Re: Offensive in our culture(s)
^ ![]()
Also, the word “Paki” in the Boston area isn’t used how it’s used everywhere else.
Here, a paki/ packy is a package store… aka a liquor store. ![]()
^ ![]()
Also, the word “Paki” in the Boston area isn’t used how it’s used everywhere else.
Here, a paki/ packy is a package store… aka a liquor store. ![]()
Not asked but maybe expected?
I haven’t come across it much.. think it might have been an old Hindu custom..
lol. True.
But there are people who deliberately take small portion of meal and expect the host to say something like;
“Aur Lijiye Na. Aap To Takalluf Kar Rahe Hain”
(They may feel if the host did not say this then host is not being a host)
I tell my guests at the outset,
" Please don’t make me say take some more. Eat all you can…
…at your own risk" ![]()
And ONLY if the guests are very candid, informal and close to me… I say:
“Go ahead eat like you eat at home”
Meaning, eat less…
…so others can eat too. ![]()
Take-5 is offensive in Sindhi culture. It means Laanat dikhana
^ I guess many desis/easterns do not know what middle finger sign means.
They are more familiar with five fingers.
By the way: Two fingers sign as far as I know can be a sign of peace and also can be a sign of being gay or being rude..depending on if the Palmer side is shown or back of hand is shown. All it takes is to flip rotate the hand.
BTW isn’t this
] considered offensive by some desis?
That took some getting used to. And sometimes it gets confusing when there’s someone coming out of the door when you’re trying to get in, especially if I’m zoned out. What just happened? Was I supposed to step back?
I guess it’s more natural for other people.
And the Thank You is used so much over here, even for small things. You hardly hear anyone Thanking anybody in Karachi, it’s different here in Texas though. Most people are so polite and courteous.
Yeah! Back in Karachi you bump into people all the time and here you’ve got things like personal space
. You better turn the auto-pilot off or you’re gonna make a lot of people mad.
Good one Muqa bhai.
Umm just curious, what are the locals doing out and about themselves giving dirty looks when they should be in church themselves??
I think I heard this somewhere
Showing the palm =Durr Phittay MooN/ Lakh di Laaanat
Sitting on the front seat if you are younger than the passenger sitting in the back seat of a car is consider rude.
yes …i remember a guy wearing t-shirt with middle finger pic printed on it for juma prayer.
and a muslim lady wearing hijab showing her middle finger to show ink mark on her middle finger after she voted during some assembly election ![]()
Its also considered rude if you handover something to another person with left hand…i know that bangalies feel really offended if you give them something with left hand…they won’t take it…
And then showing the thumb up or down…one or both.
Some may take thumb up as
sign, or “Job Well done!”
..or some may take that as “Thainga”!
To be safe, two thumbs up is better.
For thainga…u have to wiggle it a bit… no wiggle = thumbs up, wiggle= thaingaaa..
^ yes. ![]()
And apology to some people, head bobbing while saying Jee Jee Jee Jee.. can be quite annoying… if not amusing. ![]()
The term ‘black’ is used quite commonly in the UK but obviously in other countries it’s considered offensive..
In Bangladesh ‘tumi’ isn’t considered rude but obviously in Pakistan it’s different when speaking to elders or husband..
showing ur tongue like this
or this
feels ok on fb chat forums etc
but its offensive when u do it 2 bando k samne ![]()
And this
is used for saying awesome but dnt do it in Arab as its v offensive there ![]()
in Arab means I’ll teach u a lesson u moron :halo: