Objectification of women

Do you think in today’s society, a woman’s worth is reduced to her physicality? Before you formulate an opinion, have a look at just some of the featured “news” you’ll find on the index pages of the likes of dailymail:

She’s no shrinking violet! Imogen Thomas strips offs to a purple bikini as she enjoys champagne in park

What pregnancy did to our bodies: Six brave mothers reveal the toll having a baby has taken on their figures

Time to dress your age! Janice Dickinson, 57, shows the telltale signs of ageing with her wrinkled legs

Ooh la la! Aussie model Jessica Hart tops up her tan as she shows off her slender bikini body in Cannes

Want to look like Kelly Brook on the beach this summer? All you need is a £12 Slimsuit from Asda…

A volley good show: Olympic girls stop traffic in Parliament Square with exhibition in their bikini uniforms

That’s not the best way to do demure! Lindsay Lohan forgets her bra

AMERICAN IDOL: Rihanna steals the show as she flashes the flesh in studded bra and tiny hotpants

The sex factor! Jennifer Lopez busts out of a VERY low cut metallic crop top for sizzling performance

Billie Faiers shows off her ample cleavage as she celebrates Queen’s Diamond Jubilee with fellow TOWIE cast members

Kristen Stewart shows some leg at On The Road’s Cannes premiere

Battle of the busts! Tamara Ecclestone and Irina Shayk compete for attention in plunging gowns at Cannes party

Michelle Rodriguez takes a leap of faith in Cannes… in a very daring nude bikini

:vivo: Pervy much?! Let’s not comment on Rihanna’s performance, rather how much flesh she exposed on stage! You may argue that a woman who dresses in such a manner may be calling for such comments but I don’t think this objectification is limited to bold superstars only. From Sarah Palin to Hina Rabbani Khar, and Angelina to the girl next door, you’ll hear more about a woman’s physical attributes and fashion sense than her actual work as a student, politician, actress, CEO or whatever she may be working as. It’s a man’s world afterall!

Re: Objectification of women

I agree, people still don't see us as actual human beings.

All of these sound like "Daily Mail" headlines.

I agree, I also feel like a piece of meat in the presence of women. what gives man, what gives :afshi:

if men see it that way then it's how women portray themselves...may be the commercialism is responsible. if you look at a page and you see areas highlighted you will obviously read that first...today's fashion is like highlighters...they want you to see that first. sorry but that's how i look at it...If men are bad, women are NOT too far behind.

hahahahha

OP jee aap ko kya masla hai objectification se :mad:

It’s all Rihanna’s fault. :disgust:

Hey, can I have the link to What pregnancy did to our bodies?

that link is called "hubby"

Found it.
What pregnancy did to our bodies: Six brave mothers reveal the toll having a baby has taken on their figures | Mail Online

Damn! I’m not having anymore babies.

:omg: True.

showbiz + a gossip rag

now if more women would stop obsessing over shades of makeup of their underarm pre-foundation cream etc., and get involved in the big jobs, it wouldn't be so much of a mans world.

There is such a thing? Now who's been reading all these rags?

Ok so how is Hina Rabbani Khar “bad”? She covers herself from head to toe, complete with a dupatta n all, and what’s the first thing media had to say about her? Pakistani bomb lands in India :rolleyes:

Yeah yeah go drool over Pamela aunty! :mad:

I didn’t even get the point of the article. Oh noes, I had a baby and now my boobs are saggy, boohoo I hate em… like hello pregnancy does stuff to your body we all know that! Put em away! :confused:

Women in this day n age *are *involved in big jobs, definitely a lot more than they were a century ago. Looks like it didn’t make any difference.

For one, they are attending Benefit galas

Do We Really Care if Bill Clinton Posed with Porn Stars? - Yahoo! News

:naraz: Yer all so mean! Jao mein gul nai karni!

OK we love our beers because we see bikini clad women drinking them in ads, we buy hot rod magazines because an almost naked chick is posing on the cover, we watch food tv because Giada De Laurentiis is so hot. So what, what is the big deal? I really dont get it. We are not saying that women dont have brains, all we are saying is that they have beautiful bodies too and we love them for it.

That's like saying Bill Gates has loads of money and women love him for that. The problem is, you don't love Bill Gates or Giada De Laurentis for who they are, not for their personalities.... rather how much money or beauty they have. And that's messed up.

Giada is not on Food TV for her looks. If looks matter that much then we would Kardashians doing the show. Giada is there because of her skills, and looks just compliment everything.

I agree, the more women think they have rights, the more of a commodity they become