, 2000).]

secondly chan, what would your thoughts be if some women were given a separate identity by covering themselves?

i mean among a bunch of bozom and butt exposed women, a woman fully covered afterall stands out. doesnt she?

so if sikhs were given a separate identity by wearing turbans.... why does rani have such problems when it comes to Muslim women who are being given separate identity by covering themselves? isnt it beyond comprehension?