Is it really worth paying a couple of thousand dollars or a lakh or so rupees for a dress that you will probably wear once or twice in your lifetime?
I don’t consider the big feast banned in Pakistan as harmful to the pocket (of the girl, guy or the parents) as the dress(es). In fact, I consider jewelry a good investment but expensive dresses make no sense. Especially considering the trend in Pakistani females to gain weight in their married life of an exponential proportion.
AhmadKanjoosBurgerJee a person gets married only once in their life so its totally worth spending that money.
It also I think depends on your social circle, like fine if all your friends and cousins did not make their dresses from such expensive places then thats ok, but if they did and you're the only one who's not going to do that then no matter what anyone says you R going to feel bad about it. If you can afford it then why not. You'll feel good on your wedding day and be confident that you're wearing something good, and also movie & pix achii ayayn gi, and the good memories will stay forever.
**Yes it is worth it.
You want to be the best-looking woman in the room, and sometimes you gotta spend some $$ if you want to stand out from the crowd (in a good way). That’s why i’m totally against double-shaadis
And what Irem said;..yeah you can re-wear your shaadi lengha to someone else’s wedding, unlike the Western white dress weddings. Hey this just reminded me…would it be possible to turn a shaadi outfit (lengha) into something else, liek a salwar kameez or sharara/gharara (whatever the really wide pants are, i forget)? Do any darzis do that? Then again…i don’t trust darzis
i guess its meant to be such a depressing day for the lass that only a nice shiny new outfit will make her want to go through with it all… i could be enticed in this way.
I remember my dad saying that he still wore his wedding suit up until the late 80’s and he got married way back in the 70’s.
Oh yeah…you could also do what a lot of (amerikan) brides here do, they save their wedding dresses for their daughters/daughter-in-laws to wear at their own weddings. Of course taste, style waghera may change, but hey it’s a possibility. I think i have two of my mom’s wedding outfits (I can’t be sure, there were no pix at her shaadi ) that are turned into long kurta/bellbottom trousers now. Unfortunately they don’t fit me too well coz my ama was ) ( this thin at my age
The feeling bad part is utter lack of self confidence, which usually make people spend more than they can. Similar insecurities lead to give bigger feasts, renting hotels that are out of the world and gift saga that never seems to end.
For the same reason I am uncomfortable with registries, where one is expected to get gifts of a certain brand/kind/price range. While the essence of the registries make sense, the practice is wayyy out of line.
Yeah after the darzi thread, I’m wary of even giving a simple kurta
I have this awesome lengha (the tea pnk one i posted here)…it’s the most beautiful thing I have ever worn…plus it’s an acutal bridal lengha.i got it when i was 16 but didtn start wearing it til eid 2003 (it didnt fit before thaT)…it’s so beautiful…i can’t imagine anything better than that, and if i cud i’d wear it to my own shaadi
i dont need to ask him, by the looks of it (yes, he still has it) it probably cost him about £50, he probably saved for months aswell. he does look rather dashing in it though, the hippy that he is...
ahmadjee we’re all humans and have our insecurities
better face up to it
khud toh apni shaadi pe 200$ ka jora pehen lya baray mazay se aur ab ham bicharon ko mashwaray de rhay haen
Irem, those $200 were not well spent, I think I got mugged by my own blood sisters who sent it from Pakistan but that's ok, I probably deserved it. My JC Penny $99 dollar walima 2-piece suit was definitely worth it. Since the wedding I have worn it on multiple occasions, from parties to graduations to aqeeqas etc.
Still it is nowhere close to the $1200 suit one of my acquaintances just got for her wedding from Pakistan. And the fact that I know the price shows how tacky the whole situation sounds.
OMG ahmadKANJOOSjee stop doing afSos on those 200$ on ur wedding jora, trust me it was COMPLETELY worth it!!! i mean aap log mard hazraat kisi beTukay se gadget pe 200$ araam se spend ker do ge lekin shaadi k suit k saath itni kanjoosi
and ur valima suit was worth it coz u wore it? why cant u wear the shaadi one again? maybe at some close rishtaydaar/friend’s shaadi etc
and $1200 is normal these days for female shaadi outfits…My friend spent more than that on her suit recently and even more expensive ones were avlbl its a bit crazy yeah i know but still..i think 100,000 rupees is a reasonable amount for the shaadi ka jora
Irem burger jee, I am not a shirwani person, the families decided I was to wear one and I did but those $200 could have been better used elsewhere, at least I can think of a million better things to do. I could have used my walima suit with a different tie and wallaaah!!
MM quoting Shahrukh Khan from Kuch Kuch Hota Hae —> “ham aik bar jeetay haeyn aik baar martay haen, aur shaadi bhee aik baar hoti hae”
so i dont think its fazool kharchi to spend on ur wedding dress…seriously
btw i havent heard of ppl renting wedding outfits…nope…
tho if someone is poor then they can wear someone elses thats been given to them
ahmadBURGERjee valima suit with a different tie?
omg
now i’ve heard it all
Irem, I can bring out the sadagee-religion-card with a couple of examples and burn you in your tracks but then that would not be nice. So, instead I want you to count the women you see while driving to work who can and cannot spend a 100,000 on a wedding dress. PM me the numbers.