I read somewhere that if someone thanks you for some favor you did and you say " no problem " that is rude. The proper manner is to say “you are welcome.”
So what say you ?
Re: No problem or you are welcome ?
Some time its ok to be slightly rude.
What if you were to reply ' I should bloody well think so' after someone has thanked you? Is that rude?
U are moooOoOost welcome jee. (Indian accent please)
I read somewhere that if someone thanks you for some favor you did and you say " no problem " that is rude. The proper manner is to say "you are welcome." So what say you ?
u r so tru....i will also care of it INSHALLAH
depends on how its said mirch.
no problem is casual, probably better used with close pals and on small stuff.
I am guilty of saying no problem , but I never realized it can be taken as sign of rudeness.
Makes me think now.
i find your welcome is ruder than np.
ps. if someone says np, then i can freely ask them for more help. Ur welcum means unho nay mujh per ehsan kia hai ![]()
depends on how its said mirch. no problem is casual, probably better used with close pals and on small stuff.
Agreed
favor ka urdu tarjuma , ehsaan he ho go , nahi ?
I prefer: "mention not"
It is not used in USA. Sorry to say that it seems rude to me.
Let me analyze.
When I say you are welcome. I am trying to say. It was a pleasure helping you , you are welcome anytime to come back to me for any help.
But mention not would mean. Hey I helped you, now do not create a big fuss and go out there and tell the whole world that I helped you and they will come knocking my door. So in a way you are discouraging the other person from seeking help again.
P.S: I am just kidding. I am trying to copy Pir Fraudia's logic which he sometimes uses to prove his point.
pata nahi ![]()
me k[no]w urdu ![]()
yea i don't like "no problem" i always say you are welcome.
Mirch bhai - I think its subjective - it depends on your tone and gesture. I personally find "You're Welcome" to be too formal even in a workplace context. Sometimes, You're Welcome" connotes a standard response out of obligation while a cheery "No Problem" sounds like I was willing and happy to help. I generally use... No Problem in tandem with "Anytime!" or "Sure thing!"...
For me, its a sort of neutral expression. Slightly being towards rude, yes. I usually use it to students (who tend to be getting on your nerves) so that they really may not sneak into my privacy by any means. Sounds vague, no? ![]()
It depends who I am saying all this to:
People older than me…I say “you are welcome” and a smile ![]()
People my age or younger…I usually say “no problem” and now don’t ask me for another favor soon ![]()
but but but
...i always say "no problem: :(
ye welcome or my pleasure too hard for me.
may be i should say" koi baat nahi jee hum tu khadim hain aap k :)
What about you are welcome , but don't make it a habit. I say that to my very very close friends or kids. :)