NYC - places to go

So for the first timer in NYC, what are the places to go to?

Time Square (although I am not a big fan of walking in downtowns)
Statue of Liberty
Empire State Building ( I don’t know why one would check it, but OK)
Lower Manhattan
Jersy City (or bridges to JC)
Long Island (will you recommend?)
Jackson Heights (no please, thank you, I am coming from T.O, had enough)

What else in the city and in surrounding worth watching?

What should not do or where one should not go? Bronx or Brooklyn perhaps?

Re: NYC - places to go

Times Square is midtown, and you should be pretty safe. Statue of Liberty has to be in the list, specially if you like boat-rides and such. Also check out South Street Seaport, Chinatown, Little Italy etc. Maybe take in a show on or off Broadway, go down to the Soho area clubs (dance, comedy etc). Don't forget Central Park, take ghora-gari ride thru it. Right around there are all the big, popular shops like Tiffany, Fortunoff, Saks Fifth etc. That should kill a few days.

i will be visitin NYC hopefully in the summer .. so any must-see places .?

rubin museum
asia society
universities' campuses
parks - brynt, washington square, & of course central park
art galleries
china town
little italy
lexington and upper mid town - shoppes
5th & 7th avenue
kashmir chai house

Oh yeah, forgot all about the museums. :slight_smile:
Tons and tons of museums (see link below for a full list). But the ones to definitely go see are the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the new Madam Tassauds.

Here’s the list:

Also go to Grand central terminal, take a helicopter ride over NY, try and book a tour of the city at night, and if you have the money, I would highly recommend a chocolate walking tour :yummy:

i’ll be in NYC in the summer tooo:dhimpak::dhimpak:

in addition to what others have already mentioned-

walk the brooklyn bridge from south st seaport to cadman plaza, then have dinner in Montague Street, Brooklyn, and head to the pier after sunset for a lovely view of the lit skyline. an excellent opportunity for photography, you're guaranteed some unusual pics of new york city.

instead of going to Liberty Island, take the staten island ferry... vaisay bhi once u're on Liberty Island, u wouldn't be able to get a pic of the Lady in entirety.

Lower Manhattan - ur typical walking tour - start with Trinity Church, NYSE, fed plaza, wtc, walk up to the bull, then do battery park, from there either embark the boat to liberty island, or walk a little further to staten island ferry and take that boat, once u come back to battery park, walk to south st seaport, then walk the brooklyn bridge to brooklyn heights, dinner and pier... all this will take u abt 8 hrs at a leisurely pace.

Little Italy, SoHo, Central Park are worth a visit. There is a Bodies museum at south st seaport if that interests u, i also love the natural history museum and the Met. and i think the circus is in town at MSG. bronx zoo is america's 2nd largest, it's quite nice. there's new york aquarium at coney island. u can watch a play on broadway.

if you're going to be here in the summer, then u shd take the boat from Sheepshead Bay in brooklyn, it's a 3 hr ride, take a sandwich and eat dinner on the boat... enjoy the view of the verrazano bridge, and fireworks every friday night.
also in the summer there's the renaissance faire in upstate new york, it's quite fun. some ppl also like to visit atlantic city, it's close by, but of course that's more fun when you're in a group.

Excellent pointers Nimko!

I just love the MET. Last time I went they were renovating the Islamic wing, I wonder if it's back up yet.

The suggestions above are superb...who are you coming with btw?
-If you don't want ot go to Jackson Heights, you should stay away from brooklyn, at elast the midwood area (coney Island avenue) because it's all desi (since you said you don't want to)
-basically if u want to go to all the tourist areas, times square, statue of liberty, and lower manhattan are it... theres nothing to c in long island or jersey city
-Don't listen to idiots who say stay away froM Bronx...it's not that bad :)

bronx zoo
central park
china town
then there are lot of museums in nyc and historical churches etc. the natural science museum is quite famous i guess...

oh so rite now i m in NY..and almost have seen all the really must-see places like
China town (all the chinese ppl and cheap, fake stuff..personally didnt like it but found sum great deals)
Battery Park
Central park (specially the row boating)
Jackson Heights(Wow..first time felt like karachi in US)
BronX Zoo
Manhattan ( Madison Avenue and every lil street there)
Main Street(chinese ppl all around)
Cony Island
Statue of Liberty
*and i think a few more lil places but the worst thing was the driving system there...its unbelievable how ppl drive there and the parking problem ughh but overall the trip is goin real gud and i mite even have seen sum NY members from here! *

don't forget to eat gyros from the gyro stand across from Hilton hotel ...hehe had to add that

^^ Love that place :love:

Salman always jokes chalo mey tumhai HIlton sey khana kilaoon

wow..yeah i had one and found a dead COCKROACH in it when i was half way done..now what?

muniya, i've never had a gyro from that hilton place... there's such a lonnng line snaking across two blocks everytime... and i simply haven't got the patience. though it attests to the claim that he makes a really great gyro.

I wish I was visiting NY. Someday, that's all I promise myself.

dont forget to visit ground zero

I would definitely visit Central park, and if you get a chance just take the red tour bus, its not a bad deal and you see everything in a day. Also go to the top of the Empire State Building maybe.

I would check out the Village area, lots of good food in that area, also lots of local art galleries. Check out Zagat, they usually publish a little brochure in the summer that lists all the galleries and their openings. usually openings also offer snacks and drinks for free :)
Hmm head over to Roosevelt Island.

Anyone who said there is nothing to do in long Island...well you can always go out to Fire Island or Jones Beach for a day by the water.. .... bunch of shows down there as well.
I would get an unlimitee Metro day pass so you can hop on and off the subway wherever you choose. If you had time for just 1 museum I'd go to the Museum of Natural History, they have the adjacent planetarium and I think they still have the butterflies exhibit up.

Ooh and they also do dinner cruises on the Hudson river passing under brooklyn bridge. Another place u can go is in palisades park lookout or sumthing, over the GWB, amazing view.

What are the best driving options for an outsider to go back and forth from New providence/Berkeley Heights NJ to lower Manhattan, Time Square and LaGardia Airport etc. Which bridge or tunnels and timings are best. If someone can guide that would be helpful. Also is staying in Hotel in Elizbeth NJ too far to visit tourist sites in NYC over the weekend?

Also, please mention out of 6 museums in NYC, which one or two are the must see (unique or hard to find a match in anywhere else) since I won't have much time to spend.

In 2.5 days long weekend, what can be done?