Non urdu speaking guppies

Theres a number of people who visit Gupshup regularly who dont know a word of urdu. So what do you guys do when you run into threads littered with urdu that otherwise might be interesting to read.

Do you have designated urdu/english translator friends? Do you just not bother and walk away to another thread? Or (whats the odds of this) are you actually starting to understand some of the more common words of urdu?

Just curious. Shukriah.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Non urdu speaking guppies

why do u always write sincerely, captain lota in the end?

because it's hard to expect anything 'sincere' from a Lota, a captain Lota at that.

^^ lolz

Man they have learned some urdu words, havent you seen?

Now imagine Ohioguy going "acha bhaijaan" to his brother over a Thanksgiving meal.

I have learned the curse words and the death threats…

i am starting to understand more urdu but in the meantime, i rely on my dear husband for translations. His patience is infinite lol! There ARE "those" who try to make you unsure of the translator...slime of humanity!! and yes they are actually here on GS, I've never seen this paritcular nastiness anywhere else, only helpfulness and desire to help me understand the language. sorry, not to cast aspersions...there arent many of this type of byatch but they do tend to linger around GS. so beware

If you have noticed i never write

“Sincerely,
Captain Lota in the end?”

Rather its

“Sincerely,
Captain Lota”.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

^ :hehe: Lotay baaz aaja.

Mr OG, be brave and venture out of World forum every now and then.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

jhootay

I am sure you learned the death threats before the curse words.:slight_smile: very uncommon.

where's OG i wanna hear those words.

Sometimes it's hard to understand what AQ is saying, and some of the Karachi walai guppies Urdu is a bit hard to catch on to. Other than that, it's not so hard.

But, come to think of it, I usually don't post very much in threads that are mostly in Urdu. It gets confusing and a bit annoying for myself as well as everyone else when we have to stop every 5 posts because they need to explain a word/phrase to me. Urdu is a lot easier to understand when spoken, rather than typed in English.

Oon ka kya ho ga jo sirf urdu bol saktay hain ?

what I used to do is if a had the time I'd try and read carefully and break down the words into component parts...and try to get an understand of what was being said
and words I didnt understand Id leave blank and sometimes the sentence makes sense...sometimes not

I find peopel who write Punjabi liKe tHis ....pUttINg cap LeTters in To eMphaSise SouNds EveN mOre coNfuSiNg

Nowadays, ill just ignore the post or not click on these type of threads

^ That is sad , better you start uthak baithak ( sitting unsitting ) with curry smelling south asians. I believe if Inzimamul Haq can start speaking holy english then why on earth you gora ( gori ) people find it hard to understand urdu ??

English is very phunny language

Bota singh becomes Mr. Potori

And bin paindey ka lota become Captain Lota

Ms. Daisy I can teach you Urdu, if you promise to no make fund of Punjabi infront of a bona fide punjabi lake me , Dhannewaad :flower1:

First lesson should be to differentiating between swearing and death threat ( so you may not live in fools paradise by saying thx to a compliments like Manhoos )

Again next is showing gratitude … if some desi guy opens the door for pretty lady like you (which is always) you can say it in urdu …

Mujhey aap se Payar hai …he will be flattered in no time :k:

Code red...thank you

I mean

"Mujhey aap se Payar hai "

Ohh Im a bon fide urdu-ist now

Im SO clever

You know I am flattered :flattered: see it works :k:

Beware, some trouble makers here will try to place stone in your speedy learning …
it is said as * RoDRey Atkana* but dont pay any heeds… they might say you are becoming Be-haya, but they are only jealous of your popularity. Just like guys can’t be tidy, similarly ladies can’t be Be-haya. so fear not

Thankyou, you are such a sweetheart

Codey Wodey, if you wasnt a married man Id say " I love you darling"

but you are so I wont

because its bad form and SO very unBritish!