No Punjabi please! We are Muslim Punjabis

Re: No Punjabi please! We are Muslim Punjabis

Kawwa chal Hans ki chal aur apni bhi bhool giya.

He that apes others will never be himself.

BTW, in the main article reference to Arabic is for example purpose (there can be Jew Arab, Christian Arab and Muslim Arab). The writer is not saying that Pakistanis are using Arabic excessively and nor he is talking about those who wear Jubba and Abaya to show their piety.

He is referring to mentality that Urdu is the refined version of local languages ( I hate this term local language, but thats how people now refer these langauges) and in the presence of refined version, there is no need to use old and outdated version.

I fully agree and one more thing Punjabis feel ashamed and embarrassed to speak in Punjabi even in UK. I speak punjabi and am proud of my language.

@Iconoclast @Dhoti_Main_Dhamaka @Microbian @SID_NY

put my name with @
so I can get alert and participate in the thread.

shukria

The very same burger bachey who talk about culture so much are the ones who don't speak Punjabi and are not aware of their traditions.

I see where you're coming from and I agree. ayyyy

If you see the comments on dawn's page (under the article) you will see drastic difference from Indian Punjabi and Pakistan Punjabi.

Pakistan Punjabi view:

Akil Akhtar
about 17 hours ago

What a load of rubbish just to demonise Punjab. Punjabis mostly speak Urdu not because it is the language of Sikhs etc but because they think speaking Urdu or English means they are more sophisticated. I have not seen anyone speaking Arabic....

raheem
about 3 hours ago

first lets decide pakistan is muslim nation. We must agree the fact that, All must read write and speak only Urdu and Arabic. No other languges should be taught. If people of pakistan wish to democracy then its a matter of how many langugaes can we talk.

Indian Punjabi View:

Rajni
about 3 hours ago

Pakistan not having its own culture and roots imports the culture, practices, ideology from Saudi Arabia.
Don't worry we in Indian Punjab are keeping Punjabi not only alive but thriving.
Assi haige hain naa, fikar naa karo.

j.s.mongia
about 3 hours ago

i am proud 2b sikh and punjabi.vi speak only punjabi.punjabi is always with JI.

*urdu meen
hy kia kaha kaon tha hoga kitna etc

ky elawa taqreeban sary alfaz arabic say musta'arliey gey heen. *

Reminds me of my best friend here at Uni. Even tho we could speak proper English we decided there was no need to if we know Punjabi and Urdu, and after that that was the only way we communicated. And the joy I get from conversing in Urdu or Punjabi with someone can never be replicated by English. Though I understand if English was someone's first language

Of course foreigners can wear Arab dress.

Adapting urdu to prove patriotism:hmmm: It would be a shame if one didn’t know the mother tongue. But I don’t think it’s a measure of patriotism or the lack of it.

All of my Punjabi colleagues speak Punjabi with me, so much so that one Indian asked, do all Pakistanis speak Punjabi! Some of the younger ones specially girls do roll eyes.

Go read nasir Kazmi and Ibne Insha. Even Parveen Shakir’s ‘Gori Karat Singhar’ proves a totally different story.

Zehra Nigah’s Nazm also says something totally different.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/intikhaab/628595-dar-deewar-dareeche-aangan.html

I am learning arabic. So.... I actually know... like my self.

I thank God you all use English here for us non punjabis:D

Funny enough the hardest core religious jihadi Arabs wear Shalwar Qameez, a reminder of Afghans.

There is a lobby which thinks that Urdu got more Persian words than Arabic and they are trying to Arabinise Urdu again, but to their dismay English is more stronger nowadays.

Sorry, I should add my post was specific to the UK but you're right too ofcourse. All the Taliban jihadis wear the shalwar kameez, don't think I have seen any of them wearing anything Arabic.

perhaps....
but I wanted to learn arabic.. :D glad I knew urdu.. it was like I was 70% trained already...
No more complain urdu being our national language ...

We can speak with indians..
We can learn arabic....
No one could have come up with a better language in that area for people like us.... :D

I know some Arab gaaliyaan, seekhni hain? :hmmm: