Old ppl

I met an old uncle jee yesterday, he was in British armed forces before partition and already retired in 1947, so he really is old. I love listening to elder ppl, only thing is that after one sitting with me, they’re probably damaged for rest of their lives, I can’t control my volume. According to my brother I was loud enough to disturb mummies in Egypt. Khair jo bhi ho.

My interview usually starts with, ‘aap yahaN kaise aae?’
And he’s replied ‘border cross kar ke’ :smiley:

Usually ppl have such great stories to tell about how they migrated into another country for a better future for them selves and families back home. Like another uncle I knew, travelled via Afghanistan into Iran and then Turkey in a small car with seven other men. They were deported three times before they finally made it to their destination country, and then decided to stay in Dk. Everyone had such great dreams back then, better future for families, behan bhaiyooN ki shaadi karwani hai, maaN baap ko hajj karwana hai aur phir wapis Pakistan chale jaeiN ge. They had such strong will-powers, travelling to foreign countries, new culture, new ppl, sometimes without even a penny in their pockets, all they had was a dream of making life better for families.

Khair, tau this elder baba ji, has been retired for centuries now. Offers all his prayers in the local mosque and spends his time reading Quran and tafseer. Among all other stuff I asked him where he was during the 1965 war, and how it was. Usually ppl get so excited talking about how they defended their motherland and how times were so challenging etc. But baba ji was so calm and just said, ‘fer ki laRai ho gai c te bas’. I wanted to get that reaction out, so I went on about weapons etc, but Baba ji was oh so calm, I mean how can you stay clam and composed if you have fought two wars for your country? Life does this to you?

Another question that I’ve not asked before is, how he sees development in Pak. To which he said, pehle logooN meiN josh aur jazba hota tha, ab woh baat nahiN. Sab ko Pakistan yooN hi mil gaya hai. Which is quite true, we’re so negative about everything even remotely connected to Pak.

He’s such an interesting fellow, I didn’t know masoor ki daal khet meiN ugti hai before meeting him :o He’s worked at Kakool(sp?) as instructor, so next time I’m gonna ask about how they used to train rangroots.

I, myself am gonna be a cool beji some day, I’ll even cook up stories to impress :snooty: provided I can get some kid(s) listening. My biggest accomplishment in life, no one makes better kaRahi than me :snooty: Do you think you’ll have stories to tell your grandkids?

Re: Old ppl

This reminds me of a two line joke. How do you keep an old british man happy?
Answer: Tell him a joke when he is young.

sabah baji, shall i start calling dadi jaan from now????

^Only if you're willing to listen to me any time I want to talk. I've got a lot to talk about.

Verison, you need to work on your jokes collection if you dream of becomming a cool Dada abu one day!

Yes Sabah, just like masoor ki daal ugti heh, Meat in the grocery store is actually obtained by killing/slaughtering/butchering (pick your favorite adjective) an animal be it the holy swine, cow, chicken,turkey etc. I am sure you didnt know that either.
See you dont have to go see old farts to obtain wisdom, come hang out with us, we will teach you a few things or two that will help you later on in life. :D
I was still in the PMA kakul (my mothers womb) in 1965 but did see some action in 1971 war (I was 5 yrs old), I was stationed in Khem Karan, and boy was it scary. We would hear sirens and run to a trench. We had to cover all the lights so it was total darkness at night. Even the lights on the army trucks that were going and coming back from front had mud applied on the head lights to avoid detection. One could see the indian planes coming at 500 ft level to avoid radar detection. We (kids) were excited at the thought of war, but clearly my mom and aunts were scared (now that i go back through annals of memories). My father and my uncles all fought the war. I remember my father coming back somewhere in the middle of the night one night and hugged my mother and wept. I didnt understand why, I just wanted him to tell us that our jawans were fighting the Indians and winning. But actually today that I think back I have realized that he wept because we had lost the war and he "may" have lost a few men from his unit.

wow very good story

Veri chacha, I know you’re interesting. That’s why I like you, see :hug: but you never invited me before warna I’d move the entire NYC to Denmark to meet you and your boys. My mamu fought in the 71 as well as my dada abu and many other men from the fam, unfortunately didn’t get a chance to meet them. Mamu even spent two years in India and tried to escape a few times. He would’ve had stories to tell. I still have my daddi, and I don’t miss a chance to get on her nerves, unfortunately she’s learnt to ignore my volume no matter how high I go.

I didn’t know you’re so qadeem, now I understand your signature :stuck_out_tongue:

Hey edit kahe ko kiya?

Just admit it you didn't know about daal either.

Saba Aunty, Old people are generally full of wisdom, and young people should worship elders without questioning anything. I always pay attention to what you have to say.

I dont know what Qadeem is? I did know that daal was grown and that it didnt come pre-packaged in a plastic bag with a "lalteen" symbol. The reason for the edit was that I re-read you old fart story and noticed that the old timer didnt really answer your war story question, so I put my 2 dinars in.
Yeah all are invited to NY, we are a friendly people, we dont discriminate. But please do land your planes at the airport (we have a total of three) the tall sky scrapers are not braking devices for airplanes. :D

Saba, I will even pay for the ticket…just come over and tell me all these stories. I am genuinely fascinated by your kissay kahaniyaan. :flower:

I will also chip in, and while she is here, food is on me (daal and all).

^ Errr…get your own Saba, you old b@stard. :rolleyes: This Danish is all mine.

Why dont you both fight it out, I'll moderate.
Saba dont listen to these old fools, you come hang out with me, mama and our little boys.

Verizon, Danda and Madhanee are not your little boys, you moron.

^ budhey babey :hehe:

my 65 year old uncle who has had 3 open heart surgeries talks to us like a kid. He is friends to all of us. He told me many things abt me. But he is scared of his wifey :hehe:

^^ Oh yeah lets hear it what did he tell yu? TNWB is not your real name, thats a nick, you are not really in a desert. You like madonna songs..... what else hmmmm ah never mind. :D

^^ :D some medical related stuff by looking at my palms and nails. he was right :D he is a doctor :D

Oh I could have told you about your palms, and nails and I am not even a daakter.