Ok I am seeking justifications for my actions but

but more then that I am looking for some insight from the guys here that what goes on in the mind of men generally when they are having certain expectations from a potential (Promise, I’ll try to keep it as short as possible but I do need to rant :frowning: )

Ok so on my long journey for getting hitched I was introduced to a guy from some acquaintance who actually don’t know much about him, other then that he’s a nice guy and looking to settle down in life. So we started communicating via telephone chats and went a little beyond then knowing the initial details. He did his education in Paktistan and have been here in US for past 6 years. He is a nice guy and very focused on getting married so we thought to meet with each other for which he had to fly in (we live on opposite coasts). We met for coffee and spoke for around 2-3 hours in which he explained that he’s looking for some one who is very loving and who will make him the center of her life. I told him that I have no issues with that as after marriage your priorities change and your partner becomes the highest priority.

So we left on a happy note and planned to tell our families to take the initiative ahead. When we first talked after he reached back home he was in a very different mood and he started shouting at me saying that I was very rude to him when we met. I was surprised and I asked him what gave him that idea and he said that I didn’t paid for the coffee despite the fact that he had flown all over the country to meet me which means that I really don’t care about him. I explained to him that I assumed he will find it offensive if i’ll pay for the coffee being a desi guy and all that. khair we discussed (mostly him because when he gets angry he shouts endlessly while I tend to keep quiet and listen) for around 15-20 minutes and then he suddenly said that this was the same reason his earlier marriage didn’t worked out because his wife was not very loving and caring. I was shocked and I said you never told me that you were married so he explained that he only had a nikkah 3 years back without any rukhsati but when ever he spoke to his wife on phone she always seem so distant and cold the same way I behave so he had ended it in 6 months.

Any how so after getting over with all that we decided to give it another shot. So we talked a couple of more times. One day we were just discussing random stuff and he said that he never wanted to study further ahead as he considers higher studies a wastage of time and money (He has done B.Com from Pakistan) so I told him that if that point comes in during discussions with my family just say that you never had time for it, Please don’t say that it’s not worth it (My family is highly educated and more then that they believe on importance of education. Me and all my siblings have professional degrees and we still are in cotinuing education programs). This flipped him again and he started shouting “Tumhayn pehlay bhi kaha tha, it should be me and only me you should be worried about, not your family, not your brothers. I don’t want some one who is first thinking about others then me. You just want to get married while I want some one who can love me”. It becomes so difficult for me to reason with him on smaller smaller things like these (in my perspective smaller).

And then there is another issue (which I accept is my problem :S ) which is that I am not very expressive when it comes to emotions and being intimate. May be it’s because of the way girls are raised in a desi culture where any thing intimate out side marriage is condemned so I am not very open. I don’t find comfortable expressing certain feelings in words to some one who is not my husband. Espacially if these things are very tacky. Now him on the other hand is very lovey dovey and he’ll say things like “I can’t live if I don’t hear your voice/Tumhari aawaaz sun kar mayra aik kilo khoon barh jata hay aur tumhayn koi hosh hi nahin/Sweety I love you and I want you to only love me”. I just don’t know how to respond =|. Keep in mind that we have a 5 hr time difference and some times he calls me around 2:00 AM expressing his love and expecting the same from me when I am dead asleep.

So guys can you please tell me what kind of expectations you have when you are seeing some one as a potential ( I tried asking him that what’s his expectations from me and he said he’s not a teacher and I am mature enough to figure out these things on my own). Also what is the best way of communicating to him without crushing his ego or without sounding offensive

p.s. Some times I really feel like that something is not right with me, may be that’s why I find issues with every one I meet or keep meeting hmmmm I dunno wierd kind of people. If some thing is wrong with me I need to work on it so your honest input would be much appreciated

Gracias!!!

Re: Ok I am seeking justifications for my actions but

How old are you? :halo: the guys right when he says you should be mature enough to figure out these things on your own except that the things he want u to be mature about r not exactly the things i m talking about :chai:.

Seriously Girl! Wake up. The guy’s a jerk. Enuff said.

I don’t know what’s your majburi for going after him even after his lies and rude, obnoxious behavior but keep in mind there is an ALLAH up above so you shouldnt just give up like that and settle with anyone at all you come across.

5 hour time difference, where is he, in Hawaii?

A word of advice, meethi meethi baaton kay sahaaray zindigi nahi guzar thi, you need to be compatible in more meaningful ways. Temperament, values, education, lifestyle. Just because he expresses his love for you, don't feel guilted into feeling more for him than you do. Judge your own feelings based on your wants and not his.

Don't be taken in by his words of love - these mean nothing unless he genuinely cares for and respects you. Your family is very important to you and he needs to respect that as well and understand that change in priorities comes after marriage, not before on the just the possibility of a future relationship.

Honestly, he's not worth it. I say kick him to the curb and count your blessings.

See I know what you guys mean but I have already done that couple of times before with other guys (pls refer to my old threads) now I am seriously wondering whether all desi guys are jerks or it's just me not understanding the way they think.
I spoke to a married friend of mind and she said that all desi guys become controlling and like this after getting married so this one is at least being upfront about it :$

I am on East coast and he's on West

Exactly, enough said. I can't even believe you are still questioning this and give this guy a chance.

1. If a guy had yelled at me for not offering to pay for coffee I would've called it off right away. This is so petty, even if he was offended what right does he have to yell at you?
  2. He never told you about his previous marriage
  3. He is selfish and only cares what's best for him, he wants to be loved fine but so do you and if family is important to you he needs to understand that.
  4. Any time a guy acts chummy in an arranged sort of rishta its a HUGE turn off for me at least. If the two of you were dating or committed sure and only if you feel comfortable with it.
  5. I'm sure he knows very well the time difference than why is he calling you at 2 AM? Does he expect you to pick up the phone?

Once again, the guy is a selfish jerk.

PS. all desi guys are NOT like this...you just haven't come across one you are compatible with.

Yes and no! being protective of you is one thing and trying to control your life is another. If he is rude now, imagine what he's going to be like after marriage.

Nice guys are hard to come by and i understand the need to let go of a few bad habits. This is his attitude, and I highly doubt it will change. You and him are not compatible and if he's past the age of 25, it's likely he will remain that way. You can't mold his personality to your liking and neither can he mold yours.

So then three hour time difference, not five :-p

Anyway, if he yelled at you about the coffee then really its not a good sign. Usually the getting to know each other is supposed to be a pleasant experince. But like you said, at least he is upfront about his expectaions and what he wants from you, unfortunately it does come off as quite controlling/creepy. Proceed with caution Chips.

Mods, can you please move this thread to Life and Relationships, I don't know how it ended up in this forum

Thanks again for your input, I guess I have already made up my mind to end it. I was just wondering what are guys thinking when they make such demands

Lolz I am not that kind of a girl who just want to settle down, I just don’t want to feel that I am being arrogant of having all these blessings of Allah on me. Also some times I dread that may be living independently for couple of years has made very realistic and insensitive to all these emotional things

A selfish guy..honestly you could do with a better person. This person has some issues tbh

LMAOOO :omg:

I have no idea how you didn’t laugh right in his face. He sounds like he’s PMSing

You are not good judge of desi guys , ask your parents to find some nice decent guy and get you married off to him. Hurry up before you and your family loses that valuable thing which is called izzat in desi community.

RUN!

tell him someone by the name of Orpheus here, told him to come of his fooking pedestal.

this sounds EXACTLY like something I was going through until...2 days ago when I finally snapped out of it and stopped talking to him. In fact, I'm almost scared that we're talking about the same guy because things sound really...similar...but he's not on the West coast so probably not...

anyways, something's not right with this fool. Especially if he's emphasizing the whole "it's only about me and you". The guy I was talking to upto last week said the same thing and my parents and I are really suspicious that its because there's a shady shady past they're hiding. Please end this! I know it's painful becuase Im in the same position--as girls, we tend to get sucked into the sweet talking (I'm not a very intimate or mushy person but even I am "missing" all that right now)--but its worth nothing because it wont pay the bills, it wont make up for your incompatiblity, etc.

best of luck.

Lies about his marriage and bipolar...winning combo.

Dump him.

JERK!

after marriage he will lock u in the washroom and wont let you meet your parents. in fact he wont let you even come closer to your in-laws. he will also feel jealous if u show any affection to your kids. u seriously will have space issue.

Ditch him...hopefully he is not egoistic self-centric assh***** who will seek revenge in retaliation.