not liking the name choices......

ok me and hubby made a deal..well sort of…but at the time i wasnt even preg…i loved the name adam for a boy forever, and i said if we have a boy we will call adam inshallah, he had the same feelings for a girl name…fatima

ok now mashallah we found out we having a girll..:] and although i have no other name for girls i like, and i wish i loved the name fatima as much as he does…but i just dont…and i dnt want to backtrack..or let him down…i feel he should get the name as he loves it, while i have no other real liking for a name for a girl…i only have names i lovew for boys such as adam and ali…

anyway its not a boy, its a girl/.so guys i need u lot to pump me up about the name fatima…and make me love it :]

hes not forcing it, but i know he loves it..

thankssssss u guys x

i do know however il be calling her fatty alot…:

Re: not liking the name choices......

Fatimah is a great name.

One of the greatest women in the duniya was named Fatima. It should be honour to have the same name.

It's my middle name, and my daughter's. I really love it.

BTW congrats on the girl!

Its a lovely name and Hazrat Fatimah (R.A.) was Harat Mohammad (p.b.u.h.) 's beloved daughter and she is head of all jannati ladies. And May ALLAH give your girl lot of good qualities as Hazrat Fatimah(r.a.) had ameen
Congratzzz on having a baby girl:)

congratulations on your little girl! :)
if he loves fatima and you don't, how about compromising and using it as a middle name?

also, i'm in agreement with you, its not a name i love either despite its good connotations and it doesn't help that non-desis would pronounce it Fuh-TEE-ma which i hate, instead of FA-tima.

^ That's true, SGC. That sounds like a stripper name, unfortunately.

Really the spelling should be: Fat'ma.

awww congrats ur havin a girl too..mashAllah
mubaarix

u missed "z" in hazrat.

Fatima is very beautiful name. Usually gals with this name make very nice ladies. nice in all senses.

No way, it is my daughter's middle name as well. In addition it is my mom & my MIL middle name...go figure....hehe

How does it sound like a stripper name? Whats with the TEE ? :confused:

hmmmmmm

I love this name. My daughter will be named either Fatima or Aminah or may be both :-D

and honestly I haven't heard people pronouncing it as FUHTEEEMA.. I like the pronounciation as fAAtimahh!

WELL if its fatima, il be calling her fatty......

The name Fatima is very common in our family - but we use it as the middle name to give reference to Janab-e-Fatima A.S.

The first name will be "connected" to the middle name to give it meaning:

Tamseel Fatima - tamseel means example or misaal - so together the names mean an example of Fatima

Seerat Fatima - seerat translates to a person's nature or more generally, their character - so again, together the name means nature/character of Fatima

Iman Fatima - iman translates to faith or belief so the names together would mean Fatima's faith

Aimal Fatima - aimal translates to hope - so the name would mean Fatima's hope.

what about Faatimah Zahra? I think that's beautiful.

and about what Gora's call it...they call it however you let them pronounce ur name. You have to correct them if they do misprounce it.

Also, These days, there are more and more desi teachers that won't have any problems with pronouncing names.

Frankly IMO, worrying about how goras would pronouce names shouldnt be a good reason not to name a child Faatimah.

this is speaking from experience...with the N in my name, people always have trouble pronoucing my name, but i correct them.

its a beautiful name,and its also the name of the daughter of our beloved prophet,

why? Fatima is not a mouthful so it's not like you need a nickname for it..don't make up your mind like this.. in fact it shoudl be more like even if someone calls her fatty you should correct them!

you can call her fati or fateh with a soft "t" instead of fatty, nadz :p

and like i said, use it as a middle name if its not working as a first. but beyond that, wait till you meet her! another name might strike both of you as more appropriate after that or she might be the perfect fit for "fatima".

Re: not liking the name choices…

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.” :slight_smile:

I like the name Fatima, by the way. I think its a sweet name.
And my favorite name is Zainab, kaash I could name my next daughter Zainab :hinna: