Re: Observations in Lahore…
lahore lahore aye:k:
Re: Observations in Lahore....
Somebody told me you need to have a special pass to visit some areas there at night?
Somebody told you wrong.
Hira mandi is not a just red light area. It is much more thant that...Earlier it used to be the place where highly cultured Tawaif used to live, rich and influential people used to send their children so that they acquire proper etiquettes of converstaion, dressing and dining. Also they learned poetry and music etc. Now It is an acrronym for Heritage, history, monuments, culture and cousine amalgam.
I had to tell the truth and hey that thaka huwa kasba I spent 6 wonderful years there...still love it :D
Yup indeed!
Pindi Rocks man!!!!
I'm guessing most of you guys who are saying 'lahore's the bst' etc, are probably people who grew up there or it is your hometown and therefore you love it. Understandable, because no matter what town you grow up in, u r going to lvoe it no matter how crappy it may be. But from a tourists point of view, Lahore is only a good city when it comes to its historical landmarks. Yeah there is a lot to see and the city has a lot of history, but that does not make it okay for it to be dirty and overcrowded and polluted. If it is the heart of Pakistan then i must say that Pakistan is need of a heart transplant.
Just because the moghuls built some buildings there centuries ago, doesnt make it a great city for today. Just screaming 'lahore lahore aye' doesnt erase all the problems of the lahore in a non-lahoris eyes. Lahoris needs to work to make the city as modern as it is historic.
Not to mention Lahore was a Sikh capital... and was far more cosmopolitan when it was in india compared to how it is in pakistan!
Agha Khan Uni.
well dunno if they are govt, but Pakistan institute of engineering and applied sciences, Islamabad, National University of Science and technology, rawalpindi, and GIKI- Swabi- not sure if they are private though.
not according to rankings they suggest it trails qaid-e-azam university- Islamabad.
facts are a little off, in the uni rankings area.
http://www.hec.gov.pk/new/QualityAssurance/Ranking_lists.htm
I'm guessing most of you guys who are saying 'lahore's the bst' etc, are probably people who grew up there or it is your hometown and therefore you love it. Understandable, because no matter what town you grow up in, u r going to lvoe it no matter how crappy it may be. But from a tourists point of view, Lahore is only a good city when it comes to its historical landmarks. Yeah there is a lot to see and the city has a lot of history, but that does not make it okay for it to be dirty and overcrowded and polluted. If it is the heart of Pakistan then i must say that Pakistan is need of a heart transplant. Just because the moghuls built some buildings there centuries ago, doesnt make it a great city for today. Just screaming 'lahore lahore aye' doesnt erase all the problems of the lahore in a non-lahoris eyes. Lahoris needs to work to make the city as modern as it is historic.
and from a tourism perspective islamabad is some fantastic destination?
lahore has its issues by all means, but as a city it has a lot more to offer especially from a tourism perspective.
can we have a comparison here.
lahore's tourist attractions versus Islamabads?
btw this is coming from a non-lahori.
and from a tourism perspective islamabad is some fantastic destination? lahore has its issues by all means, but as a city it has a lot more to offer especially from a tourism perspective.
can we have a comparison here.
lahore's tourist attractions versus Islamabads?
btw this is coming from a non-lahori.
i didnt say what i said because i m against Lahore and for Islamabad. I am from neither city so i have no emotional attachment to either. i m just saying that you cant just expect people to love a city based on its history, it also has to meet some other standards.
^^ no no..its not biasness...everybody loves the city wher he borns or brought up....we love whole pakistan..every city...:)
laikin....Lore Lore hee aai badshaho....
jnnah Lore ne daikhai o jamiya ee nai...:)
hey peer sahaib..AGA khan takes about 15 lakh Rs…as compared to 50 60 thousands in government KE …![]()
GIKI i private ..and NUST is of " chowkidars" ..
which make under grad students to do exercise in 4 am moring as in Kakul…Abbotabad…:D.
es..may be..but quadai azam is not so big…less disciplines..Punjab University is very old and big..i think 1872 or so…
^ Do you know about UCIT? ![]()
yes..the boys are very naughty .:)
Lahore is Lahore - u take it or leave it .. choice is your, why argue? I was in Wroclaw two weeks ago after 8 years, it $ucked 8 years ago it still $ucks, but ask people from Wroclaw, they will never agree with me. Same rule applies to Lahore, it rules or it $ucks .. depends what do u want/expect from it. Over 10 million people living in that city ... do they all complain?
Aap pakistan....mandi main se bahir nikal ke aayeN gey tou kuch pata chaley ga na :)
I can't stop laughing and worse, I can't find smiley
ab kya bataoo aap ko…Ramzan ka maheena hai ![]()