My husband just told me off for cutting my hair. We’ve been married 6 years, and i’ve always cut my hair, he’s been grumpy about it always, but this time he went berserk. It was cut when we were engaged, married, and ever since. It’s not a bob, or a any extreme style.
I’m Aussie, he’s from Pak. I just don’t understand what the issue is. I asked him the reason, but he doesn’t have one. All the women in his family get thier hair cut too.
Is this a Pakistani male thing or a phase? I just don’t get it
Did you cut the hair much shorter than you usually do?
Given the fact that you've gotten your hair cut for the last 6 YEARS of your marriage and he never complained.....and that all the women in his family get it done....UNLESS he can calmly give you an explanation behind his displeasure....I would just ignore it.
Enjoy your new haircut and don't let him get you down. It's just hair and it will grow. He's being silly. :)
you look good for whom exactly? in my view, it should be mainly for the spouse. if he likes your hair a particular way, and you don't think you look horrendous that way, why not grant him this little happiness?
if my husband says, wear this or dress like so, i do it. cos he is basically saying he finds me attractive that way.
My husband just told me off for cutting my hair. We've been married 6 years, and i've always cut my hair, he's been grumpy about it always, but this time he went berserk. It was cut when we were engaged, married, and ever since. It's not a bob, or a any extreme style.
I'm Aussie, he's from Pak. I just don't understand what the issue is. I asked him the reason, but he doesn't have one. All the women in his family get thier hair cut too.
Is this a Pakistani male thing or a phase? I just don't get it
Also, most traditional pakistani males love long hair on their women. Perhaps you went shorter than acceptable in his books.
what is cut is cut though, advice ive given before is a general thing.
you look good for whom exactly? in my view, it should be mainly for the spouse. if he likes your hair a particular way, and you don't think you look horrendous that way, why not grant him this little happiness?
if my husband says, wear this or dress like so, i do it. cos he is basically saying he finds me attractive that way.
You must be kidding right.. So basically you have no life of your own, no choice of your own, no say in anything huh. Hubby ji ne kaha to zaroor karo chahay woh acha lagay ya nahi. Yes I agree that you should look good for your husband AND for yourself. If I don't like a certain outfit or am uncomfortable wearing it, I should wear it anyway because my husband find me sexy in that.. umm I don't think so.
I do things so that me and my husband are happy in our married life but he can not expect me to do something I am not okay with doing.
Of course i want to look good for him. His idea of looking good for him, is to have the long thick desi braid. I'm a very average looking person, and having styled hair is the main thing i find confidence in.
I think i look horrendous with a thick desi plait. It totally adds to my paindu-ness
If you've cut your hair in the past and he didn't react as strongly then as he did this time, then perhaps there are other things that are bugging him and he took that frustration out on your haircut. You can still opt to style it in the way he likes from time to time as you've only thinned it out. Enjoy it, it'll grow out. Neither the haircut nor his mood are permanent.
You must be kidding right.. So basically you have no life of your own, no choice of your own, no say in anything huh. Hubby ji ne kaha to zaroor karo chahay woh acha lagay ya nahi. Yes I agree that you should look good for your husband AND for yourself. If I don't like a certain outfit or am uncomfortable wearing it, I should wear it anyway because my husband find me sexy in that.. umm I don't think so.
I do things so that me and my husband are happy in our married life but he can not expect me to do something I am not okay with doing.
I specifically mentioned that IF the OP doesn't think she looks horrendous that way, then it is a small happiness you grant your spouse.
"You must be kidding right.. So basically you have no life of your own, no choice of your own, no say in anything huh."**
I most definitely am NOT kidding. I don't see how dressing the way my spouse likes takes away my life at all. It is a two way street. Often my spouse will ask me what he should wear or how he is looking. Whenever I have said to my spouse,"Don't wear this, wear that, you look better that way," he actually has gone and changed. Whenever I have asked him to style himself in a manner I liked, he always has done so.
"Hubby ji ne kaha to zaroor karo chahay woh acha lagay ya nahi."
**Again, I said that as long as you don't hate what husband is asking, I don't think how you dress would be so insane a request from the spouse at all
Of course i want to look good for him. His idea of looking good for him, is to have the long thick desi braid. I'm a very average looking person, and having styled hair is the main thing i find confidence in. I think i look horrendous with a thick desi plait. It totally adds to my paindu-ness
*Well if you don't like it and it hampers your self confidence, then don't bother with it. Otherwise spouses should try to do what makes the other happy *
my gora husband hates it when i straighten my hair or do anything to style it…i have these hair extensions which he once hid from me…so it’s not just desis, although desi men might be worse…mine prefers the natural look…abhors anything fake sigh city girl vs beach bum dillemma
but going ‘berserk’ is a sign of a temperament that has its roots elsewhere…