Irem, while you are correct that we spend on weddings according to our social circles and marry according to the social expectations, this alone does not make it the right thing to do.
irem love, its been a while since iv seen KKHH, but im pretty sure Shahruk has two weddings in that movie…so your example is void.
p.s..you know im kidding…to each their own, although i think too much money on something that will only been worn once or twice is not something i could do.
I think people should donate thier wedding dresses to rental shops in pak, so those less fortunate would be able to afford nice bridal outfits too.
and yeah its a good idea abt helping poor ppl with their wedding dresses...personally i'd want to keep my wedding dress but helping someone else is something noble, maybe u can buy them another one but doesnt mean u have to give ur own coz thats special and i think shud be handed down the generations or atleast kept safely :)
maybe this is a separate issue, but wouldnt you rather spend less money on the wedding (outfits included) in order to have more money for your married life. I understand the whole your wedding day only comes once and whathaveyou, but id rather spend minimal on wedding..nikkah in mosque type thing and spend the money i would have spent on wedding, on a house, or maybe something else for my married life. i feel theres too much importance placed on just that one day, when that one day symbolises inshallah a lifetime for the couple.
i dont even know if im making sense here...but, oh well.
u're part of a cohesive social circle which comprises of family and friends and u all do things the same way and u're kinda expected to follow the trend coz thats jus the norm
and weddings r major events in a lifetime where the whole family enjoys and ppl prepare for months
personally im looking it from a cultural perspective and i think its worth it :)
M_M, I have friends who have done this and it absolutely makes sense. They had a choice in going out and pleasing everyone around them or give the down payment for a future house. They decided to have a small family gathering at the guys house with only immediate family/friends invited and now they are living happily in their house.
it does make so much sense...plan and look forward to the couples future instead of focusing all and maybes too much money and attention to just the wedding day.
On wedding cards these days, you see "no boxed gifts" this is so people will give money to pay for the wedding instead!!
since we're talking about bridql dresses...does anyone wanna tell me how much a wedding outfit can cost from a good desiger like faiza samee, bunto, sana safinaz, umar sayeed..etc? And also, I think if you can afford it why not spend the money because it does happen only once..if you can't it's another story..you shouldn't be taking on loans for it...also the it's useless mentality can be applied anywhere...why do peple live in big houses? drive benz? a toyota can suffice right? So why are clothes any different...it's personal prefernce that's all
I can never spend 1 lakh rupees on a single dress!!! NO WAY..Call me kanjoos or whatever but this is what you call fuzool kharchi....Heck 1 lakh rupees is no joke man, it's just a show off and nothing else. Tell me how many girls would spend 1 lakh rupees if their wedding is going to be very very simple??? just ghar ghar ki shadi you know???
Give this money to some poor people wo sari umar dua dega
its so totally worth it. i spent reasonable amount on my nikkah dress and i am going to do it again on my rukhsati n valima :p i love big weddings n parties n all the hangama that comes along with it. meri khushi hai.. mera din hai.. why shouldnt i make it special day for me?
but y is it automatically assumed that we dont spend equal amounts on charity or zakat or helping out poor? i am going to wear my dress few times n then give it to someone who cant afford a wedding dress. thats how its always been with us.
I'm going to spend lots on my wedding dress, and lots on my wedding. Its the only important day in your life so why should I not go all out for. My dress is going to cost over a $1000 and I wont ever wear it again, I cant.