I thought that I would wear a nath on my wedding day plus I really liked the idea of having nose stud permanently. I thought getting my nose pierced six months before the wedding would be sufficient time for it to heal. I got my nose pierced like 6 weeks ago and after the 3rd week a red bump developed. I have tried sea salt hot compresses, tea tree oil and the solution to the piercer gave me as well as drying wipes. I have also put in a pure gold ring a few days ago in case I was allergic to the original metal. Although the bump has gone down slightly it is still there and now I am beginning to get really worried about. What if on my wedding day I still have the remnants of this bump?!! The piercer has said that there is no pointing taking the stud out as the bump will remain and I may as well continue to treat it with hot salty water.
Has anyone else been in the situation? What should I try? I know different things work for different people but I would greatly appreciate a prompt response.
Sorry I do not know what this is about, but I think this is because you have sensitive skin. I got my nose pierced 2 weeks ago as well and also developed red area surrounding the stud. Now mine is completely gone and dry skin comes off my nose everyday. I however, was told by my mom to put butter on the stud and the skin surrounding it and keep on slightly rotating it from time to time so it does not get stuck in one place and the hole get's big. No I did not put saltish water on my nose. Maybe it is the salt that is causing the redness, have you thought about that? Salt does affect skin sometimes by causing red rashes. Especially if you are allergic or highly sensitive. I also have sensitive skin by the way.
okay so would you suggest putting butter onto it? what about desi ghee?
My mum mentioned this too but we were not really sure and dont want to mess with it. I also have dry skin coming of it but the bump is still there, even though it has got smaller over the last week. Might try Vaseline. But dry skin is not really my problem, just the bump.
I really dont have any idea about desi ghee but my mom said use butter because when her mom did her piercing for her back in her childhood days my nani ma put warmed butter on it. It will not ruin it just try it, anyways it is just butter and all natural. If you have dry skin coming off it then that means it is getting better. Just give it some time and put butter on it.
Desi ghee is clarified butter so I do not think it would be any better. If you want to, then apply the actual thing on your nose.
sorry to say but the only solution is to take take the stud out
ive ben through it and tried every thing but it didnt seem to heal so i went to the ENT specialist and he took it out but the medisine i used was a gel cream and thank god the skin came to its place and no one could tel that it was once pierced but the sad part is i didnt wore nath on my wedding day
i wouldn't recommend putting butter on that piercing. i also used to have my nose pierced, or about two years, and there would be a red bump which would appear and disapper throughout that time. then i managed to accdientally pull on the piercig and bled a bit. a ed bump formed again but it just wouldn't go away, i sea salt soaked it to death, it may no difference, sometmes i would even pus a bit. i went to the doctor and he said he thinks its a keloid scar and the piercing was irritatng it and causing i to be infected. i finally had no choice but to take it out .thankfully after 2 months the bump disappeared. unfortunatey it left a discolouration which the doctor thinks is from the iron in the blood or something, i'm getting it lasered off.
i suggest you continue to use sea salt soaks for 2 more weeks and then if it still doesn't go away go to the doctor.you just might have to take it out. not sure y keloid scars form, but apparently they do for certain people and at times they can be pretty stubborn.
slightly offtopic might be but i heard there s a place in khi where they they pierce wid a white gold stud n then u dont have all these bump, scar problems. Anyone knows abt that place?
I got my nose pierced with a gun...the nose pin was of a non-allergenic metal (either gold or titanium). The piercer told me to apply neosporin anitbiotic ointment to it in case it becomes irritated. Buy an antibiotic ointment to get rid of the bacteria that might be causing the irritation. You can show your nose to a pharmacist and have them recommend an over the counter ointment. Or to be safe, go see a doctor.
I've also read on the internet that you can take your nose pin out....and wash the hole with diluted antibacterial soap and irrigate/rinse throughly with water twice a day. And this should make things better within 24-48 hours.
yea neosporin might help-- i used to put honey on it sometimes too(it's kind of an antibacterial). my mom also told me her mom used to put a bit of masala on it..weird i know but apparently it worked(prob b/c the garlic and haldi- hint hint). don't take it out...i'm sure it'll be fine InshAllah.
the same happened to my ear.... the piercing studio advised me to use hydrogen peroxide 3%...and put it few times a day with a cotton tip on ur nose...it will go hopefully away...it helped me really!
I used a solution of dial soap and water everyday to clean my nose with...antibacterial liquid soap. I also made sure the stud was pure gold and used some neosporin from time to time but that was it. Leave it alone...dont touch it too much.
Getting a bump is sooooo common with nose piercings. One of my students got her nose pierced by a gun for about $5 at a flea market and she got a bump for a couple of weeks. She just cleaned it regularly and it went away. Don't worry, you'll be fine.
You need to wash the skin around your piercing with diluted antibacterial soap. And make sure to rinse the skin/piercing thoroughly with water. And then apply antibiotic ointment to it. You can find these things from your local market easily. And don't touch your nose often. This is a common piercing reaction and if you keep it clean, it'll go away in a few days.
Thanks a lot for your advice, it just seems that different things work for different people. I am getting married in 4 months and I just pray that this issue gets resolved. I will defintely try that neosporin spray. I have been to see my Dr and he said he had no answer for it. Its not an infection, just build up of scar tissue. I dont think taking it out will help. I will just keep trying to keep it clean and dry it out.
yeah i pierced my nose also twice time :P (i like pains hahah)
and inshallah ur bump will go away...the doctor also told me becoz of my ear...i should get out the piercing...i have a tragus piercing...and i had really a big bump. just used the hydrogen perioxide...and it moved away...
i got my nose pierced 2yrs back... had loads of probs in the first few weeks, redness, bump..... and GOD knows what.... but now MashAllah its totally fine.
btw give it some time, it will heal InshAllah..