Do people of our generation still do this?
If so how do you call him when in a room with other people? How do you address him in letters or save his name on your phone?
Do people of our generation still do this?
If so how do you call him when in a room with other people? How do you address him in letters or save his name on your phone?
Re: Not calling your husband by his name..
My sister in law does not call her husband by his name. She calls out "sunain' when she needs to speak will him. And refers to him as inhon, unhe etc when she's speaking to others about him. She has saved his number by his name on cell.
I call him by a short version of his name but I always talk to him "aap" se.
Idk how people do this. I generally speak to my husband using 'aap' etc.. but when talking about him i don't say 'unhon ne/inhe'... my accent is not good enough to be able to pull it off constantly. I just say his name. And i call him by his name too...i'm sorry, but what a ridiculous notion to not use your husbands name when directly speaking to him! It's his name. =/ The older women in my family do this and it drives me nuts... my mother too. Just say the name dammit lol
I don’t call my husband by his name either lol. He’s saved as “suniyay” in my phone and when I’m talking to him or trying to get his attention it’s always “sunain”. Oh, and I’m born and raised in the US and we had a love marriage ![]()
I don’t know why it is like this, he certainly didn’t expect it, nor are there any other women in either of our families like this, just us. It’s been 17 years now mashallah ![]()
how do you actually figure what you are going to call him? or what likes him to be called ?
and I had an understanding, that it can vary from private to public names ?
like having a name/'direct name' for each other, that only you two know and use it in private.
lol I remember this one occasion where there was this aunty jee, who called out to her husband like Salman keh abba sunein :O, I dont know why but I just stood there in awe lol. I think its kinda cute :D
I haven't really noticed women doing this. My mom always called my dad by his first name and referred to him as such while speaking to other people.
Husbands are usually called by their names/nicks....at least that's what I have seen in our generation
lol I remember this one occasion where there was this aunty jee, who called out to her husband like Salman keh abba sunein :O, I dont know why but I just stood there in awe lol. I think its kinda cute :D
Wonder what she called him before Salman was born o.O
My Mum doesn't call my Dad by his name.. I've tried asking her to lol but she says 'I can't.. I'm not used to it.'
If she's writing a note to him she just uses his second name.. Same with saving his name on her phone..
I don't think I know of anyone personally our age who does it.. I just wondered if this tradition was still around..
I’m the chichoriest of the group it seems.
I have him saved as “dil Bar Jaani” on the phone
and I call him as “lastname” saab – everywhere.
Its an inside joke that stems from his feudal roots, and the term Choudhary saab.
seems the moniker “choudhry saab” is more common than I thought…![]()
My wife calls me suniye and I call her begum. Once in a while when I do call her by name she seems shocked cause it sounds like someone else's name. Same when she calls me by my name which doesnt work at all when we are talking in Urdu.
In the early years of our marriage I was too shy to call my hubby by his name(married 22years now almoat mashAllah). If my mil asked me to call him I would go find him and let him now but one day a few months later I asked him how he would like me to address him and he said it was fine to call him by his name. I staretd doing this and life became so much easier lol but I do always keep an element of respect , ___baat sunein. I think its sweet though when many wives do not use the hubby name too. :)
My mum always called my father _____sahib and still does.
I don't call him by his name, but I have no problem referring to him by his name.
He doesn't call me by my name either, only in rare circumstances.
Yes!! My husband calls me madam – when he uses my real name I’m like wah? Are we fighting? Why’d you say that… ![]()
Wonder what she called him before Salman was born o.O
"Place_holder" ky abba :D
I don't call anyone by their names -_-
Few older couple in our family, their wives called hubbies jaan and stuff ewwwwwwww
They lived out side of pak, in early years of their marriage so there they picked up that bad habit.
I like the also the older culture where husband and wife pretend to not know each other during the day. :D
I don't call anyone by their names -_-
Strange!