as-salam-o-alekum…
what is the Islamic ruling regarding having close friends who are non Muslim? non ahl-e-kitaab?
jazak Allah
irem
as-salam-o-alekum…
what is the Islamic ruling regarding having close friends who are non Muslim? non ahl-e-kitaab?
jazak Allah
irem
friendship for all is what Islam teaches....
P.S. Beware of twisted translationn and out-of-context interpretations of some of the verses of The Holy Quran....
armughal bhai salams ![]()
respect for all - :k:
tolerance for all - :k:
but friendship for all…? yani ke DOSTI. some very learned ppl have told me for example that we are told never to trust jews.
also, can u really be 100% close to someone who is not Muslim?
kya khayal hae aap ka?
*Originally posted by irem: *
also, can u really be 100% close to someone who is not Muslim?
if that would have been the case, would Islam have allowed men to marry women of Ahl-Kitaab (Christians and Jews)...
We as muslims individuals always seem to concentrate on the finest of details yet ignoring the true essence of islam.
Seeker ji, I thought abt that point too and you are right, but then again, Muslim men are allowed to marry non Muslim women (ahl-e-kitab) but even then their marrying a Muslim woman IS preferred isn't it?
As for understanding the essence of Islam, I agree with you, the spirit of Islam is definitely the most important thing. The reason I posted this actually was because for the first time in my life I am getting very close to a non Muslim girl, she is Hindu, and sometimes I get some conflicting thoughts in my mind about this situation....
Re: non-Muslim friends?
*Originally posted by irem: *
as-salam-o-alekum...
jazak Allah
irem
friendhship is mutual . you are not going ask everbody'e religen
before shaking hands? many people will get annoyed if you ask what religen
they belong.
Re: Re: non-Muslim friends?
*Originally posted by rvikz: *
friendhship is mutual . you are not going ask everbody'e religen
before shaking hands? many people will get annoyed if you ask what religen
they belong.
ofcourse, i am not going to ask their religion before shaking hands :~)
but dost hota naheen har haath milanay wala :~)
i don't become friends with everyone i shake hands with...i was just asking what the Islamic views were about being close friends with a non Muslim... :)
irem: as far as i know islamic ruling is that friend can be non-muslims even u can do business with a non-muslim in partnership but the whole freindship is based on the worldly matters of interacting all humans regardless of religion... as humans by nature are good and bad in every where :)
Friendship shouldn't be based on religion.
*Originally posted by Fret Wizard: *
Friendship shouldn't be based on religion.
I wonder why we even need a thread to come to this conculsion. It is common sense.
I agree that friendship is a matter of how 2 ppl get along, and not one of faith. However, usually ppl tend to have more in common with someone of there own faith-and thus one's friends tend to be from their own religious community.
Having said that 1 of my best friends at uni is French Catholic, and pro Israel. :O
Mo: why is it that everytime I think you are reverting you take three steps back. Drop the Catholic and find yourself a nice arab.
As a declaration..I only make friends I can revert.
Making non-Muslim friends is haram in Islam, so is dating outside the religion.
*Originally posted by Chaltahai: *
Mo: why is it that everytime I think you are reverting you take three steps back. Drop the Catholic and find yourself a nice arab.
As a declaration..I only make friends I can revert.
I dont get it, steps back?
Plz explian. :)
I have complex views and opinions, on some issues I can be considered at times extreme, but usually I am the epitome of moderate, and easy going muslim.
You say that with such aplomb Mr. Mo Best but your signature gives it away. I am so disappointed big poppa!!
Gives what away?
And tone your language down a bit "aplomb2-what the **** is that?!
Abay monkeyboy..I am just messing with you. You know you are my favorite on GS. Goddamn..kids..!! ![]()
Aplomb=Self-assurance
I see. well if I had to rank my top 3 guppies you would rank in.
It is not good to play with non-Muslims.
No one PLAYS with me, however I do enjoy the compnay of several ppl who are not muslims. :D