oh no...there's a wedding coming up

Re: oh no...there's a wedding coming up

I didn't know there are marathons in Olympics I was talking about short distance. You are right though that high intensity exercise doesn't use carbs as a source of energy. But honestly I have never heard of fat loading that's a new concept for me.

It's not as simple you can believe it if you want. Why would metabolic rate of digestive tract increase if a person eats less?

LOL you are telling me I don't know my biology. It is not the last source if a person is in starvation they will use both protein and fat as source of energy.

18/06/2011

I was out and about for the whole day but kept myself active and I took around 1200 calories.

Re: oh no…there’s a wedding coming up

Actually, that’s not what I said.
Aerobic respiration = metabolism of glucose in the presence of oxygen. 1 molecule of glucose → ~38ATP. [high energy]
Anaerobic respiration = metabolism of glucose in the absence of oxygen. 1 molecule of glucose → 2ATP. [low energy]

Vigorous or high-intensity workouts such as heavy-weight lifting and sprinting requires more oxygen than possibly breathable, thus anaerobic respiration is used, producing the inflammatory (byproduct) lactic acid which makes you painfully tired very quickly (i.e. you can only sprint for a short time (less than a minute), but you can jog for half an hour easily).
Glucose (carb) is the only fuel, always. Oxygen is required to break it down, otherwise anaerobic respiration occurs (in which glucose is still used). Fat and protein cannot be used for energy directly - they have to be broken down in to glucose first. During exercise, the glucose in the blood (fuel) doesn’t last for more than 15-20 minutes, thus after this stage fat starts to break down in to glucose. That’s what you call fat-loss.

It doesn’t.

If a person is starving, then obviously the glucose levels (from the last meal) have been depleted. In that case, fat augments the glycogen concentrations which are constantly being broken down to raise blood/glucose levels. That is the primary function of fat - to store energy as reserve in case blood/glucose falls too low! Energy synthesis, however, is NOT the primary function of proteins (which is why they are used only as a last resort). Proteins are only metabolized for energy if the body is severely malnourished, holding extremely little to no fat at all (or only visceral/retroperitoneal fat). This is what happens to your body when its using protein for energy:

OMG don’t give me a physiology lesson. I know the difference between anaerobic and aerobic - and yes I mix them sometimes, sue me. I didn’t mean no carbs are used but a greater amount of fat burned vs slow-pace workout/exercise. Yes, I will admit I am in no way a exercise physiology expert. I was just questioning your argument on fat loading.

Isn’t that what you said?

I know all of that and I know all about PEM. I will still say that a person will not die of running out of all their stored fat (there will still be unused fat leftover) but instead of losing essential protein structures in the body. The picture you posted is classic Kwashiorkor which is due to many nutrient deficiencies including pro and energy.

**19/06/2011

20/06/2011

still out so isn't possible to do the work out but lots of walking in these two days and calorie count is no more than 1200.

Hope to start some intense work out from tomorrow evening when back inshallah.

hi hi

^hi...you caught me. hehe

I've been so lazy after few days' break, I tried doing 30 minutes cardio today but gave up after 15 minutes, my leg started hurting really bad. Other symptom of pms I get is that I feel very lethargic, it might be that or I'm just getting anti-climaxed after the trip. :(

**23/06/2011

15 minutes cardio in the morn, 15 minutes cardio in the eve. in total 30 Minutes

i really think i need to come up with a new plan.....haven't see any results yet.

i think i'll do the cardio for at least 70 minutes in one go for at least 4 times a week and just keep myself more active all the time, no sitting on computer for hours.

I know I haven't been updating properly, I'm gonna start doing it after this weekend inshallah.

GO YOU HAREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEM. This is brill.

A simple, maybe not so digestible tip.

Down a shot of vinegar as a hunger suppressant.

^thanks…I’m gonna try that. :biggthumb:

:confused: can u explain !!

Fill a cup with 1 1/2 ounces vinegar and swallow as fast as you can. In one go as it tastes rank.

Even though it is acidic it is unlikely that it will burn fat, but it is good as a hunger suppressant.

Too early to see results. Cardio (or aerobic) activity for prolonged time is an excellent idea. More importantly, (as you are aware I am sure) fitness/healthy diet is a lifelong activity - not just for marriage coming up or importat events. These types of intense preparations most pribably lead to a falling off the cliff when the event comes and goes. One probably needs a more consistent (read less intense) approach that can be sustained throughout one's life.

I agree with those who recommend a healthy breakfast - it is known as the most imprtant meal of the day.

Good luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

**27/06/2011

calorie intake is as usual 1200.
work out in total
60 minutes **(40 minutes cardio + 10 minutes muscle toning exercise)

Tomorrow I'll try to do cardio for full 60 minutes.

Hope exercise regimen proceeding per schedule

Most of what LKC has said is true.
(No he is not my multi...or maybe he is. ;))
With apology, the CDG has very little idea of simple nutritional biology/physiology. But that's OK. :(

Quick result requires elimination of readily available calories from diet in the form of sugar/Carbs.

CDG keeps talking about protein breakdown when that is the last thing to go in negative calorie state.

ahh...i've been on an emotional rollercoaster this week, i don't think i can go ahead with this routine anymore. :(

Appa ji... Shred kerlo... Ziada asaan hai... Only 20 mins of fast torture