No "Sound of Music" in NWFP

Looks like Taliban’s next territory is NWFP. No cable, films, video and now no music. Only PTV is permitted.

Pakistan’s musicians face clampdown

Musicians have performed at weddings for generations

By Haroon Rashid
BBC reporter in Peshawar

The sound of music in Pakistan’s rugged North-West Frontier Province is being stifled as the Islamist government there flexes its muscles.

As part of a wider move to curb what is described as immorality in society, the police have ordered traditional music houses in the main city of Peshawar to curb their activities.

They have been told that the sound of music should not be heard on the streets.

As a result, the Dabgiri bazaar, an age-old centre of music in central Peshawar, is largely silent.

The Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) government came to power in the province in elections last October.

It has already ordered cinema halls and video shops to pull down their shutters.

Age-old tradition

For hundreds of years, musicians were patronised by princely families - but the tradition has been dying out as more popular forms of entertainment take centre stage.

The Islamists have already targeted cinemas
The Dabgiri bazaar has for generations been famous for its singing tradition, with local musicians performing at weddings and other celebrations to earn a living.

Until a few days ago, the run-down old town square thronged with music lovers in search of a live performance.

But the crumbling windows opening into the streets have now been boarded up.

The police say musicians and singers were “soliciting” business in the street, creating a nuisance.

The decision seems to be aimed at keeping the singers well away from public view as the new religious alliance gets down to the serious business of governance.

Musicians puzzled

The musicians themselves are perplexed and hurt by the governments move.

Performers should not be heard on the streets
A local community leader, Mohammed Fida, says nobody has bothered to tell him what prompted the decision.

“We don’t know whether this is being done by the police, the religious leaders or somebody else.”

Mr Fida says keeping the windows and doors closed will badly affect business. “The customers will just not know that we are performing.”

Musician Sarmast Ustad says the community has never wished evil on others. “We never cause anybody any harm.”

But he says they will accept the decision, although he complains that it is the less well-off who will suffer.

“We will accept the decision because it comes from our government. But really, they are being unfair to us.”

“They are targeting poor musicians like us. But people running the same business in up-market localities are free to do as they please.”

The government’s decision, disgruntled locals say, indicates that the ruling alliance of six religious parties is quietly and determinedly implementing its Islamic agenda.
No “Sound of Music” in NWFP

somehow, i never thought that this day would come, but i guess i was proven wrong the day there was a relgious party government created in NWFP.
lets just pray that they dont' go further than that.

the only thing i object to in this report is the last line that says that these parties are implementing their "islamic agenda". I dont' think they are implementing their islamic agenda but their own personal party agenda.

one ofthe first things you do when you want to set up a tyrannical power-mad gov't is to control communications. Music is the first thing out. Next will be the media. For example, they'll try clamping down on pushto dramas.

ah well. they're idiots. they will fall sooner or later.

PCG..

You say Punjabis are bad. Pathans are idiot.. Kindly if you hate Pakistanis so much.. Why dont you just stop contributing to this forum and also cancel your subscription to PTV.

I am not with the MMA government in NWFP. But the people of NWFP themselves ellected this government and were well aware of the implications of this government.

Kindly please refrain from passing derogitory comments just because of someone ethnic background...

absolutely correct:k:

Though I am not in favor of banning music outrightly but the problem is a local one in NWFP why people from across the border are so concerned..NWFP people have right to do whatever they like.. MMA's launch against pornography is commendable..

how many times our “elected” governments have done anythng that represents what the population of the country/province really wanted?

Nawaz Sharif was elected with the record votes (or take Banazir, if u want), and forgetting all the stupid things he did for a min, lets just say that what if he had decided to go with America in the war against Iraq, or even forget Iraq, what if his government had decided that Kashmir was too much of a headache, lets just back off from it, WOULD THAT BE ACCEPTABLE JUST BECAUSE HE WAS AN ELECTED PRIME MINISTER?

what im trying to say is that just because an elected government does something, doens’t necessarily means that, thats what the people want too and in Pakistan, most of the time, its exactly opposite of what people want. I am not too sure that people of NWFP really knew what they were getting into, but you are right, they elected this government and now they will have to abide by the laws of this governmnet.

did any of you read the following article by BBC?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/2588433.stm

i dont think that by banning music and billboards is going to solve our problems, its not even a right approach to solve the problems of our society. These kinda things come after the major problems such as education, health, poverty and i can keep going on…

and on the note to the comment “why people from across the border are so concerned”, i dont’ consider myself someone across the border. I may live in Canada, but i still consider myself a Pakistani and people from NWFP, my Pakistani brothers and sisters and their problems my problems.

anyways, just my thoughts.

They did vote for these broing bag of nuts...

Ali-Beta, Pyari never said anything derogatory about Punjabis or Pashtuns. You seem to have some misunderstandings but by making accusations like that you are not really making a difference to the thread nor do I think you have any proof of PC being racist.

*Originally posted by AliBeta: *
Pathans are idiot..

Ha! Hypocrisy knows no limits.

Kindly please refrain from passing derogitory comments just because of someone ethnic background...

Pehlay Imdad Ali.. Post parh liya karro!

Read PCG's post! This is what she says!

ah well. they're idiots. they will fall sooner or later.

Phir apni bakwaas start kiya karro! PCG is the one saying that Pathans are idiots and I am quoting her! Kiss 4 anay kay school say parhay huay ho! English bhi nahi parhni aati!

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *

Ha! Hypocrisy knows no limits.

Dear Zakk..
I was referring to old posts by PCG where she has openly disrespected Punjabis.. I would suggest doing a search for old posts by PCG and having a look at them!

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
Ali-Beta, Pyari never said anything derogatory about Punjabis or Pashtuns. You seem to have some misunderstandings but by making accusations like that you are not really making a difference to the thread nor do I think you have any proof of PC being racist.

Well then edit your post and do a better job quoting others. Right now it looks like you are calling Pathans idiots.

nahi I still think that you need English lessons! Waisay ghalti maan leta hay banda.. Ab khaam khwaa sharmindagi uthana parri!

I'm not the only one who read your psot that way. Invest in "Internet Posting for Dummies".

Mujhay batayen gay.. Kiss aur pagal ( siwaye aap kay) nay ghalat parhi?

If you are talking about Zakk. He simply didnt know why I was going off on PCG about dissing Punjabis.. And I did reply to him and explained what the problem was!

Ghalti maan lo putar ji! you are wrong!

There were several posts by Pyari on issues of how Karachities feel they are being discriminated against by the Federal government. I don't believe she ever said anything racist though. And again with the MMA post she critcised the Mullahs, all Mullahs aren't pashtuns.

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
There were several posts by Pyari on issues of how Karachities feel they are being discriminated against by the Federal government. I don't believe she ever said anything racist though. And again with the MMA post she critcised the Mullahs, all Mullahs aren't pashtuns.

Shes a memon, she has this thing against Punjabis for some reason, i dont blame her, all memons think we punjabis are cruel. Kher, since we punjabis know we have no such feelings of hatred in our hearts like they do, we have nothing to worry about.

And Mr. Imdad, please read the entire thread before poisoning the thread.

If you read my line correctly, Alibeta you would see that the second line refers to the "they" in the first line.

"they're idiots. they will fall sooner or later

If "they" referred to Pashtuns as an ethnic group, then I'd be saying the Pashtun race would fall sooner or later. That is a ridiculous interpretation of my words and shows that you have nothing better to do but assign arbitrary meanings to my words to insult me. If you have something personal against me, be a man and talk to me upfront in a str8forward manner.

The "they" doesn't refer to "mullahs" in general either. It refers to the segment of the MMA that is responsible for this ban of music in NWFP. Those "elected" officials will not last too long because, even though they were voted in, they were voted in on a anti-US hysteria which might or might not last. If they dont pay attention to the serious matters in NWFP like education, food, cleanliness, the economy ,etc - nothing will happen. In fact, they've put musicians out of business by this ban, only creating more jobless individuals.

As a side note to the other claim by alibeta and spock that i'm antipunjabi, well, all i have to say is khattey angood are indeed hard to swallow. My earlier posts were based on the general consensus of folks in karachi and other parts of pakistan (like nwfp, like balochistan) that punjabis have dominated many fields in terms of job employment, culture, etc and its unfair to them. I personally dont side with intensely anti-punjabi rhetoric -- the fall of pakistan is due to many other reasons as well - however, i have sited "punjabism" as a CONTRIBUTING phenomenon. This doesn't make me anti-punjabi - if i was anti-punjabi why woud I listen to punjabi music, why would bhangra be one of my most favorite dances and why would I celebrate basant? Why would many of my friends be punjabis? I appreciate almost all cultures within Pakistan and whether you wish to believe it or not, I am a proud Pakistani, otherwise I wouldn't spend my time on this website.

Having said this, lets get back to the REAL topic at hand: music bans in NWFP. Dont divert the topic by attacking PCG - it just shows you have nothing to say about NWFP's ban on music. In that case, dont respond to this thread!

Well said PCG. Some people are just dying to find anti punjabi in everthing they read.