So as it goes, the professor lost his job and career; and probably the scientific world lost a worthy researcher just because he uttered the following words:
** ‘Let me tell you about my trouble with girls. Three things happen when they are in the lab: you fall in love with them, they fall in love with you, and when you criticise them, they cry.’
I mean seriously? What the hell is wrong with this feminist dumbassery everywhere? and where the hell does freedom of speech go in such instances? Disgusting to say the least. I hope y’all feminazis are having a joyous moment :rolleyes:
Re: Nobel laureate’s career finished over “Sexist” remarks
I dont know if you followed entire story but he gave his remarks in a large ceremony where he was supposed to get an award and also there were dozens of journalists covering the event. you can t make a speech including these derogatory comments. He’s not a comedian, he’s a professional scientist.
Admit it, its a sexist comment.. just like calling Zimbabwean players as “kallu” are a racist comment.. just saying
It was sexist. He was wrong. And he had to resign for the following reason:
.Here is his attempt to put lipstick on a pig
an the part about having trouble with girls. It is true that people - I have fallen in love with people in the lab and people in the lab have fallen in love with me and it’s very disruptive to the science because it’s terribly important that in a lab people are on a level playing field.
'I found that these emotional entanglements made life very difficult.
‘I’m really, really sorry I caused any offence, that’s awful. I certainly didn’t mean that. I just meant to be honest, actually.’
Defending his remarks, he added: 'It’s terribly important that you can criticise people’s ideas without criticising them and if they burst into tears, it means that you tend to hold back from getting at the absolute truth.*
‘Science is about nothing but getting at the truth and anything that gets in the way of that diminishes, in my experience, the science.’
Sir Tim reportedly described himself as a ‘chauvinist pig’ at the World Conference of Science Journalists in Seoul and argued in favour of single-sex laboratories.
So this really wasn’t a joke. This is what he believes. His apology is actually a non applogy.
By the way, why is sexist within quotes in the Title?
The SJW antics get tiring.
Female colleagues of his, who are in a better position to judge his sexism than you or I (or even the twitter mob, believe it or not) have backed the same position as me: his comments were wrong but his punishment was excessive.
Hunt, 72, laments that his cherished career is finished — and some prominent women scientists who thought his remarks were deeply offensive said Sunday the punishment may be too harsh. Athene Donald, a leading physicist who is master of Churchill College at Cambridge University, said Hunt always enthusiastically supported her work when she served for five years as Gender Equality Champion at the university. “I’ve spent a lot of time with him and I’ve never seen any sign of sexism,” she told The Associated Press. “He has traveled the world since he got the Nobel Prize, talking to young audiences, male and female, giving so generously, and now he has been ruined.” Hunt won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2001 and later was made a knight. Donald said his comments were “indefensible” but there have been no cases of women coming forward to say they were poorly treated by Hunt, or discriminated against in any way. Ottoline Leyser, a former student of Hunt’s who now directs the Sainsbury Laboratory at the University of Cambridge, said she was upset that Hunt’s offensive comments could have a negative impact on young women considering a career in science but that his record is otherwise unblemished. “All my interactions with him were very positive,” she told the AP. “He was a very enthusiastic and inspirational teacher. I’ve no indications from my experience or from colleagues that he’s in the slightest way sexist.” She said the speed with which news of his comments spread via social media has reinforced for many scientists the dangers of speaking to the press or to the public. “We’re all of us terrified,” she said. “In this media age, when sound bites spread so quickly, an off-the-cuff remark after a lunch in some conference can suddenly result in the fatal destruction of your career.”
Why is the other article “tiring”. It quotes his non apology apology, which makes it obvious his “joke” was actually his firmly held belief.
That Athene Donald finds him to be a great person who has not exhibited sexist is not relevant.
Otto lens Lester was upset at his comments. Yes. She too says he is a great teacher.
Just because two people who know him - in addition to his wife and ex wife are supportive of him does not mean readers of the article cannot opine based on the facts that are available. I have no doubt several folks will come forward with great testimonials in support of him. All of it may be true. But that doesn’t change the fact he still doesn’t get it. Based on his non apology apology.
And the facts are quite damning. Unless articles that show his quotes are somehow “tiring” to those who support him.
What he said was pathetic and he was sexist and wrong for saying it. However, i’m trying to look at it from a neutral point of view and not just a woman. I know i’ll get some flack for this but i’ll say it anyway. He has done SO MUCH for science. The man has countless awards, contributions to science etc. He said something that we don’t agree with which sure, he should be reprimanded for but is it really right for him to have to resign and finish his career? After everything he’s done? (i’m not saying what he said, with all the carelessness in the world at an award function was right) but is it really worth removing someone with such significant contributions to science from the field?
People say all sorts of bigoted, racist and sexist remarks all the time. Barely anyone pays a price for it. Why is this guy who has done “some” morsel of good in his life being made to leave? There are countless other people out there who i can count that hold some sort of controversial opinion that either disrespects someone or out right is wrong.
This reminds me of that scientist dude (Rosetta Commet scientist) who wore that anime shirt that had half naked women on it. There was SO MUCH HOOPLA over that too. Like no ones ever seen a man wearing clothes that either have cuss words, naked women or anything else disrespectful on it. They made such a big deal about it, the man CRIED on tv and apologized. FOR A T-SHIRT. He was a scientist who has made some sort of good in the world and people made him cry for an item of clothing. The priorities of people baffles me. We should be asking Burmese monks to be removed from power, men who are KILLING countless people, instead we focus on words some dude said because he fell in love at some point in his life. WHERE ARE THE PRIORITIES?! I don’t agree that he should have resigned, reprimanded, yes, leave his position? No.
It is not just what he said. His apology showed he didn’t simpky intend it to be a joke. In other words, he believes labs should be segelregated. And women are trouble in the lab cause men can fall in love with them.
That is the reason why he had to resign. If he had said it was a joke gone bad and sincerely apologized he would not have had to resign.
Aww baji g why did you have to bring in my kallu comment on a discussion related to a Nobel Laureate being fired? If u are so angry, why don’t u say it where it should be? why talk about that here?
PS: It would be good if you were ever to talk on the topic - .i.e. did he have to get fired/forced resign over his comments? Were they that bad?
Hey dude, what about freedom of speech? If blasphemous comments should be tolerated and not reprimanded, why can’t a proper scientist , doing actual real world good work, keep his job? You wan’t people to be fired for expressing their freedom of speech? Why such blatant hippocrisy ?
Dude, I am all for freedom of speech. However, with freedom comes consequences. If a scientist publicly insults a religion and injures the sentiments of billions, that would be bigotry and wouod be grounds for termination. But he or she SHOULD NOT be arrested.
This Nobel prize winner also should NOT BE arrested. But based on his comments and his non apology, his dismissal seems reasonable.
Strong stand southie…
Maine bhi comment krna hai… Comment krna hai bat pdh kr…
Baki…first galti maaf wali bat ni chalti kya.. Gv a warning and leave …Phr whi bat ho then take action bcz he can contribute aur sbse ho jata hai…kbhi na kbhi toh…
Galti sabse ho jati hai. Uske baad how one apologizes determines repurcussions. As stated earlier, the scientist in question STILL does not get it. And he is literally defending what he stated.
To me, that is grounds for dismissal.
By the way, higher ones position more the responsibility. Because he has done so much and risen to the top, he has greater responsibility to set the right tone and example. That is why his lack of remorse is doubly disappointing.
Yar…Shakal se toh chor lag rhe hain…BT doesn’t deserves that…
Apart from that..(meri batti lgane ki ni rkhi hai) kuch toh truth hai.. That’s what happens sometimes… Aur waise bhi.. Even if he doesn’t feel any guilt … Its his belief…half of the world believe that…they don’t say it out loud…
The way he said WO pagalpana hai…
But… Everything shouldn’t be attached to pride ,feminism ,rights & stuff…
Kisi ki life "bola toh kaise bola"principle pr ni khrab kr skte…
In the past people could get away with it but nowadays in the UK there are usually consequences when public figures or those in authority openly make sexist or racist comments.. There have been quite a few cases of tv presenters, sports reporters and even those in politics having to stand down because of it..
He can think whatever he wants. He can even express his opinions among friends. He did it in an official capacity.
No one ruined his life. He can always apply for another position. Being made to resign. Is simpky a logical and fair consequence for his bone headedness.
Extending ur logic, if a bigot says something g which he honestly believes about a religion, or a tace, he will have to pay the price if he said it in public especially in an official evernt.
Richard Dawkins has made many bigoted remarks but since they were against muslims and not women, he can continue to serve in Oxford and be a celebrity.