Re: Obsession with the bridal dress
^ me? I'm getting mine made, its going to be white.
Seems like I am the only girl who doesn't want to spend too much money on a wedding dress. So am I crazy or something? I still think I am not wrong though.
My wedding dress was a simple shalwar kameez. It probably did not cost more than 500 - 700 rupees.
My sis wedding dress was of 35,000 rupees. She bought the cloths and designed herself. And literally people thought it was a designer wear. One of my friends still wants to wear it in her wedding, really I am not kidding. So I think within a budget everything is possible i.e if people really want to do it and they THINK that its wrong to spend too much money on a single dress. Otherwise wohi baat hai "paisa phaink tamasha dekh" :) And yeah one of my cousins designed her bridal wear within 25,000 rupees and it was superb man!!
Wow!! I am impressed really. Your kinda people still exist in the world ![]()
I donated my wedding lengha and a jewellery set to a family in pak who used to work for my grandfather because they were poor and I know I'd never wear the lengha again and as for the jewellery, I was getting sick of working out the zakat each year so thot do something good for other people.
I think its ok to splash out on your wedding dress providing your parents are loaded with money or you are in a really good job. When I got married, I was in debt because I'd just finished my studies and my parents couldn't give me as much as they'd liked to but that didn't bother me. Even if I'd worn a £2,000+ lengha, people would still have found summat negative with the whole thing. You cant please all of the people all of the time. Personally if it was up to me I'd have got married in a simple shalwar kameez.
I'd advice others to have a simple ceremony and save that money and put it towards a deposit for a house but then again everyones entitled to do as they please
Hmm..........I am with Mindless on this one. There is absolutely no way I am gonna spend a lakh rupees on something I wil only wear once in my lifetime. Total waste of money. Would rather save it and use it after I get married on things that I can REALLy use and will need (car, furniture etc etc). I am sure if i wanted a designer lehanga I could afford it but I think you can still shop around and find what you want within a decent price range.
Plus I think "he" wouldnt care if I even wore a simple red shalwar suit, he would be happy with it, if I am. So why bother? After all I aint prettying up for anyone else but him and him only.
Woah Ira, I totally agree with you on the above.