Offensive in our culture(s)

*Stealing this from a similar post I read elsewhere. *

Here are a few examples to get the ball rolling:

• Extending your hand with your hand open and the palm to someone (how we normally say “bas!”) in Greece is VERY offensive.
  • In some Asian cultures (desi and non-desi), finishing your meal is a major insult to the cook/ server. (Meaning the food wasn’t enough or good and/ or you’re still hungry)
  • In the Middle East, a male shaking hands with women is extremely offensive. (Replaced by a simple right-hand on the chest & nod)
  • Commonly known as the “the Peace Sign”, throwing up a V with you index & middle finger (with your palm facing towards you) is offensive in the UK.

So, what is something that is considered offensive in your culture but isn’t in other cultures? Or the other way around.

Re: Offensive in our culture(s)

Slapping someone’s face. Don’t know why others consider it rude and offensive.

But no, they say in that in China burping after a meal means you enjoyed the food and it isn’t considered illmannered. But I have never asked a real Chinese person whether it’s true.

copy-pasting… very offensive.

The “oh” sign in english speaking countries mean ok, good and spot on.
In France it means 0 meaning worthless.
In Japan it mean money

Thumbs up can mean number 1 for europeans as they start counting there. Don’t use it in Sardina or NOrthern Greece. It means “get stuffed” or “f*** you.”

• Calling elders by their first names (or calling husband by his first name).. or even referring to them as ‘he’ or ‘she’ instead of ‘they’ (I hadn’t even realised the last one could be considered offensive in Desi culture)..

• Feet pointing towards someone is obviously considered bad manners in many Muslim cultures but no big deal in most Western ones..

• Smiling at strangers is considered weird (or a bit immoral lol) in traditional Turkish culture.. Obviously something that’s common in the West and considered good manners..

In Italy it means Butth0le.

I heard the burping thing about India. Hmmm

About china, it’s only in some parts of China, mainly rural areas…

We had this little activity during the cultural orientation where we had to write a few words to express what showing respect means to us. An Asian student (I think he was Chinese) wrote that in their culture, they bow down to their parents and kiss their feet to express love/respect for them. Whereas others felt that it was very degrading and even though they love their parents, they can’t imagine kneeling down to kiss their feet. They used this example to show the differences in our personal and cultural values and how they’re important to each of us.

Let’s see in our culture:

• Insisting and declining charade - when the guests are over the host has to insist that guests take some more food/drink/chai/samosa/halwa and guests have to customarily decline. “*Aur lain na”, “Nahi nahi buss”…*This line gets repeated a few times to each guest a multitude of times for possibly each dish on the table until the host is satisfied they have fulfilled the hospitality requirements and guests is convinced they didn’t come across as a glutton. While this charade is going on, each would rather act the opposite of what they are pretending.

• Door slamming delay - when the guests are leaving the host must escort them to their mode of transportation and must linger around there until a few *duas salaams *are exchanged and re-exchanged, tupperware with leftovers are reminded, *bacha *party is recollected and finally waves are waved until the fumes of their car is no longer smellable.

^ :hehe:
We have our own tradition where the entire fam bam walks the guests to the door, the elder family members (my parents and I) walk the guest to their cars… while the rest of my sibs race to the left overs, or what’s left of the left overs after most of it is sent off with the guests.

Such bhookay bachay we are. LOL

I would find that quite degrading as well..

I’ve seen a couple of people in my extended family do it (newly married girls with inlaws) but I would never do it myself..

In Northern Scotland (really really up North) apparently it’s considered offensive to the locals if you’re seen out and about on Sunday morning (Church hours), they give you dirty looks, mumble under their breath etc. But this information is 20 years old lol

Isn’t that considered “la’nat ho tum par” in Karachi ? With the fingers spread. :slight_smile:

when you are invited over for chai and aren’t offered any samosas.. very offensive!

Apparently it’s rude to to use the term ‘oriental’. One of my chinese friends told me not to use it, cos it’s racist :confused:

Yeah…Khatti!!

Host saying in the head “Laalchi, nadeeday kahein ke, saaray samosay mukaa ke hi jaaein gay”.
Guests saying in their head “Kanjoos kahein ke, kitnay thoRay se samosay rakhay hain”.

I don’t think that’s only in Karachi, but yes… it’s similar. It more along the lines of “I’d rub poop on your face” type deal.

:hayaa:
Was it voluntary? Or were they asked/ expected to do it?
Genuine question, I’ve never heard of it or seen it done.

Here, in The States, it’s considered very rude if you don’t hold the door open for someone behind you.
Similarly, it’s also VERY rude if you don’t thank them for holding the door open for you.

The word “Paki” is considered offensive in UK :stuck_out_tongue:

bumping into someone and not apologizing is prolly considered offensve everywhere except pakistan, where most ppl are oblivious to their surroundings